We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Solana”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Solana”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We've just returned from a 2 week stay in Melleiha at the Solana Hotel. Things didn't start too well as we'd booked a balcony room but were given a very small room with no balcony. When I informed reception that we'd booked a Balcony room they explained that there was a maintenance issue with the room we had booked ad would have to wait 4 days for it to be sorted. My only gripe was that we weren't told that when we checked in. However the manager Sacha was extremely appologetic and gave us a complimentary back massage each from the spa as compensation, which was amazing, Irena, who gave the massage, even stayed late on our last day to ensure I had my massage so a big thank you to her!

In general the staff couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was a pleasurable experience. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, in particular Mathew and Emma at the Pucini Cafe were very friendly and nice people to talk to, they both deserve a special mention for their professionalism in particular when the cafe was busy.

The hotel rooms do need tidying up a bit in places, some of the furniture is showing signs of wear and tear but overall i'd agree that this is a 4* hotel and would highly recommend it!

One other special mention is to Amanda who was another manager who did everything she could to help us and answer any questions.

Room Tip: Don't get a balcony room at the front of the hotel. Maltese drivers have a thing for beeping any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    754
    236
    73
    47
See reviews for
525
1,092
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

stopped in july for 8 days with my children lovely hotel friendly staff with big clean rooms will return next year only bad thing about this place was the supermarket over the road dont go there they overcharge if you a tourist!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Had an amazing time at the solana hotel. Really friendly staff who always went out of their way to help out. we stayed in a self catering appartment. the room was spacious and very clean.The kitchen area was quite small and minimal but we ate out nearly every night as the local restaraunts were amazing and real value for money.We didnt have a great view from our room but we are not the type of people to spend all day on the balcony, we go out as much as possible. The barstaff were very friendly,Mathew went out of his way to help and is a asset to the company,always busy.
This hotel is awesome and we enjoyed ourselves so much we are goin back to Melliha in september to their sister hotel. 5*****

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We had a great stay. It was my first time in Malta it was brilliant. I would go back in a flash absolutley amazing!!! The Solana Hotel was stunning best hotel i have seen in a while!! staff where lovely and had an amazing stay, thank you very much!

Room Tip: Any because they all look amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

this hotel is great I highly recommend people stay here!

the staff are lovely and help you in anyway they can.

the pool is small but is bug enough!

the food is ok!

the place is excellent and has bars all around it If you need a drink ;)

there is a supermarket across the road for bits you need

it's just in the perfect place great family Hotel me and my family have been staying there for years and we
love it x

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woowoo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the Solana for a week in June. Although I wouldn't really class the hotel as 4* it was really nice. We opted not to go for a balcony room as we were trying to keep to a budget. Although our room was small and dark it was what we expected and considering the price I really couldn't complain.

The hotel itself is really nice, slightly dated restaurant but I think this is reflective of the area not the hotel as nothing is really modern there which is nice as it gives it a more relaxing atmosphere. The pool area is big enough to accommodate guests but I can imagine it gets a little more manic in the summer times as we were out of season and it was busy enough then. The pictures are a little deceiving but you do have a nice view of the sea (although you do have to stand up and look past the cranes etc!)

Mellieha is a quiet-ish town on a steep hill - if you don't like walking up and down hills choose somewhere else. The hotel was central to everything which made it ideal for us, however we are quite fit people who didn't really mind walking up and down the hill so wasn't as much of an issue.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants, the beach is only 5-10 mins away and it's quite a large beach if this is what you like. You can also catch a bus to other beaches which are really nice but slightly remote.

The bus system is amazing. So cheap for a day rider and you can go around the whole island, be warned though if you are of a nervous disposition then don't eat or drink before going on them as the drivers are mental!

Overall, this was a lovely relaxing holiday. The people are friendly the sun is shining and the beer is very cheap. if your not expecting paradise then you are sure to find a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: If your fussy, don't book a no balcony room as they have no natural sunlight. best rooms I imagi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missfon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the Solana Hotel for a week in July 2012. It met with our expectations as we had read all the reviews about it prior to booking/arrival.

The one negative for us, which we hadn't expected, was the check in time.

We had travelled on an overnight flight from Morocco - Barcelona - Malta and arrived around 9.30am (having left Morocco at 11pm the previous evening). We had hoped that we would have been able to check in to our room as soon as possible (having been awake for over 24 hours). It did seem, however, that the 2pm check in time was rigidly adhered to as everyone that arrived at the hotel during the 5 hours that we sat in the lobby got their keys at 2pm also.

During the 5 hours that we sat in the lobby waiting for our room, there were no guests checking out. Call me a detective but that would suggest there had been vacant rooms prior to 9.30am.

What bothered us more was that the front desk obviously had no communication with housekeeping, and were not prepared to ask for our room, or indeed any of the other people waiting for theirs, to be cleaned as a priority.

In my experience, housekeeping staff clean one room at a time, and priority is given to the rooms that have become vacant and not to the rooms requiring to be serviced for the day. Who cares what time their room is serviced on holiday? As long as it gets done.

While I accept that hotels have to have a check in time, I think the management of this hotel needs to do better for their early arrivals. A wait is expected - a 5 hour one is not expected or acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSJAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing