We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfully beautiful part of Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderfully beautiful part of Malta”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The best 5* in Malta.
Perfect location to just chill and relax. Far away from the madding crowds, but close enough to grab the "hop on hop off" bus.
Hotel is 100% clean. Very accommodating staff. especially the restaurant Manager HENRI and his team of staff., inc Michelle and Louis. A smile and a good morning EVERY morning......
The rooms/suites are just perfect for self catering option if you wish....but the half board food package is well worth every penny.
The outside pools are super clean with the hotels own towels for the beds. Inside pool and spa are lovely and well worth a visit.
The views are spectacular at any time of the day.
The private beach is the best on the island with specific area for hotel occupants, with sun beds and parasols and double beds.
On beach service with a waiter to fetch and carry for you if you fancy!( Or the "munchies" cafes and eateries on the beach are cheap and tasty....)
Three restaurants to choose from and all with the best food!
The beach has a clean award for 2013....safe for the little ones...
If you want a bit of luxury, this is the perfect retreat....Go on...treat yourself!
The beds are sooooo comfy with the biggest fluffiest pillows too!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. The country view is quiet, but even the sea view is not noisy...all light and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments about us on TripAdvisor. We are extremely delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments about Henri, Michelle and Louis are much appreciated and have been shared with them and the rest of the team who are pleased to read that they were able to add value to your holiday.
We look forward to your next stay at the Radisson Golden Sands.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,700
    921
    268
    82
    47
See reviews for
1,474
1,912
75
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at the Radisson for a week in June. What a truly fantastic hotel. We travlled here with three children and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The maintenance man even fixed our pushchair that had been broken on the flight! the hotel was gorgeous, immaculate and peaceful. W e had a large family suite and this was outstanding. The beds were so comfy and we had a kitchen that provided everything we needed. there was a family bathroom and we also had an en suite in the double room. both had a good powerful shower and nice sized bath. We stayed half board and the food was just gorgeous every night. The chef would cook anything we asked for for our three year old. There are regular buses right outside to get about and taxis are plentiful. The gym was great and spa lovely. pools were great, clean and relaxing. beach was lovely too. Malta gave us a fantastic week of hot sun and we had a brilliant holiday and wouldnt hesitate to go back here. One of the best hols weve had for a long time. just perfect,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Golden Sands. Your positive comments about our staff are appreciated and have been forwarded to all the team members.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here with my husband last week for 7 days. Perfect property, wonderful food, outstanding customer service. Take advantage of all the hotel has to offer. Get the breakfast included in your stay. You won't regret it! Take advantage of the poolside chairs and the beach chairs. Make sure you get an ocean view.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacayGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon trent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently visited the hotel and took our extended family. My sister - in - law is very badly disabled. The arragements were very difficult and kept changing but nothing was too much trouble for the staff. My sister - in - law was able to visit everywhere on the site from the pools to the beach and restaurants without any problems. I lost my e-reader with an alarming regularity but it was always returned to me by a very nice young man from reception. There were 2 highlights with meals, one was a vegetarian extravaganza we organised and the other where the chef kindly cooked the fish my husband had caught. The bar was lovely and I really enjoyed Michael's service which was funny and excellent. But everyone was service oriented and we had a great time. I loved the beach this time but the pools are really amazing and just right for families

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have a spectacular view. The air conditioning is effective,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaharangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It is of great satisfaction to read when staff efforts are acknowledged by our guests, I will definitely share your comments with the entire team.

We look forward to your next stay at the Golden Sands,

Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What a brilliant place for a holiday - a 5* experience. This is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday, remote enough to be quiet but there is regular transport, both public and provided by the hotel, to all parts of the island for sightseeing, shopping and clubbing. The rooms are oustanding and noting is to much trouble for the staff - if you want some information/advice about the island talk to Henri he is a 'star' and a wealth of knowledge. Golden Sands is a very good description for the beach - there is a private section for the hotel but the public part is large enough not to feel crowded. There is a great range of restuarants and bars in the hotel and a couple of others within walking distance. We have already booked for next year.....

Room Tip: There are sea-view and country-view rooms - don't forget to stipulate what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paignton, devon, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here in September 2012

What a truly wonderful hotel, it's got a private beach, 4 pools, lovely restaurants. Nice and quiet so fantastic for families. The hotel has an amazing animation group and a children's club. You even get a complimentary boat and bus trip included in the price when you go to the informal welcome meeting xxx. It was our little Boy's first ever trip abroad and he loved it so much, he cried when we left and he talks about it all of the time.

I would highly recommend this hotel, it is well worth the money, you certainly do get what you pay for.

All of the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble at all. The whole hotel is immaculate xx

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkir74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Wife + 12 yr old son and I stayed a week in May for half term break. Chose this property based on TA reviews and it was away from the hustle and bustle of Valletta / Paceville, and it has one of the best sandy beaches. I wanted to look out at the Med. We got exactly what we wanted. Highly recommend paying a bit extra for an ocean view, it makes a huge difference. There are plenty of poolside loungers but we found you must get down there before 9:30am if you want the best choices. Appreciated the poolside wait staff for drinks and lunch. Agree with other reviews about frigid outdoor pool temps, but the kids don't seem to mind? Also agree that as good as the location is for its beach and ocean views, it is remote if you prefer convenience to more restaurants or shopping. We didn't take the bus, the cycle times were too long for the distance for my taste. We hired a private tour guide (Joan Sheridan at maltatourguide.com), and a taxi for our excursions in between just relaxing, but in retrospect a hire car would've been best for most flexibility. Recommend taking time to see Valletta, Marsaxlokk Village, Hagar Qim Temples, Mdina and Blue Grotto on Malta. Craft Village and Dingli Cliffs just ok. I would not hesitate to return to Radisson Blu Golden Sand, but probably with a hire car next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Good afternoon,

First of all thank you for your review. One note regarding the sun beds, our policy of no reservation of sun beds starts right about this time of year. We do have a strict policy regarding NO SUNBED RESERVATION and we do our utmost on a daily basis to enforce this to the full.
Our efforts are unfortunately sometimes not appreciated by one and all since some clients believe they have a right to block sun beds for the full day whilst they are on tour or at thebeach, yet we feel that the only way to ensure that all space is utilised well for teh comfort of all our guests is to continue to enforce this policy.
Once again thank you for staying with us at the Golden Sands resort and Spa.

Best Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4,407 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,284 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Prestigia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing