We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“wonderful relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Very classy hotel, lovely spacious rooms, bathroom amazing with a huge shower room.
Nothing to do in the immediate facinity but the hotel has mini buses at a small cost to different parts of the island. Restuarants at bthe hotel very good but pricey but just up the road are a couple diners with not bad dishes to choose but very good prices and huge portions. The Radison Blu is, in my opinion, more inclined towards the mature clientele.
Time share will be put to you but not persistantly. All in all Malta is an amazing Islan to visit, lovely welcoming people and this hotel is a great base in which to explore. The beach is a gorgeous large golden bay of lovely clean sand and some scenes from the film Troy were filmed there. If time share is put to you, it only takes a couple of hours and is quite interesting and food for thought, nothing at all like time share was like in the 80's, and to get the tour of the Heavenly Suites on floor nine is well worth it (Enrique Iglesias stays in one).

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a high quality and if you can get seaview fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Della64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,668
    905
    265
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,461
1,885
74
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birchington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Radisson Blu Resort & Spa is situated on the beautiful sands of Golden Bay Malta and we find it hard to fault. The Hotel is everything you'd expect from a 5* and the staff are so professional and helpful. Although in an isolated position on the Island there is everything you need on site to enjoy a perfect holiday although we do recommend that you hire a car if you wish to see the sights of Malta or go to one of the larger towns to do some shopping. Alternatively, the resort is on a bus route and these can take you to most places on the Island.

Room Tip: All rooms from studios to penthouses are comfortable and well equiped but if you can get a sea facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BirchingtonPortvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The overall quality of this hotel is high although not the 5* that it is often quoted as being. The rooms are clean and tidy but in a need of an update. The self catering in room facilities are perfect and the restaurants and bars all offer fantastic food and drinks at reasonable prices. This is a great hotel for a week away relaxing but if you want to get out and do other things in Malta I would suggest hiring a car.

Room Tip: The 1 bed rooms with an extra sofa bed are great for friends / family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hc546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Just returned from our fourth visit as owners. Very impressed with the new manager, he has made lots of changes and is always visible around the resort listening to guests. The setting is so beautiful and very relaxing and u can get around Malta very easily by bus, unfortunately not the traditional buses, but Arriva will surely get their act together soon! It is a bit isolated but there are a number of places to eat, loved Agliolios and Moc ha and the prices are reasonable. The staff are fantastic everywhere on the resort, nothing is too trouble. Cant understand the gripes from people who go out on a cheap timeshare option they know its part of the deal. MR ROBERT HOLMES

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbins67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We bought into a Holiday here about five years ago. If you can afford to do this it is great to go back year after year. Giving family members the holiday, one of the years like we did this year. We actually bought two concessions, now retired we enjoy Malta and wanted to show our family the joys of this country. Time share has a bad name and some of the Reviews give a bad opinion of those of us who can buy into one holiday destination for the next 30 to 40 years. We are both retired, my husband has traveled the world and this country suits him fine, and this Hotel is like a home to us now when we return. Yes we do have a card that allows a small percentage off at the Restaurants and Bars, but we feel we are family here at the Residents Club as we return every year.
We are glad those who use the Hotel services enjoy the Radisson too, we are all here for a good Holiday after all.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable week at the Golden Sands Resorts. We went on a promotional holiday of £149 for the room. We travelled out just before the school holidays started. We noticed a definite difference in the resort by the weekend when it became extremely busy. All staff were friendly and polite and made us feel very welcome. We knew before we travelled that the hotel was a little isolated and that there were no shops close by.
The room was large located in the twilight block and the maids kept it very clean. Tea/Coffee and milk refreshed everyday and we had our own fridge (we didn’t touch the drinks fridge) It was very corporate in style and didn’t have the finishes you would expect from a 5 star room. We had a small kitchen which came in handy for preparing toast/ snacks. The room was a country view room overlooking the scout camp. Fortunately we were on the 9th floor so could look down and see what was going on without the campers really being able to see us. The hotel car park runs along the back of the hotel so all country view hotels look out over the car park. Tip: ask for a room on the 9th floor. The balcony doesn’t really get the sun and can be very windy.
The onsite shop was expensive – a large bottle of water was Euro2.30. But it was handy and rather than venture out we did buy snacks/bread etc here.
The pools were good and only 1.2m deep , but would have benefitted from a life guard/supervision; No problem with beach towels – supplied with a fresh one whenever you needed it. We always got sun beds when ever we down to the pool. Plenty of umbrellas as well.
The kids club was really aimed at the under 5's. The resort would benefit from some entertainment for children in the early evening
In the afternoon photographers take pictures of anyone who wants to be photographed, the pictures cost Euro70 for 5 prints + a CD.
We paid for the breakfast option and glad we did. Very good selection of food. We really enjoyed this start to the day.
We went to the timeshare talk as part of the deal and had a David from Liverpool as our sales man. We were shown two very nice rooms – a suite and a one bedroom deluxe – these rooms were 5 star ( a shame we didn’t get to stay in one of these !) 3 ½ hrs later we firmly said it was not for us. Kevin the Manager was brought out and we once again firmly said what ever the price we didn’t feel the deal was for us. We then got up and left.
We did the hop on/ hop off trip which we were given for free as part of the deal (worth Euro 39). Glad we did the trip and went to Valetta but as the first bus doesn’t arrive until 11 we didn’t get much chance to hop off.
The 20% discount card really helped towards the cost of the evening meals. Children eat free in the Italian restaurant between 6 -7. Service in all the restaurants was extremely slow. When ordering for children ask for the main meal to be served with yours – otherwise it comes 10 minutes before the main meals. We complained on a couple of occasions and the Managers were extremely understanding and removed items from our bills. We found that the Mocca Bar did the best meals. Essence the hotels premier restaurant was shut for two days at the height of the season so we never got to sample the delights of the flagship restaurant.
.
We did venture across the road to the Apple once –we sat outside – the place seemed to attract a lot of flies and we had to move tables. We didn’t find this restaurant that competitively priced with the hotel when you take into account the 20% discount and free childrens meal.
I used the Spa for a pedicure Euro 40. I felt the treatment was rushed as the Spa was fully booked. It was not the best pedicure I’ve had and I went back twice to have the nail varnish redone
In summary we had a great family holiday in a very nice hotel that made us very welcome. Our daughter spent nearly all her time in the pools. We really enjoyed Malta and would definitely go back but would probably stay somewhere a little bit nearer to a town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenlizzie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We first visited this hotel last year as a promo for their 'holiday club' and we were so impressed. The staff are wonderful, they really care, back this year and they remembered us! The rooms are the quality you'd expect of a 5* hotel and the cleanliness is superb, the staff are top notch and take pride in their work. There are 3 pools including a serene indoor pool (children not allowed) and 3 first class restaurants, buffet, casual med style and full a la carte all with their own distinct atmosphere and all top quality. There are also 'snack bars' available at the lagoon pool and pebbles just above the private beach and food is available at the Mokka terrace bar so no need to go hungry! The hotel is due for a refurb next year but you wouldn't know it. If you like busy crowded resorts this hotel isn't for you as it's the only one on the bay with just a couple of beach bars on the public beach, the transport (public) isn't as good as it was now the colourful (and ancient) buses have gone and soul-less Arriva are now in charge but there are shuttle buses available from the hotel (at a nominal charge) to all the major areas on the island from a designated travel company in reception - and if they don't have anything to suit the concierge is more than happy to help! My husband has never 'done' holidays voluntarily in the past (only on a 3 line whip from the family) but he can't wait to go back here next year - that is the biggest praise I can ever give!!

Room Tip: Sea view - views to die for but over the pool and the terrace bar, country views are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sal_ad_dazeWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,332 reviews
6.5 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing