We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return Holiday”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our return Holiday”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We have just spent another lovely holiday @ The Solana - we always find the Manager Pierre and Amanda so helpful and accommodating . Ivan and Ruby in the restaurant are so attentive and happy. There is alway a nice selection of starters - main and deserts to choose from. The hotel is so spotless and if you need a relaxing holiday this is the hotel to go for a nice break.
Location is very good plenty of nice walks and places to visit - we are in fact returning again in October.

Room Tip: It is just a matter of choice we always prefer a room at the back 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carolgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    770
    237
    74
    49
See reviews for
534
1,106
97
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

this hotel is brilliant nice people nice staff, its lovely and clean we go every year to malta and have always enjoyed it ,this hotel is not far from the beach

Room Tip: all the rooms are kept well and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 411patricia411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Hotel was in a good location, staff vey friendly and helpful.

Room cleaned on a daily basis and fresh towels every day. The indoor pool could have done with brighter lights but the jacuzzi was good.

I would recomend the Solana Hotel to friends and family for a relaxed and comfortable holiday.

The shops and restaurants up and down the road were very good, especially the mushy peas in pastry!!

Room Tip: You must make sure you request a room with a balcony at the back of hotel and not the front as these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southutsire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Last week I was at Solana Hotel and this was not the first time I have visited this Hotel and Mellieha. Hotel service is excellent and food was brilliant.

To my surprise I found that the change that has been done in the Main Road was truly brilliant. I could walk down the road without the security risks that there where the year before. I would like to congratulate those who took this great action.
Very well done....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and forthcoming, we had a small issue with the air conditioning in our room and the receptionist managed to arrange a new room before the end of the day, in fact we relied on them quite a lot over the week for up to date information and best ways to travel around the island. While I'm on the subject don't bother with the information office a few yards down the street, the English lady we saw in there was quite rude and spoke to us in a very condescending manner, the hotel staff were much more pleasant. As for the hotel itself we found it to be very clean, the pool areas were very good, we had a baby with us and found the indoor pool suited our needs very well as we were able to have a quiet area to play in. We tried pretty much all the restaurants in the area and found they had something for everyone and met all budgets

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clare_roberts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This was an average experience. What we really appreciated was the relative calm neighborhoods. It's far to the beach though, but a nice walk. The standard of the hotel is above average, but a bit worn. A few things in the room probably needs maintenance. The AC was not working good and the toilet was really difficult to flush. The balcony was facing a shaft and not that scenic view as we were hoping for (fat man in underwear smoking cigarettes). Also there were, not many, cockroaches in the bathroom. The breakfast was good, except for the bacon, but that might just be an subjective opinion. The staff and the service was really great. The room was very clean and we would like to thank Ahmed for doing a great job. There is free WiFi in the lobby and the service works really good. The surroundings are nice. There are a few good places to eat, a supermarket and a bus stop right outside the door. If we visit Mellieha again, we'll probably chose this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid balcony facing the shafts and make sure the AC works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johanniska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

we stayed at the Solana for a short break in Apil this year. on a bed and breakfast basis. Excellent hotel,very good buffet breakfast,both cooked and continental options. The room was very well equipped and even had a fold-away kitchen with microwave, sink, fridge,and small electric hob, so that if we wanted to, we could cater for ourselves. However, as there are numerous very reasonably priced restaurants nearby, we didn't bother. The Tosca restaurant in the hotel is excellent, as is their bar food menu. The staff were very friendly, and polite, and couldn't do enough for us. They are also very informative regarding local transport (which is very good). The only drawback was that the hotel is situated on a busy road, so there is a lot of traffic noise at all times. I had requested a room at the back of the hotel, but there was not one available. That would be my only critisism of a very enjoyable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lindavid68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,835 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing