We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel above a great beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel above a great beach”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a smart hotel with a very good private beach (best in Malta that I saw) and excellent service (as I expect from this chain, and at the price I paid). Rooms were spacious, luxurious and comfortable. I'd happily visit here again.

Some minor points to look out for:

Bathrooms were luxurious but only dimly lit, and the baths were strangely short (I am 1.89m/6ft 2.5in tall and have never found a hotel bath "too short" before. Not an issue for me but I mention as it may be for some.)

We knew before we went that Golden Sands was a bit isolated so we hired a car for the week. We found parking at the hotel pretty limited, and a daily irritation. But worst case was a walk of around 500m to a public "parking field" nearby; just be prepared.

Our rooms were 3rd floor on the "garden" side above reception. We had some noise bother from mini-buses etc waiting outside. We also overlooked a busy scout camp and were wakened twice by the 7:30am bugle reveille. I'd avoid overlooking reception in future if I could, but would also be happy to go back to the same room - while I noticed the noise it was not a significant bother.

Hotel website says it has wifi throughout and it is widely available in public hotel areas (including the beach!) but not, by and large, in the rooms. A benefit to us of being relatively near reception (see noise point above) was that we could get Wifi at one end of our balcony and this was very handy. Also, the hotel happily supplied a complimentary ethernet cable so we could connect a PC in the room even though we were out of Wifi range indoors.

Swizzles, one of the hotel bars was closed (for no apparent reason).

Some part of the resort is "holiday ownership" and not hotel. At times we felt outnumbered by guests on subsidised visits to listen to a "holiday ownership" presentation. (I am sure we were not in fact outnumbered, this was just how it felt!)

My wife and I were on vacation with our sons, aged 18 & 16. The hotel had many children in it but mostly quite a lot younger. Our boys liked the beach but found the hotel and Golden Bay quieter overall than they would have liked. So, overall, great for grown ups, but not so good for older teenagers!

PS we had breakfast included in our rate and very much enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms directly above reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grantem2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,742
    940
    271
    83
    47
See reviews for
1,486
1,951
75
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

When you find a small recycling bin for glass, paper and plastic in your room, along with everything you need for optimum comfort you know that nothing has been overlooked. Travelling on the open top bus (with a choice of four routes) which stops outside the hotel, we saw that other coastal parts of the island are very built up. Not so in Golden Sands, which is remote from villages. A frequent bus service takes you to Valletta and other sights if you want to be out and about. Mdina is worth a visit.
I went for a week with my daughter; our room was equipped with a fridge, toaster, kettle, cooking equipment - even washing up liquid. The Deli was open for long hours for the basics if you wished to cook instead of eating at one of the many restaurants. Pool and beach were great and the spa offered every treatment you could want. Do go.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are cheaper than the sea view ones but have the advantage of being further a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vytta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed for a week at the Golden Sands in a one bedroom suite overlooking the bay. It was great. The room was spacious and very clean. We had two adults and three children and it was easily able to accommodate us - two kids in the sofa bed and a travel cot for the 2 year old. The pool is large and even in peak season had plenty of room. The beach also a great place to swim. It also has a water sports company on the beach which offers lots of fun activities such as banana boats, sightseeing to Blue Lagoon, para kiting etc.

The onsite restaurants are good and reasonably priced. There are also a couple of places to eat on the beach. The breakfast buffet was really good. Food always well stocked.

The resort is located in Golden Bay, which is away from the main tourist areas. So if you are looking for somewhere that is crowded with package holiday makers or the hustle of a town, then this isn't for you. But if you are looking to relax at the beach and by the pool, this place is perfect. It does mean that you need some form of transport to go to other places. There is a shuttle service operated by Drifters at a modest cost. We hired a car and went to Valletta and Gozo for a couple of day trips.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

We couldn't fault it and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JB_in_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

A great hotel. Many different places to eat in the hotel, at least 5 different restaurants, then 5 bars/to relax before bed, but not full of British holidaymakers...if you get my drift! Great location on beach clifftop, private beach below with free sunbeds and umbrellas for residents. Public beach next to it but not too busy.Beautiful views, wonderful sunsets, entertainment more Emilie Sande/ Eagles/ Neil Diamond etc than Dizzee Rascal! Fine by us, though. Weather perfect , however indoor pool, jacuzzi and beauty salon offering many different treatments if you had to go indoors. I had a pedicure and was delighted, my partner had a haircut and was equally so. The kids entertainment is available and there is a water aerobics type class in the late morning and also afternoon. Fab holiday tunes and chance to leap about being daft. Food great, staff great, can't wait to return. Thanks folks. Would prefer a seaview, although more expensive, and don't really spend hol. in room! Well done.xx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have just returned from a week at the radisson. It is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and we had a fantastic kitchen area equipped with fridge freezer, oven etc...The pool is amazing and we managed to get a sunbed whatever time of day. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our microwave wasn't working when we arrived so i told one of the cleaners when she came to do the room and she radioed down to someone and they came straight away and took it away then brought it back all fixed..we dined a couple of nights at agliolio's which was lovely especially dessert !! we have already booked for next year..Lovely hotel to relax and chill !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank townterrier00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hotel is located in the north of the Island and is not with in walking distance of anywhere. If you hire a car you cannot have a beer and Maltese driving is first person there has right of way! Buses finish early and taxis are expensive. The hotel is some years old now and is starting to show signs of such,Carpets in hallways stained etc. No one will take you to your room when you arrive you are expected to find your own way - never happened to me before in a 4 let alone 5 star resort. Friday night harbour cruise tour lasts forever - you are captive on the boat an old fashioned tourist trap, you have to buy food and drinks on the boat - beware if you are travelling with children. Rooms are clean and comfortable but not finished to 5 star standard - no flat screen tv for example. Non sea views sold as country views back onto a national park, you overlook a campsite and it is often not possible to enjoy a quiet drink after midnight on your balcony due to campsite music, singing,shouting etc. This unit is a timeshare factory and expect to be persuaded for 3 to 4 hours if you are tempted to look, otherwise stay well away - do your research on time share before you go. Hotel drinks are expensive, even with you complimentary 20% discount card - there is a bar at the end of the road - much cheaper and good food at reasonable prices. If you do decide to hire a car do so from the UK you will find this much cheaper than hiring on site. There is a deli shop on site which sells the basics - great for freshly baked bread. Breakfast is ok and is served buffet style, so you help yourself - I found that staff where slow to refill the various pans that you collect your items from, if this happens sit and have a cup of tea, it is worth waiting for the fresh food to come out. At 14.95 each for breakfast I would expect someone to bring me toast, not to have to que and make it myself - put it through twice is you like your bread toasted! Staff are friendly and help full and everyone speaks perfect English - even the taxi drivers. The Maltese drive on the same side of the road as the English, but if you are driving here throw away your highway code!The restaurants on site are good but again not 5 star. The private beach is actually a sectioned off area on a public beach, this gets very busy and noisy with large groups of scouts and others who are staying at the campsite. The resort is very safe and not over run by any particular nationality. If you want to sit by the pool, read and swim and go no where this is the holiday for you - if you want to party go to St Julians the party capital of the Island - it costs 50 euros return from the hotel - I told you taxis where expensive! If you are over 40 St Julians will make you feel old! There is a restaurant bar on the beach - food is good but you need to book as it gets very busy. Swimming pool is very clean and the grounds are well tended - there are ample sun beds but these do fill up later in the day - get a parasol to stay out of the midday sun, they are free standing and are all around the pool area. The gym is good but sauna and steam room are very small (4 person), I also noticed a cockroach on the sauna floor and it was alive! Indoor swimming pool is nice but jacuzzi is small and often hogged by others, there are no staff in the gym or pool area. Beauty treatments are available but are more than you would pay on a spa day in the U.K.

Room Tip: If you go out at night you will notice a lot of cockroaches around the outside of the Hotel, number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MartinA244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

we stayed at the radisson golden sands for a week, we could soak in the sun for whole days, the pool area is amazing very very clean with showers and plenty of modern sunbeds. the hotel even has a private sandy beach . the sea is quite clear in the morning but later on in the day with so many people stepping in the shallow water it does not remain so clear.. ii is crystal clear if you swimm further out though, the sea is amazing amzing and clean and clear. we had a timeshare week so we had to pay for all the food and drinks if we didnt bring our own, all in all a nice hotel but a bit on the expensive side, and it is now time for a refurbishment carpets need to be changes and timeshare rooms need hard maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaAttard163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,474 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,320 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Rezidor, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing