We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. We had a great time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed for a week at the Golden Sands in a one bedroom suite overlooking the bay. It was great. The room was spacious and very clean. We had two adults and three children and it was easily able to accommodate us - two kids in the sofa bed and a travel cot for the 2 year old. The pool is large and even in peak season had plenty of room. The beach also a great place to swim. It also has a water sports company on the beach which offers lots of fun activities such as banana boats, sightseeing to Blue Lagoon, para kiting etc.

The onsite restaurants are good and reasonably priced. There are also a couple of places to eat on the beach. The breakfast buffet was really good. Food always well stocked.

The resort is located in Golden Bay, which is away from the main tourist areas. So if you are looking for somewhere that is crowded with package holiday makers or the hustle of a town, then this isn't for you. But if you are looking to relax at the beach and by the pool, this place is perfect. It does mean that you need some form of transport to go to other places. There is a shuttle service operated by Drifters at a modest cost. We hired a car and went to Valletta and Gozo for a couple of day trips.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

We couldn't fault it and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JB_in_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,215 - 3,221 of 4,354 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

A great hotel. Many different places to eat in the hotel, at least 5 different restaurants, then 5 bars/to relax before bed, but not full of British holidaymakers...if you get my drift! Great location on beach clifftop, private beach below with free sunbeds and umbrellas for residents. Public beach next to it but not too busy.Beautiful views, wonderful sunsets, entertainment more Emilie Sande/ Eagles/ Neil Diamond etc than Dizzee Rascal! Fine by us, though. Weather perfect , however indoor pool, jacuzzi and beauty salon offering many different treatments if you had to go indoors. I had a pedicure and was delighted, my partner had a haircut and was equally so. The kids entertainment is available and there is a water aerobics type class in the late morning and also afternoon. Fab holiday tunes and chance to leap about being daft. Food great, staff great, can't wait to return. Thanks folks. Would prefer a seaview, although more expensive, and don't really spend hol. in room! Well done.xx

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have just returned from a week at the radisson. It is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and we had a fantastic kitchen area equipped with fridge freezer, oven etc...The pool is amazing and we managed to get a sunbed whatever time of day. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our microwave wasn't working when we arrived so i told one of the cleaners when she came to do the room and she radioed down to someone and they came straight away and took it away then brought it back all fixed..we dined a couple of nights at agliolio's which was lovely especially dessert !! we have already booked for next year..Lovely hotel to relax and chill !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank townterrier00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hotel is located in the north of the Island and is not with in walking distance of anywhere. If you hire a car you cannot have a beer and Maltese driving is first person there has right of way! Buses finish early and taxis are expensive. The hotel is some years old now and is starting to show signs of such,Carpets in hallways stained etc. No one will take you to your room when you arrive you are expected to find your own way - never happened to me before in a 4 let alone 5 star resort. Friday night harbour cruise tour lasts forever - you are captive on the boat an old fashioned tourist trap, you have to buy food and drinks on the boat - beware if you are travelling with children. Rooms are clean and comfortable but not finished to 5 star standard - no flat screen tv for example. Non sea views sold as country views back onto a national park, you overlook a campsite and it is often not possible to enjoy a quiet drink after midnight on your balcony due to campsite music, singing,shouting etc. This unit is a timeshare factory and expect to be persuaded for 3 to 4 hours if you are tempted to look, otherwise stay well away - do your research on time share before you go. Hotel drinks are expensive, even with you complimentary 20% discount card - there is a bar at the end of the road - much cheaper and good food at reasonable prices. If you do decide to hire a car do so from the UK you will find this much cheaper than hiring on site. There is a deli shop on site which sells the basics - great for freshly baked bread. Breakfast is ok and is served buffet style, so you help yourself - I found that staff where slow to refill the various pans that you collect your items from, if this happens sit and have a cup of tea, it is worth waiting for the fresh food to come out. At 14.95 each for breakfast I would expect someone to bring me toast, not to have to que and make it myself - put it through twice is you like your bread toasted! Staff are friendly and help full and everyone speaks perfect English - even the taxi drivers. The Maltese drive on the same side of the road as the English, but if you are driving here throw away your highway code!The restaurants on site are good but again not 5 star. The private beach is actually a sectioned off area on a public beach, this gets very busy and noisy with large groups of scouts and others who are staying at the campsite. The resort is very safe and not over run by any particular nationality. If you want to sit by the pool, read and swim and go no where this is the holiday for you - if you want to party go to St Julians the party capital of the Island - it costs 50 euros return from the hotel - I told you taxis where expensive! If you are over 40 St Julians will make you feel old! There is a restaurant bar on the beach - food is good but you need to book as it gets very busy. Swimming pool is very clean and the grounds are well tended - there are ample sun beds but these do fill up later in the day - get a parasol to stay out of the midday sun, they are free standing and are all around the pool area. The gym is good but sauna and steam room are very small (4 person), I also noticed a cockroach on the sauna floor and it was alive! Indoor swimming pool is nice but jacuzzi is small and often hogged by others, there are no staff in the gym or pool area. Beauty treatments are available but are more than you would pay on a spa day in the U.K.

Room Tip: If you go out at night you will notice a lot of cockroaches around the outside of the Hotel, number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MartinA244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

we stayed at the radisson golden sands for a week, we could soak in the sun for whole days, the pool area is amazing very very clean with showers and plenty of modern sunbeds. the hotel even has a private sandy beach . the sea is quite clear in the morning but later on in the day with so many people stepping in the shallow water it does not remain so clear.. ii is crystal clear if you swimm further out though, the sea is amazing amzing and clean and clear. we had a timeshare week so we had to pay for all the food and drinks if we didnt bring our own, all in all a nice hotel but a bit on the expensive side, and it is now time for a refurbishment carpets need to be changes and timeshare rooms need hard maintenance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariaAttard163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotels itself is nice.Was surprised to find a good 5 star Radisson quality.
The sea view from the room is superb.Rooms are big and clean, facilities are ok. Territory is also nice, well kept and the pool is big and good. Internet connection is also ok.
But the positive impressions finishes here.
The rest is not that good.
First disapointment is LOCATION!!!!
The hotel is isolated from any town and life, so if you are not on all icnlusive formula you'll face big issues for dining.
There are no shops/ markets nearby, almost no cafes/restaurants.
Of course there are some restaurants in the hotel as well, but they are expensive and the food is really bad.
The bus stop to the other towns is close to the hotel, but schedules are not always convinient. Hotel also provides a shuttle bus service to some destinations, but the schedules are strange as well. (e.g. no way to leave the hotel at abt 19.00 and come back at 23.00 e.g) and they charge you for the shuttle (not much, only 2,5 - 3 Euro/ person, but still it's the first time i was charged in the hotel shuttle bus).
The animation in the evening is also rather boring. (actually no animation, but just a live music).
BEACH - the hotel beach is extremelly dirty and sea is grey and far from being transparent. There is another beach though at about 20 minutes hard walk (walk under the sun via dry field and the descend to the beach is rather stip). The other beach is public (so sunbeds are to be paid a part and it's not equiped with showers.
REFRIGERATOR - they have this terrbile "trendy" refrigerator which charges you authomatically for every item you took of. Meaning you really can't use e.g. to put your cream or big bottle of water (important for me at +35 degrees outside)
STUFF - Extremelly slow and useless.
Waiters always forgot the orders and it took them in average 20 minutes to bring you beer / 30 minutes for a salad.
Reception stuff wasn't able to give indications about destinations, island, bus stops etc... Really, I had the impression that after one week I knew more about Malta and how to survive there then them! They don't even try to help you.

Room Tip: There are some studio rooms with kitchen - maybe usefull since there are not much possiblities to ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed at the Golden Sands Resort in June. We are regular visitors to this hotel and every time we come we find the hotel are constantly improving and upgrading the facilities. The staff, from the porter to senior management, are always excellent, helpful and friendly and keen that you enjoy your experience. Delightful beach and outdoor facilities.

Room Tip: If you can, pay the extra and enjoy the magnificent sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,822 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,684 reviews
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
8.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,315 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £89 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing