We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Solana Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Luna Holiday Complex(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pergola Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$1,290
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Panorama Hotel(Mellieha)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,323)
Filter reviews
2,323 results
Traveller rating
1,119
822
250
81
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,119
822
250
81
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstosca restaurantthe busrooftop poolself cateringwelcome drinksister hotelhalf boardlovely hotelstudio roomsteep hillsmall balconybreakfast and dinnerhotel is situatedgreat holidayenjoyable staylovely roombusy road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,701 - 1,706 of 2,323 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Our holiday - 14 nights was brilliant at the Solana. Lovely hotel and staff. Rooms spacious and the hotel was kept clean. We had a ne room at the back of the hotel. Noise does travel within the hotel but this did not ruin our time even with 2 young children 5 and 3.
The only negative, the hotel pools tend to be over chlorinated. The indoor pool was unbearable the chlorine burnt your eyes and made you cough, even when not even in the pool. The outdoor pool area is a little precarious for little children with there being so many steps and levels. However we found the sister hotel pool at the Pergola satisfied our needs. The beaches at Mellieha are beautiful. The Arriva buses on Malta are a disapointment.

Room Tip: Oh Yeah cruises found on Mellieha beach, excellent day trip to Comino and the Blue Lagoon. Amazing day out and great value for money.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serene_crutchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Every has different standards for what a hotel should be and offer but for me this place is very good. We stayed in the sister hotel about 4-5 years ago( pergola I think) but this is much better as it is a lot more accessible to the main st and u don't have to scale they horrible stairs!!!. Recomended

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotchington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I stayed here in 2007 and had a fab holiday,although it was high season but I am returning next friday to do a bit of walking on the beautiful island. I am looking forward to the friendly welcome and hope we get a good room as we have not booked directly.I will update status on return.

Room Tip: ask for a suite at the back of the hotel,the road is at the front
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just came back from a weekend break at the Solana Hotel. After staying in many hotels in Malta, I must say that I was disappointed.

We booked through otel.com a junior suite, they assigned us room 1314. Unfortunately it was a front room on the first floor.

The Room
The room was large but with very dated furniture everywhere with scratches and dents (including what seemed a historic chewing gum which housekeeping never managed to remove.) The bathroom door could not fully open cause of the heating rail, but overall very decent bathroom. Also I couldn’t understand how each time we used the bath water leaked out to the main room, seemed like there was a leak.
Also how the hotel called this room a SUITE is beyond me, clearly they have no idea what a suite is! it seems very mediocre and the room seemed just slightly larger room than a standard room.

Internet

From the room, no WIFI could be found, except that of the restaurant across the road. ;)

Cleanliness
The room was cleaned very well by housekeeping, so no bad points there.

Noise
My gosh! the noise is terrible if you keep the balcony door open, and we had no other choice, as the AC was switched off for some reason. (Probably to save on consumption). During night time, even though traffic subsided substantially however in the early hours in the morning the noise starts to return, waking you up at 8am, which is not something you want to do when on Holiday.

Also you could clearly hear the TV of next room. I could also decipher the TV station they we’re watching!! Must have really thin walls.

Food
We were on a Room only basis so cant comment on the food.

Indoor Pool
The indoor pool was nicely decorated, however the water had a exaggerated amount of chlorine, that we just could not stand staying more than 10minutes as my eyes immediately started to burn (eyes kept closed underwater the whole time). So was definitely not impressed by the pool.

Value for Money
Its known that this hotel is on the cheaper scale of four star hotels, so in terms of value for money it is cheap but the standard is a bit low, if you can live with an okish room which is clean, than this is the hotel for you.

Recommend it to a friend?
No, I would suggest going to Maritim instead, which is close by and usually just slightly more expensive than Solana, but worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Please ask Reception for a room at the BACK of the building to avoid the noise from the traffic. Also dont bother booking for a Junior Suite!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We are very disappointed to hear that your recent experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa was not a positive one.

Our team strives very hard to offer our guests a rewarding stay and we regret that we did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we have investigated the various situations mentioned and relevant actions were taken, where necessary. It is worth noting that the Solana Hotel & Spa offers a Free Wi-Fi Hotspot within the public areas and this is available 24-hours a day.

While thanking you for your time, please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you wish to discuss your experience in more detail.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This hotel I can not fault one bit. It is classed a 34 star but would rate it a 3 star but with 5 star service. The rooms were clean and all communal areas Used the gym and indoor pool. Gym facilities were not too bad really and caould manage quite a good upper body work out. The food was good, and i suffer with wheat intollerance ad my gluten free bread and cearels were well catered for. The staff made sure of this. Amanda the manager was so nice.
We are a gay couple in our 40's and we would recommend this hotel as it is gay friendly. We look firward to returning soon.
Mellieha is a quiet resort but the buses run all night to take you out down to the main areas for a night out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews