We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 great days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The service was great with very nice and friendly staff. The room was quite spacious and comfortable with a good view of the beach. The food was delicious and had a lot of variety from where to choose from, that you'll get stuffed and still want more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,401 - 1,407 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is rated a 4*, but by UK / USA standards it is more like a 3*. That said, we were very pleased with it. There were a few bits of maintenance that need sorting, such as a broken ice box lid, a broken lock on the patio doors. Lighting is poor in the rooms for reading. Breakfast is excellent, with a big choice. Pack up breakfast was awful - no drink, butter but nothing to put it on, and limp lettuce in bland sandwiches. Lovely comfortable rooms, very pleasant reception area. Pools were good, although water too cold to swim in outdoors, and lighting very dim indoors. Our biggest problem was the noise from the live music every night. Not easy getting children to sleep. I also worried that the hotel was right by the road - I could just see a child running straight into the road. Hotel is a short bus ride from a decent beach.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the music as possible - unless you want to join in, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redfibee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret that the Solana Hotel & Spa has not met your overall expectations during your recent stay with us.

Please rest assured that we have taken the time to investigate both the maintenance aspects and the breakfast pack incident with the aim of taking all the necessary measures to avoid a future repeat performance.

While thanking you for having taken the time in sharing your experience, we very much trust that this situation has not tarnished your opinion of the Solana Hotel & Spa and will not hesitate in using our services in the future.

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed at Solana Hotel in Mellieha for 7 days. Great location for touring the island of Malta by bus, also small beach nearby, ferry trip to Gozo from nearby port is a great experience, we went several times, The Solana Hotel is a great place to stay, reasonably priced for the service it offers, we dined most of the time in the Tosca restaurant, found it very competitive with good menu choices, the staff are so friendly & efficient,I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again as we had a most memorable holiday there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

On the 19th of March, we went to Solana for a day day stay. As is the previous stays, the staff made sure we had a very nice relaxing day. The room was clean and everything was in order. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neville183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

How does it feel to be pampered? That's the question you'll ask yourself when you visit the Solana. Service with a smile is the order of the day, be it from a chambermaid, receptionist, barman or any other member of staff. You will always find that someone to have a chat with if you want to but your privacy won't be intruded upon if that's what you're after either. The rooms are spacious and clean and facilities are of an overall high standard. Dining at the Tosca Restaurant is an experience not to be missed. There's a great selection of mouthwatering dishes and prices are very competitive. I'm already planning my next visit and suggest you do the same.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed in this hotel in December 2012 ...top hotel..spotless..great facilities..lovely quiet but beautiful area.
Transport just outside door was really handy and cheap twelve euro for use of bus anywhere on the Island for the week.We went self catering...and the kitchen was one of the best I have come across ,room was really large and beds very comfortable...maid service every day.Our room was to the back of hotel...street rooms were noisy as on a busy street.

Room Tip: to the back of hotel...its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carly43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week from 16/03/2013 with our friends. All the staff were friendly helpful and dealt with any request when made. On arrival the receptionist gave us all the relevant information we required and was polite when answered all questions regarding local services. In the breakfast room the staff were always keen to give us any requests such as fried eggs.... a great choice of items were served, pork sausages and the cakes went down well with our group but the beans didn't help!!!!!. The Tosca restaurant served lovely dishes and the quality was just as good as anywhere else we ate during the week. The fitness area served its purpose and was well looked after - all areas were clean and tidy. We would return to this resort/hotel again.The resort is quite with plenty of choice for eating out and variety. A visit to Gozo on the ferry is both cheap and quick and a must see is xlendi bay. The buses are the best way of seeing Malta however be warned they do fill up quickly and on most journeys we were left standings for a full journey to other parts of Malta. We visited several museums -Classic car at Bugibba, Aviation Museum and Lascara Museum at Valletta all good value for money, I also took a visit in to Malta's International Football Stadium whilst visiting the Aviation Museum. I would also recommend a cruise around the harbour area however make sure you get a good price we paid 8 euros each. We found that the people were friendly and most spoke very good English.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1203 which was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caramac282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,843 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,240 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £56 - £922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing