We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent modern apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mellieha, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ORoberts
Erith
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent modern apartment”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Villa Blue Waters is located on a hill above Mellieha Bay - the owner (Alison) and her family live in the apartment on the ground (top) floor and there are three apartments on the lower two floors (a 2-bed and two 3-bed). The villa is built in a sort of doughnut shape, with a hollow centre - so the bottom apartment still has some outside space. The three apartments share a pool.

We were greeted by Alison, who is very friendly and helpful - she quickly showed us around and then left us to it but said that she's always around to help if needed. We found the apartment to be large, modern and well-equipped. There is a master bedroom with en-suite (shower) and a second double bedroom which also has a single bed. There is a second, shared bathroom (with a bath) and a large open-plan kitchen/ living room - there were only three of us, but the apartment is easily large enough to sleep five. Because of the way that it is built the apartment is cool - it was warm outside the whole time that we were there but we hardly used the air conditioning. There is an outside seating area with BBQ for each apartment

The shared pool is a good size, with plenty of chairs and sunbeds - there were two other groups there at the same time as us and there was enough space for all without feeling too cramped. There is a shared outside toilet/ shower area which is also where the washing machine is located - this is shared between the apartments and is also used by Alison.

Close to the villa there is a good-sized supermarket (Valyou) which also has a restaurant/ cafe as well as a few other shops and a petrol station. The majority of the other restaurants & shops are a 10-15 minute walk away and are located on the hill that leads down to Mellieha Bay.

We hired a car and spent a few days exploring Malta (and Gozo) but it's not essential as the public transport seems to be pretty good, with a bus stop just a few minutes walk from the villa.

All in all we had a great week here and will definitely look to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JezGatesh...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great apartment with fantasic pool”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just returned from a great week in this property. The apartment is very spacious and well cleaned. Nothing is to much trouble for Alison and the food she supplied was a great help. Air conditioning in both bedrooms which ensured goodnight sleeps. As a tip the pizza restaurant attached to the near by supermarket is worth a visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PhilippaJ...
1 review
“Fantastic :)”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The title says it all!! Well equipped, clean, very spacious and comfortable villa, the pool is lovely and clean with a great view and the hosts are so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them. Would definitely recommend staying here :) we will be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry R
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic spacious apartment ,well located,great views and friendly helpful owners”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed a week and loved it.The views from the pool area are stunning.The apartment is well equipped,very spacious and lovely and cool when very hot outside!The owners are always ready to give advice on anything you need to know and are very friendly.A short walk to the shops and the town...about 10 mins.This is the quieter end of the island and ideal for those who like it that way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and views
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darmis1
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The best holiday ever,high standard of apartment ,very friendly owners,short distance to the bus and the beach.Beautiful views and definitely back next year.Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A
Elora, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fell Short of Our Expectations...”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Myself, my husband and my aunt booked this 2 bedroom apartment from March 26-April 2 and my cousin and his family (wife & 2 boys) booked the 3 bedroom apartment for a vacation/family reunion. We read the reviews and liked the photos. Firstly, let me say that the owners are very nice. They were very welcoming. The place was spacious and in a great location. Perhaps the problems we encountered were because we were the first guests of the season? but unfortunately, the problems were many.

The place was tired looking. The stucco was peeling on the outside, the "garden" was full of weeds and looked very neglected. When we first arrived, we noticed that the lock on our door wasn't there. We were told it would be replaced... but it never was. The space was cold and damp and our towels remained damp even after being outside all day. We were provided with a propane heater, but the apartment never did feel warm or dry.

My cousin and his family never had a heater and so were cold at night as well. They also had the main bathroom leak water from the toilet constantly. We had problems getting our stove top to light and while the new propane tank helped, the burners were difficult to keep alight. There were missing light bulbs and in our kitchen there was a broken light fixture with a bare bulb.

The bedding was old and lumpy and the mattresses were not comfortable (even after my cousin's wife expressly addressed her concerns to the owners after reading that the mattresses were lumpy on another review). She was told that the mattresses were new, but sadly, this was not the case.

Further, we had issues with hot water never being enough for all of us to shower. Worse than that, my cousin and his family had no hot water. The water tanks were replaced while we were there, which solved the problem but caused an even worse one. The next day my cousin woke to water streaming down the walls as the water heater was not installed properly (it was on the roof and the pipe burst). They had to leave their 3-bedroom apartment and stay in our 2-bedroom one (we were leaving after one week, they were staying for a second week). And even then it was another 2 days before they got hot water.

One other issue was the apartment that was rented below us. At first, there was a lovely family staying there -- but after a few days, they left and a group of 20-somethings (we counted 9 staying there at one time) kept us up all night with their partying. The owners apologized and spoke to the offenders and the next night was better, but the following nights were not. I had no idea how exhausted I was until we left for Rome on April 2nd and slept 14 hours straight our first night!

I am not in the habit of complaining, but under the circumstances, my cousin and his family should have received some sort of refund. They had a terrible time and were charged for a 3-bedroom apartment with dishwasher, etc, even though they spent half of their holiday in the 2-bedroom apartment with no dishwasher and no hot water for half of their stay.

I am hopeful that the problems we encountered will be remedied for future guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and spaciousness of the apartment
Liked least: Hot water issues, cold and dampness, terrible bedding
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing