We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2011

An excellent hotel, staff very friendly, service & food excellent an ideal location for a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank currency11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,538 - 3,544 of 4,354 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed at the hotel on a promotional offer - free accommodation in exchange for attending a half-day presentation. We were lucky, our rep, Nicky Farrugia, was very pleasant and took no for an answer, although the presentation on their time-share lasted about 4 hours - a waste of a glorious morning, but another couple weren't so lucky, their rep kept them ALL DAY until they were so exhausted they agreed to buy. Having said "no" to our presentation we received a letter which was quite threatening in tone telling us we had to attend a further "Quality Assurance Check" the following day "in order to meet the terms of your holiday offer", i.e if we didn't go then we would have to pay for the accommodation in full. We went, we were blunt, they got the message, and left us alone for the rest of the holiday.
Anyway, what's the hotel like? Well, it's certainly not five star accommodation, furnishings are really quite tired and the TV was very poor. The mini safe was on the floor so we had to get on our hands and knees to use it. The flush was very weak despite the maintenance man looking at it. Having said all that, the kitchenette was very well equipped - better than many self-catering accommodation we've used. And the bed was extremely comfy.
The country view was fine until the weekend when the fields behind the hotel morphed into a Boy Scout campsite and were invaded by hundreds of young boys.
Location - the hotel is very isolated, there really is nothing else nearby. You really do need a hire car if you stay here or you are at the mercy of the local buses. Drifter Car Rental, who have a desk in the hotel hobby, are really competitively priced and we were able to have a car delivered to the hotel which we could then leave at the airport on departure.
Food - breakfast at the hotel was very good, the usual full buffet breakfast, with the very nice addition of local prosecco to add to the fresh fruit juice. It was quite pricy though, 13.90 euro per person. We had afternoon tea in Mokka which was much better value, 14.50 euro for the two of us & plenty to eat. Swizzles Cocktail bar was a very depressing place, happy hour was it's busiest - about 6 of us in there! We would recommend Munchies beach bar just outside the hotel entrance, but avoid Apple's Eye. We drove out to the Pavi supermarket in Quormi and stocked up, their wine cellar is excellent. The deli in the hotel was very good for bread and water though.
If you do say here take the opportunity to visit Gozo, only a short drive to the ferry terminal, and the island is beautiful. We would recommend a visit to the church in Zharga (2 minutes from the Gjantija Temples), and Oleander restaurant on the village square for a delicious lunch.
Back at the hotel, there is very little car parking for such a large hotel, and at weekends it is invaded by Maltese families using the facilities. Otherwise, the staff were very friendly and the cleaners very efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Miabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Unfortunately the radisson is hosting unscrupulous time share sellers who invite unsuspecting tourists in to discuss under false pretentions (offering to give an intro to the hotel when really all they want to do is sell timeshares at apparently 392 euros a year..) On closer inspection of course far higher charges. I'm shocked that a chain like the radisson can be condoning such malpractice. Not only did we meet an amazingly incompetent salesman but also he spent the time that we gave him believing we were going to learn more about radisson services insulting us with incredibly unethical behavior.. I regularly use the radisson and am amazed and disappointed by this experience. Even the free gift promised a plastic Maltese cross was not given at the end of the so called sales pitch. This episode has left me feeling very disappointed with this chain. I doubt if I will ever use them again. Lies, more lies and insulting behavior - disgusting

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
24  Thank Maya01Luxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed here for a week on a time-share swap and couldn't have been more delighted. The weather wasn't brilliant but the staff, everywhere from reception to the restaurants and bars, couldn't have been more helpful. We could use the self-catering facilities in the very comfortable room but tried the hotel breakfast twice. At 13.90 euros each it wasn't cheap but you could help yourself to a vast array of food from the self-service buffet, eggs cooked freshly to order. Sadly, the top restaurant, Essence, wasn't yet fully open but we ate well a few times in the more casual Agliolio. And a special word for the afternoon tea in Mokka's. A selection of sandwiches and cakes plus pot of tea for just 14.50 euros for two was a real bargain. Luckily, we had a great view from our room across the bay. But we didn't stay in that often, we were off sightseeing in our car which we picked up at the airport. The position of the hotel may appear a bit out of the way but Malta is very small and we were able to get to all the sights, including Gozo, Valletta and Mdina. If you don't fancy driving there's a hotel courtesy bus plus a public bus just outside the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobetrotterReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times over a period of 5 years. Unlike other hotels in Euroland, I find nearly all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The location is superb but does require a hire car, or taxi, to make the most of the islands nightlife including some excellent nearby restaurants, however parking at the hotel is limited. There is discreet ongoing renovation of facilities and rooms to maintain high standards, last autumn I was automatically upgraded to a deluxe seaview room as my room was being renovated. I find the atmosphere to be homely and relaxing in the nicest possible way. The heritage buses are being privatised this Easter, Arriva just won,t be the same fun.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KDH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Situated beside Golden Bay in northwest Malta, this self-contained and well-appointed hotel has everything for the perfect chill-out holiday. The rooms were large, clean, bright and well-kept. There was a selection of excellent restaurants, the golden beach below and great walking in Malta's only nature reserve just outside the hotel gate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Espedair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

the hotel was very clean and pleasant to stay.
the location of the hotel was not great, to far from towns.
great service.
lovely people
rooms had small kitchen, where u can buy n cook from the deli store which is situated on the lower floor of the hotel.
swimming pools very very clean n good.
the hotel has a great private beach
the restaurants were pretty expensive.
neways i would highly recoment every1 to stay here,
we will be coming back here soon.
have a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s22jee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,686 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
8.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,315 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £89 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing