We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Enjoyed an excellent week at this complex. the resort staff were very polite and helpful, a good number of restaurants within the complex but you do need to make a reservation but food very good. we had a deluxe apartment and it was lovely. the Spa was wonderful. if going to Malta and you want a special pace to stay and unwind then this is the place to go to it has its own part of the beach at Golden bay so perfect in every way. we will be going back.

Room Tip: the complex has three towers no higher than 8 floors and named according to the sun position the 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for your kind comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Radisson Blu, Resort & Spa Golden Sands. I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,701
    921
    268
    82
    47
See reviews for
1,474
1,913
75
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed several times at this hotel, usually in July or August when occupancy is to the max. There are always sunbeds available by the pool or the private beach as the pool security/attendants make sure no one leaves their beach towels while they go and have breakfast or back to their rooms. Daily entertainment by the pool, lots of beach sports and plenty of restaurants to eat from. Agliolio is the hotel's casual restaurant and make sure you book a table outside in advance as this is always full. Food at this restaurant is very good and service is excellent.
I'd recommend this hotel as the staff makes your holiday even more memorable. Well done to all at Radisson Blu Golden Sands!

Room Tip: A Seaview room is the best choice however if the budget doesn't stretch, a valley view room is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for choosing once again to stay at the Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Golden Sands and for your great review. Your constant custom to our Resort is testimony in itself of the services and facilities on offer.

We look forward to your next stay at the Radisson Golden Sands.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The amazing staff, breathtakingly beautiful location, the atmosphere, delicious food, perfect cocktails, cleanest rooms, absolute luxury !
Wonderful entertainment, the fantastic, hardworking, animation team. Yoga in the sunshine.
The best Spa you could wish for.
Indoor pool. gym, tennis, horse riding, private beach, flavours restaurant. Beautiful pools.
Dreamy....there aren't enough words to describe how wonderful it is. So easy to travel around Malta from Golden Bay, but as everyone else is travelling to the beach at Golden Bay, you wont want to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: You have to order room service during your holiday, luxurious. Sea view rooms or country views. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read that your stay was a pleasant one. Our team, on a daily basis work’s hard to maintain the service level’s expected and we are delighted to hear that we have exceeded your expectations .
We look forward to your next stay at the Radisson Blu Golden Sands.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I would like to convey my apprectiation to the staff at Flavours Restaurant at Golden Sands hotel, for their courtesy , and knowledge for specific dietry requirments . The buffet was exquisite , and the venue setup made our dinning experience one to remember.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0line1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Golden Sands. Your positive comments about Flavours and staff are appreciated and have been forwarded to all the Food & beverage members of staff.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Fantastic hotel in wonderful location. If you are looking for a beach holiday in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle look no further. The hotel itself is superb and the staff are simply excellent. All of them are a credit to the Radisson. This was our first stay in a Radisson but it will be the only hotel of our choice in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim / Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this fantastic review in regards to your recent visit at the Radisson Golden Sands. It is always nice to hear that our guests are being well taken care of.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a hotel we go back to again and again. A safe environment for the children to enjoy there holiday. It ticks all the boxes when it comes to relaxing and chilling around by the pool but there are some improvements that should be taken on board.
1. When you check in you should be given a timetable of the events the entertainment team are scheduled in for so you have a clear understanding of what suits you if any. This is very unclear and with the lack of information I don't think it helps your staff in trying it put events on.
2. There has been an increasing trend in the pool staff taking towels away when they think people have reserved beds and gone away. Whilst sitting around by the pool I have witnessed this first hand and do think this is a good thing however there has got to be a bit of a line in the sand. Time and time again I see beds with towels on and left for 2 hours and nothing done, and then a family puts towels down goes to breakfast and 50 mins later there towels are in a plastic bag. Personally I think the reserving beds policy should be explained on arrival on a statement given out so everyone knows as a few signs is not cutting it.
3. The entertainment of an evening is limited to the Mokka bar which is ok but no where near enough choice. In years gone by we would be in the Swizzles bar with Salsa nights, disco nights, quizzes etc. the entertainment is the only thing that let's it down in the evening, defiantly needs improving.
4. Costs can be a bit high. The staff are great but this is not a 5 star hotel more a 3-4 star so maybe the costs should reflect this.
Wifi in the rooms was a great touch......helped massively
That said there are a lot of positives about the hotel and we will be going back.....

Room Tip: All rooms are do a good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Good Morning,

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us once again. We have taken your suggestion on board re timetable of events to be given out on arrival and we have had some positive feedback.

We look forward to your next stay at the Radisson Blu Golden Sands.

Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema,Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Some time ago my husband and I decided to treat our daughter and her 2 year old son to a short holiday break at the Radisson, Malta Golden Sands. When a few other members of our family heard about this they decided to join us. We ended up being a party of 15 people. We were all given the rooms we asked for, however my daughter was allocated a tiny room at the end of a corridor which she did not like especially since she was the one to book for everyone and was also paying the same price as any other couple, inspite of the fact that she was sharing with a 2 year old. However as soon as she voiced her feelings at reception she was allocated a spacious and lovely room.
The hotel itself is in a beautiful location with fields on one side and the sea on the other side.
The staff were wonderful and considering we were a party of 15 they managed to put us on one table both for breakfast and lunch. The choice of food at breakfast is unbelievable but some of our party were not 100 per cent happy with the variety of food in the evening. On the last day we ordered Room Service and must say that the food was very well presented, at the right temperature and very delicious besides not taking long to arrive which was an extra bonus.
The pool area is very big and the animation made our stay that bit more enjoyable. What we did not particularly like was that after we put our towels on the sun beds and were away either to take our grandson for a nap or to the sandy beach below, our towels were taken away by security together with any other thing we had left on the sun beds. The reason given was that we cannot reserve sun beds. Does not make sense to me. They should have enough beds to accommodate all residents. Well all in all it was a very enjoyable holiday and I will surely return and also recommend this hotel. Must also mention two people who with their care and attention, made our stay very relaxed. They are Henri and Daniela at Reception. Wish I could remember the name of the guy who brought up the food to our room and also the guy who had to cart our stuff from our rooms because they were both very helpful and polite and you could see that they were willing to help and not just doing their job because they had no choice.
The Hotel is ideal for a family holiday and also for someone who wants to be away from the hustle and bustle of a busy centre. However all attractions can be reached either by hotel transport, public transport or taxi.

Room Tip: Country view rooms can be noisy if there are campers close by. This campsite is usually occupied by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarrMicallefTrigona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review regarding your recent stay with us at the Radisson Golden Sands. I am delighted to read that your stay was a pleasant one and that we have exceeded your expectations. Your kind comments about Daniela and Henri are much appreciated and have been shared with them.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing