We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£99 timeshare deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2010

A very nice hotel, 4+ star rating.
It surprised us as we we're expecting the worse and we got so much more than we expected. A clean, tidy, modern room, not poolside but country view.
Hotel is clean, friendly, safe.
Don't go there for the night life, but you can expect to relax if you wish to...all types of people, mainly what you'd expect from packaged tours. Everyone was nice and friendly.
Pool area is what you'd expect..loads of kids, opt for the beach as it quiet down there. Stairs or lift will take you down there.
Towels are available (free) by the pool or beachside
The gym is very small however they have a multigym, free weights (up to 10KG), pull up bar, running, spinning, crosstrainer machines....all free.
Food is pricey, they have a pizza place on the beach level which isn't too bad.
Munchies - on the beach is fantasic..go to the one thats on the far side of the beach, al la carte menu in the evening and well priced, service is great and book a table !!
Timeshare tour is what you'd expect, the advisor will 'become' your friend with staged photos of his family, his history and how much he loves the place....all staged!!
£15K for 1 week / 35 year lease (1 bed room)...values that room at £750K !!
Just tell them you have no interest and tell them not to waste time...just do the tour and get out. Be polite as it's their living.

Taxi from St juilian to hotel = 27 euros
Taxi to Airport = 28 euros
Public buses from Hotel to St Julian ot Valleta = about 1.40 euros
Use the hotel bus..all free, however note that the late afternoon bus is now cancelled. (17:30)

If your at Valletta (old town), catch the ferry to Sliema (down the hill 800m), as there's loads of food places.

Note: All power plugs are UK 3 pin and NOT euro type.
Internet (Wifi) available in reception, poolside and beachside. just connect and you'll be directed to there homepage. Enter in your room + surname and thats it...your connected !!
Football is also shown in the bar area.

I would def go again....£99 for a week, it's a no brainer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank bmw_manUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,726 - 3,732 of 4,515 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

This was our third holiday to the same resort, for us it ticks a lot of he boxes for a family holiday, enough to keep the kids occupied, although limited choice of restaurants a choice none the less.
Pools are lovely, most staff are courteous.
This year the beach semed rockier and more see weed than previous years but kids do not want to go to beach.
Apart from the hotel there is nothing around it, so you would need a car or book taxis to see more of Malta.
We have a time share here hence the third visit, would like to sell now, but as the rep know that we do not seem to get hassled to upgrade etc etc.
Entertainment was a little disappointing this year very much the same old thing night after night and not much variety and repeated quickly so after two weeks we ahd seen it all twice.
Myoka Spa is great, staff very friendly and helpful.
Animation team are great with kids keeping them entertained well into the evening.
I agree with many comments no where near 5 star standard, kept waiting in restaurants food had to go back a couple of times although Chris the manager was very apologetic and helpful, also complimentary bottle of wine helps.
If you hire a car though the parking at hotel can be a nightmare, as they host various wedding or parties at weekends it is almost impossible to park.
Holidays are what you make them hte kids met great friends we met some lovely people and had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nobbsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We went to Malta on our honeymoon so we have experienced the island without children. This time bringing the children was a worry but we needn't have. Although the quality of the hotel is superb, it wasn't toffee nosed about kids at all. All the staff go out of their way to be nice to the children including the young man and woman that wander around offering to blow up sausage balloons for them - really nice little touches like that made it a really special family trip. The last morning I'm sitting by the pool regretting not having had the chance to visit the spa up til now and lo and behold... a spa member of staff wanders by my sunbed offering a massage or anything else in an appointment that afternoon! I took up the offer of a pedicure. What a treat! Little touches like that - the hotel's marketing - totally superb! We were invited down to the restaurant "essences" by letter and on arrival were greeted with a spectacular view, free drinks for all - local wine for me and hub and apple juice for the kids - and snacks. Although we never actually made it for dinner at the restaurant I really appreciated that type of direct marketing. If you have any doubts about going to this hotel - don't doubt that you will have an awesome time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginabthegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Unfortunately the Maltese standards arent as high as you would like.There are no showers to clean yourself after visiting the beach . Their are no life guards around the pool which is a tragedy waiting to happen .The timeshare IRC club customer care is none existent . No ATM at the hotel which is quite remote so a car is needed.

Positives: the Hotel is more like a 4star as we know with nice staff and a great kidsclub for 14 hrs a day. The food could be a little better.

A lot of inconsistencies as the price paid per week could vary enornmously which attracts all kinds.

the kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simplyadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We had a lovely break here but we wouldn't go and stay there at hotel guests. We were offered a special deal where we would go out and attend a 2 hour presentation for a timeshare appartment. The hotel was good. Lots of restaurants to choose from. The childrens pool was great. The room wasn't as I was expecting - I was lead to believe that this was a 5 star resort but the room was decidedly 3 star. Very old and tired looking. I think they had begun redecorating the rooms but I think these were reserved for owners. The presentation that we committed to was supposed to be 2 hours but was over 5 hours in the end. The children were pooped and itching to get out and use up some energy - so were we!
The location is nice but the beach gets very crowded. You would need a car to go around the island - which we did for 3 days - and the hotel have a rental desk to do that. The hotel provide a bus service but the destinations are limited.
Only a small part of the beach is private and we found that the beach parties were very loud making the balconly a bit of a no go area some nights. I didn't mind the dance music but it did get on my husbands nerves ;o)
My son hurt himself at the pool on the last day and when I ran to get the concierge I found him to be extremely courteous, very helpful and very organised. By the time we got to the pool the medical staff were already there. He arranged a taxi for me to take my son to a clinic in Mosta and basically made a stressful situation much easier.
Malta is a beautiful place and the people are super friendly. I would love to go back there but perhaps not that hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jinx_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Returned yesterday from the Radisson after visiting on a £99 promotional visit. As I understood it, it was to view apartments to buy at the Radisson in Malta. Three hours into the presentation, having been shown around the hotel and made to sit and watch videos of properties in Barbados and Mexico we realised the girl was trying to sell us 'credits' to spend on future holidays. She didn't explain herself well and when she realised we weren’t interested (due to all the 'hidden extras' we had been told about by members...such as maintenance charges) she brought in reinforcements to try and persuade us. When we still said no we were then offered a further weeks stay, at a later date, for £1,500 incl, to reconsider! The presentation was uninteresting but as we only paid £99 had to be endured. I wouldn't take up an offer like this again as we both felt uncomfortable and pressured into parting with our money.

About the hotel: Lovely location, in fact we had stayed at the original Golden Sands hotel before the Radisson was built on the same site. Beautiful hotel, lovely inside and out. Been to Malta 9 times and love it, people are very friendly and polite, speak English, and the weathers great most of the year.

We were told we would be in an apartment but in fact ended up in a room only at the back of the hotel. We tried to change but just kept being told they would arrange something and get back to us, but this never happened. The view at the back is classed as country view, but in fact looked out over scout camps. Trucks and jeeps arrived one evening and numerous tents were set up. We left before the arrival of the scouts but I should imagine it could become quite noisy. The room itself was lovely, spacious, clean and with a large bathroom with fluffy towels and bathrobes, so no complaints there. We had a kettle but were not able to use the fridge as it was full of drinks that if moved, even slightly were charged to your bill as they were on some sort of sensor. We asked for them to be removed but were told we would be charged around 5 Euros a day! Never heard of this before in a 5 star, so was disappointed not to have use of the fridge to chill drinks. Instead we took ice to the room from one of the bars each evening.

Food; was expensive compared to other places on the island and the carvery we had on the last night wasn't great:: Chewy Gammon with only one veg included. We fed most of the meat to the cats who hanging around the terrace where we ate. Most lunch times we ate at Munchies the beach bar, which had fresh food daily and much more reasonable prices. Evenings we went across to the 'Apples Eye' cafe near the hotel, which had lovely food and was full to bursting most nights, so it seems other guests were doing the same thing. It would have been nice to go out to each elsewhere but the hotels courtesy bus stopped late pick ups after around 7pm (we were told they used to run till midnight) local busses stopped around 7pm too, so we were stuck unless we paid for taxis or a hire car.

Pools: Two outdoor pools which looked lovely but were in fact over run with children in both. (yes I realise it was the start of the school holidays) One of the outdoor pools was supposed to be for members only but, as members told us, was never enforced, as the staff said they couldn't control it. I felt this wasn't fare to owners who had paid premium prices. Children and adults were diving in, (notices around saying no diving) even off the water feature/rocks at the side of the pool, and jumping around in the Jacuzzi. In my opinion one of the outdoor pools should have been adult only as they were both quite big. Great for families though not so good if just a couple wanting to relax or swim. The indoor pool was supposed to be adult only in the afternoons but each time we looked in there were children in there too. Good idea but again nothing was done to control this by the staff.
Quite windy at times so weren't always able to use the umbrellas and not easy to find shade without, (was so hot). We watched one umbrella fly over the cliff and down to the beach.

Beach; Most days we spent some time on the beach. Lots of rocks and stones make for a difficult walk into the sea. The hotel claim it to be a private beach for guests, but in fact, they hire the sun beds out to anyone who wants one. (There was a sign on the beach) Great for them to make more money but not so good as we couldn't always find a free sun bed. There is a lift which not everybody realised to take you up and down to the beach.

Hotel shop; As we didn't have an apartment we didn't use this although we did look in. Prices were very high. eg; Box of cornflakes 7.50 Euros. More supermarkets in Buggiba, much better priced, but again you can't carry much on the bus, so would need the use of a car really. We did notice guests bringing in bags of food and drinks.

Entertainment; We watched a couple of singers and the Ace Line dances who were good. I felt sorry that they had nowhere really to perform, just on the terrace with no lighting at all. We watched waiting staff and guest tripping over the wires from the mics as they walked past. We felt this was unusual for a 5 star hotel.

To Sum up; I feel this hotel would suit families with small children, not really couples, as it was too crowded. There was a kids club by the side the pool and the children seemed to be enjoying it. Teenagers wouldn't find much to do here. An apartment would be better as the restaurants were expensive. A hire car would make buying food/drink and getting out and about a lot easier. Great holiday for £99 but wouldn’t pay full price to stay here.

Malta's lovely but we would choose a quieter place next time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chellefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms were large, quiet, and included a full kitchen.

Unfortunately, there is no ATM in the hotel. Getting to an ATM isn't easy unless you have a car or hire a taxi.

The front desk staff were rude every time we interacted with them. When arriving at restaurants in the hotel, even with a reservation, we routinely had to wait at least 5 minutes before someone would even acknowledge us.

There is free wifi in the common areas, but only wired internet in the rooms.

The beach, pool, and ping-pong table make this experience average, otherwise this hotel would be a poor rating.

Overall, a okay experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k4Ysi4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,007 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,098 reviews
2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
9.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,623 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £100 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Prestigia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Rezidor, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing