We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I traded our timeshare for this resort late July early August, 2011. This is a beautiful resort with excellent service. Our particular assistance were Patrick and Rinaldo, at the concierge desk. They were both fantastic to work with when our bags were 2 days late as well as catering to our needs. We usually do not go back places, so much too see however this resort would be a place where we would go back .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gabahatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,491 - 3,497 of 4,364 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

We exchanged our UK timeshare at Slaley Hall for a week at Golden Sands.

The resort is situated quite a way out in the middle of nowhere, so a car is really essential.

The resort itself is beautiful and there is everything you need. We stayed in March. The indoor pool was great, but it was far too cold in the outdoor pool. The entertainment programme was rather lacking - particularly in the evenings - there really was nothing to do, just an occasional singer in the bar. Food and beverage were overpriced, but probably inline with other 5 star resorts. There were hardly any guests around and the place did feel rather empty.

The apartment was fine and was well equipped and better than some exchanges we have done.

The real down side was that we were invited to a 'welcome' meeting which was actually a sales presentation meeting! We felt this was rather a poor trick and would certainly not have expected this of such a resort.

Would we stay again - I'm not sure. may be, but if you want night life this is not the place to go!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Maxine10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We "won" a free weeks stay at the Radison provided we paid for flights and attended a timeshare presentation for a morning or afternoon. The hotel was nice but expensive, and as it was so isolated they have a captive audiance. Pools were lovely and clean, rooms were nice, not a lot to complain about as we didnt pay ! The timeshare presentation went on for almost 5 hours ! We were offered a one off joining fee for 34 years subscription in a one bed room at the raddison for £20000, yes £20000 and then there was the £490 per year service charge that goes up annually. Another couple was told £18k and another couple £10k so be very careful !!!!! It wasnt for us, we politely told them so , then we told them again and again, then we told the sales manager again and again then we were freed !!!!! We were asked to go back for quick meeting to discuss out thoughts but we declined that offer and enjoyed our holiday. All in all 5 hours of pain for 7 days of pleasure was well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HappyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked through our timeshare and was very impressed with the hotel. We had a one bedroom apartment which was huge, had the best bed Ive slept in for comfort.
A towel exchange system is in operation at the pool where you exchange tickets for towels. Plenty of sunbeds available.

We didnt eat our main meals at the hotel instead we went to Munchies which is on the beach, but the food is excellent and such large portions no need for starter or pudding.

We hired a car and although there is not much parking at the hotel itself there is a small car park outside the hotel and a large plot of wasteland where everyone parks nearby.

The hotel has entertainment every night - low key, normally a singer, the best was Steve Cole who appears on a Wednesday and Saturday, so get there early for a seat. Cocktails were 8.50 Euro.

On the last day as our flight wasnt until late the hotel looked after our cases, and we had full use of the facilities including the spa with lockers and showers.

We took the car across on the ferry to Gozo you just turn up and dont have to get a ticket, you pay on the return.

Recommend if you want to see the Hypogeum you book in advance before you go as they only have 10 spaces per hour, which is what we did and was glad as they were turning people away.

In the summer they have lots of festivals in the villages and recommend you see one of those if you can. we was lucky enough to go to one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lainey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Very classy hotel, lovely spacious rooms, bathroom amazing with a huge shower room.
Nothing to do in the immediate facinity but the hotel has mini buses at a small cost to different parts of the island. Restuarants at bthe hotel very good but pricey but just up the road are a couple diners with not bad dishes to choose but very good prices and huge portions. The Radison Blu is, in my opinion, more inclined towards the mature clientele.
Time share will be put to you but not persistantly. All in all Malta is an amazing Islan to visit, lovely welcoming people and this hotel is a great base in which to explore. The beach is a gorgeous large golden bay of lovely clean sand and some scenes from the film Troy were filmed there. If time share is put to you, it only takes a couple of hours and is quite interesting and food for thought, nothing at all like time share was like in the 80's, and to get the tour of the Heavenly Suites on floor nine is well worth it (Enrique Iglesias stays in one).

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a high quality and if you can get seaview fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Della64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Radisson Blu Resort & Spa is situated on the beautiful sands of Golden Bay Malta and we find it hard to fault. The Hotel is everything you'd expect from a 5* and the staff are so professional and helpful. Although in an isolated position on the Island there is everything you need on site to enjoy a perfect holiday although we do recommend that you hire a car if you wish to see the sights of Malta or go to one of the larger towns to do some shopping. Alternatively, the resort is on a bus route and these can take you to most places on the Island.

Room Tip: All rooms from studios to penthouses are comfortable and well equiped but if you can get a sea facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BirchingtonPortvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The overall quality of this hotel is high although not the 5* that it is often quoted as being. The rooms are clean and tidy but in a need of an update. The self catering in room facilities are perfect and the restaurants and bars all offer fantastic food and drinks at reasonable prices. This is a great hotel for a week away relaxing but if you want to get out and do other things in Malta I would suggest hiring a car.

Room Tip: The 1 bed rooms with an extra sofa bed are great for friends / family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hc546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,827 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,688 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
8.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,320 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £89 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Expedia, Prestigia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing