We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, wrong time!!”

Popeye Village Malta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.78*
and up
Popeye Village Admission Ticket with Transport
Ranked #8 of 50 things to do in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Popeye Village has grown from its days as a Film Set of the 1980 Musical Production "Popeye" into a unique fun-filled day for all young at heart.You will be greeted by Popeye and his famous friends who will entertain you during the day by their diverse shows. Visitors can enjoy a once in a lifetime filming experience with the animation crew where you can become a movie star for a day. Other attractions include; Santa's toy town, boat ride (weather permitting), water trampolines, sun bathing decks, beach lido (summer only), food outlets, a winery offering a free glass of wine, a free post card given to all adults and a thrilling experience in the new 'Popeye the Comic Museum' enhanced with over 100 original comics dating back to 1936. Your children can also have fun in Malta's largest indoor jump around play area. Do not miss spending a fun-packed day at this Original and unique Film Set whilst on the Maltese Islands.
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We went here with our 4 year old on the 27th of April. She had an absolutely fantastic time. We were a little disappointed that there was a number of things not up and running owing to the weather and the time of year. The fun park was closed so we used the "vouchers" for an indoor play pen in the restaurant. there is currently a lot of renovations taking place getting ready for the busy summer period.
The staff were fantastic and there was quite a bit to see and do. spent 2 and a half hours herer and owing to the lack of fun park and the weather making the water slides etc unviable this was plenty of time. The kids wikll love this place!!!

Thank leavser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenpop, Assistant to the Events, HR & Customer Relations Manager at Popeye Village Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear leavser,
Thank you so much for leaving such an amazing rating and review. We hope we made your stay a memorable one and we hope to see you again in the future.
Thanks and best regards,
Eliza Bonnici
obo: Events, HR & Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"film set"
in 305 reviews
"boat ride"
in 198 reviews
"robin williams"
in 116 reviews
"free postcard"
in 100 reviews
"olive oyl"
in 90 reviews
"mini golf"
in 78 reviews
"free punch"
in 66 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 57 reviews
"puppet show"
in 38 reviews
"theme park"
in 45 reviews
"post card"
in 42 reviews
"great fun"
in 135 reviews
"anchor bay"
in 89 reviews
"included in the price"
in 46 reviews
"short film"
in 31 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 95 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 68 reviews
Filter

2,818 - 2,822 of 4,509 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2009

Yes it is small, and thee is not a lot to do – but our daughter who turned 5 the day we were there, was treated like a princess.

The staff was just amassing.

We went on a boat trip, we were “stars” in a little film they made, we could buy for 7 or 9 EUR – everyone dressed up, was fun. Then we went to the cinema to watch it.

They played music and danced with the children – that was properly what our daughter enjoyed the most.

This place is definitely worth a visit for family with young children.

Thank love-2-travel_2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenpop, Assistant to the Events, HR & Customer Relations Manager at Popeye Village Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear love-2-travel_2820
Thank you so much for leaving such an amazing rating and review. We hope we made your stay a memorable one and we hope to see you again in the future.
Thanks and best regards,
Eliza Bonnici
obo: Events, HR & Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I have only given this 2 stars is the fact my daughter who is 7 said it was Ok.

The set is colourful from a distance but when you get up close you can see the buildings are worn and taty. You go inside the set the displays are old and in desperate need of resteration as some of the walkways and stairs have boards missing.

The shop on site was selling old and in some cases broken goods and to top it all the fair at the top of the hill next to the ticket hut had no rides at all working!

2 adults, 1 child , 30 euros 1 hour

It wasnt just us the bus was half full on the way back and the place had only been open 2 hours.

Im glad we were only staying in Mellieha Bay because if I had had to travel across the island to get there it would have been just more time wasted.

Im sure some people might go and love it, there were things to do if you took your swimwear but we didnt take ours and the play ground in the sea was extra money and not in with the addmission price.

all the best

HeathersDad

1  Thank HeathersDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenpop, Assistant to the Events, HR & Customer Relations Manager at Popeye Village Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear HeathersDad,

Thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Here at Popeye Village, we try our utmost to make everyone’s visit memorable and we apologise for not being able to do that for you. If you have any queries or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at info@popeyemalta.com.

Thanks and Best Regards,
Eliza Bonnici
obo: Events, HR & Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

my family and I went to this theme park 20/08/08 found it to be a complete waste of money only 3 rides available 1 was a spin round in a teacup 2nd was a train ride which just went round in a small circle 3rd was a water ride on a tyre of the three boats two had deflated and unusable there was a childrens ball park but this was dangerous for our three year old as it had many holes in the climbing frame we demanded a refund we got back 4 euros but paid 40 for three adults and 1 3 yr old dont waste your money

3  Thank jdavis010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenpop, owner at Popeye Village Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2008

The houses in the film set were re-painted decorated from mid march to the end of may this year before the summer season started, before saying that the buildings are worn and taty please bear in mind that the film set has to be aged to a 1920’s look, we get professional people who after the houses are given vivacious colors they come in and age the houses so they look old but at the same time colorful as your daughter and yourself noted from far away. Originally the film set had no colours. The walk ways are in no way broken and with planks missing since regular checks are done in all passage ways and walk throughs in the film set so to keep the place 100 % safe for our clients. If you came on a week day the small fun park at the top was closed and not that all the rides were not working. In September the fun park is only open in the weekends and the Indoor jump around game next to the restaurant is included with the entrance to the film set in the children’s package. Regarding the souvenirs I cannot understand how come this gentleman commented this way, we import new souvenir items every two weeks, if there were any broken souvenirs they were placed by mistake or broke by accident by some other client or staff while moving them to see them. I am very sorry that you were not told of the summer facilities which are a big part of the entrance package, you were misinformed because at the film set there is only one entrance fee and that includes everything that is advertised in our package including the playground in the sea and all other beach facilities that were available .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2007

We visited (me ,my wife and our sohn) at September 2005 . It is something that kids (and not only) should not miss while visiting Malta. For people out of Malta I would say that Maltese people are VERY VERY kind and it is an excellent trip for peoples that 've been born KINGS and untill they arrived in Malta they ...din 't know it. The place (Malta ) I have visited twice and I wish to be healthy to go again. Suggested to people that have been around a lot and always were looking for the true legent. You Know that lands with great history can only have a great future . ! Thanks Malta !

10  Thank kefalonitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenpop, Assistant to the Events, HR & Customer Relations Manager at Popeye Village Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear kefalonitis,

Thank you so much for leaving such an amazing rating and review. We hope we made your stay a memorable one and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks and best regards,
Eliza Bonnici
obo: Events, HR & Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popeye Village Malta also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Popeye Village Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing