We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for week in June/July. Had a wonderful stay! The hotel is well kept, clean and is brilliantly located. It's a long down hill walk to the beach but worth the fantastic views on the way! You can get a bus there and back though. So many restaurants to choose from in the hotel complex and surrounding area.

Buses are available to all over the island from here so it's a great place to base yourself if you want to be away from the busy area's of malta. Mdina and Valetta are a must see! Great places to eat at St Julians Bay. Warning about the buses! They look like new buses but are very squeaky and noisy! And way too hot when the air-con breaks down! Also a very bumpy ride, drivers drive way too fast on sometimes very narrow roads! But it all adds to the Malta experience!!

We requested a room at the back of the hotel after reading reviews. Good move as it's much quieter. A few nights a week they have entertainment which can be heard in your room but if you want absolute silence, pick a boring hotel with no entertainment! Our room was spacious and more than adequate for our stay. Luckily no problems with the bathroom like some other guests! Room was cleaned everyday. Cleaning staff are very friendly and happy people! We managed to leave our key card in the room one day and as we were in hysterics over this one of the cleaners on his break went and got his master key to let us back in! Thank you! Shame I didn't get his name!!

Make sure you try out the spa! It's fab and well deserved when on holiday! Print out your free hydro massage voucher on this site! They do great offers and the ladies are are brilliant at what they do!

We only had breakfast here which was good. Basic and did the job. I don't understand all the negative reviews about breakfast choice! It's baking hot, how much do you want to eat!!!

Lastly a mention of the friendly, extremely helpful, happy and brilliant staff!! Ariana, Ekaterina, Joseph at reception/front of house, Amanda the duty manager, the staff at breakfast (didn't get their names but they were so happy first thing in the morning!) and also Abir and her therapists in the Spa! Apologies if I spelt any names incorrectly! I can't express in words how helpful ALL the staff are! Didn't come across anyone who was rude or unhelpful. They truly are an asset to the hotel!

Ok one more thing! I left a review about the hotel in the comments box at reception and received a lovely letter of thanx from Ariana! Thank you so much for that, such a lovely gesture!

I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Malta!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you don't want to hear the buses and traffic outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loves-trips2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted at reading such a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time and posting it on TripAdvisor.

Our outstanding Team is definitely one of the assets The Solana Hotel & Spa prides itself on and indeed a major contributor to our esteemed guests’ unforgettable holiday experiences. We are so very grateful for your taking the time in remembering many of us as undoubtedly such favourable feedback helps each of us get a boost in constantly aiming in further improving our overall customer experience.

While thanking you once again, we very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Solana Hotel & Spa in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    755
    236
    73
    47
See reviews for
525
1,092
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked this hotel as my other half"s son was getting married and this is where they choose.
It was a lovely hotel all staff were very friendly indeed and our room was very nice, big and had a mini kitchen too which was unexpected. As a couple or group of single's i would recommend this hotel. As a family with younger children like us who has a 2 year old i wouldn't only because the main road was just outside the hotel and the bar area is the reception so my 2 year old just kept on trying to get through the doors also the pool area had steps going down and up and not much room around the pool with the sunbeds so you can imagine we was always on tender hooks!! My dad came out to babysit and he thoroughly enjoyed himself and will be going back for a longer stay.
We will when our little boy is a bit older.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sonia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so very happy to hear that you had a very welcoming stay and that we shall have the honour of welcoming your Dad anytime soon!

Malta is getting more and more popular as a wedding destination and we do hope you have enjoyed every minute of this very special occasion. It is indeed a challenge to travel with little ones and yes, the Solana Hotel & Spa’s main entrance is indeed located over a busy street. Should you consider returning to Malta anytime soon, perhaps you may wish to consider our sister hotel, the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa. It is located only a stone’s throw away from the Solana Hotel & Spa and its self catering units together with other amenities such as two kiddies pool and a kiddies room located adjacent to the main dining room, may proof to be more ideal for a family with a toddler.

Whilst thanking you for having chosen us in the first place, we remain

Yours Sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fgura, Malta
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Solana Hotel, Mellieha from the 12th July to the 14th July 2013 and I describe it as relaxing and wonderful.
We checked in at midday and were told by the receptionist that we could have our room until 3pm. The receptionist explained that we could leave out luggage in the luggage room and use the hotel facilities until our room is ready. We decided to have some lunch in the roof top cafeteria just near the pool. We went in our room and we were given a very nice room but the balcony was an internal one and it was not to our liking. We would have preferred a room with a street view. So we contacted reception to state that if it was possible if our room could be changed, Joseph at reception was really helpful where he talked to Amanda, the duty Manager, and they told us that they will do everything possible to find us a room as we requested. A few minutes later Joseph the receptionist phoned our room and told us that they were going to change our room to a room with a street view balcony just as we wanted.
We were on half board and the breakfast was good and there were various items to choose from and the the dinner was on buffet basis and a great variety everyday.
The decor and cleanliness of the hotel is very good and it was very modern.
We had a massage and a hydro massage bath while we where there and all the staff were really helpful in making you feel at home and relaxed. The spa Harmonique which is found in the hotel is a very quiet and relaxing place and I would recommend all guests to use the spa facilities while they are staying in the hotel.

The only thing that was a bit negative is that the channels on the tv is very limited to only 8 channels and there are no channels for children.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you found your recent weekend break with us relaxing and wonderful; we would like to thank you for sharing these kind words on TripAdvisor.

Our entire Team takes pride in offering top notch customer experiences and we are very pleased to note that thanks to this you felt very much at home!

We very much there will be future opportunities when to once again welcome you back on board!

Warm Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed for a week in a Junior Suite from 25th June 2013. We were on Bed and Breakfast and were accompanied by our 17 year old son. Hotel staff were all friendly and efficient. Breakfast buffet was extensive and had something for everyone. Free wifi in reception area if required. There are a range of good restaurants surrounding the hotel. We ate in a different one every night. Can recommend Guiseppes as the best. Bus stops right outside the hotel but only if you put your hand out! Beach not far away but best to catch the bus steep hill on way back and bus day ticket is only 2.6 euros. Pool area was quiet and no need to bag a sunbed plenty to go round. Joseph on reception and Kathy in the bar are excellent. Rooms were clean and well equipped. If you read all the negative reviews on here they are either nit picking or chose the wrong hotel. Do get an inside room as the road is noisy at the front, nothing the hotel can do about that. Don't come to Mellieha if you want nightlife it is much quieter than Bugibba and Qawra which is why we selected it. Would happily return to the Solana.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent experience with us at The Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor.

We truly appreciate your kind words and we are very pleased that you’ve enjoyed your holiday and the many culinary delights both in and outside the hotel.

Joseph and Kathy, together with the rest of the Team are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

got back from are first trip to Malta.When arriving was met by Joseph on reception who was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The solana great place to stay the food in the hotel is very good and lots of choose from. The cleaners work very work hard to keeping it very clean every day and they are friendly.It is good base to stay to explore Malta which is a wonderful place and i will go back and i would stay at at the solana again and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Our sincerest thanks for these wonderful words on TripAdvisor recounting your stay with us at The Solana Hotel & Spa.

Our Team, especially Joseph and all the Housekeeping Team, really appreciate this glowing validation of their efforts, in constantly aiming that our esteemed guests have the best possible holiday experience.

We are very happy to have contributed in such a positive way to your first trip to Malta and we hope to be part of many, many more holidays to come!

Warm Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is lovely and clean and modern. Unfortunately they seem to have struck a deal with a language school and the ramblers association, teams of both hunting in packs and crowding the small reception walk through area blocking other guests and waiting aimlessly for their instructions and in the case of the young teenage students also running round the hotel and causing a loud nuisance for other guests. Because of this we will be looking elsewhere next time. I do feel sorry for the timeshare owners who have to return year after year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank 978jbee978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very highly saddened at receiving your feedback, following your recent stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa. We continuously aim to not only meet but exceed guest expectations and hence, please do accept our sincerest apologies if we have in any way hindered your overall experience.

The hotel does indeed host leisure groups from time to time and as is common practice, they meet at the main lobby for short periods of time until their transport arrives, but we are unaware that such circumstances may in anyway negatively affect the well being of the individual traveller.

We very much trust that considering you found the hotel to be lovely, clean and modern you will not leave the situation of the reception walk through area tarnishing your impression of the Solana Hotel & Spa. Should you change your opinion and consider staying with us in the future, you are most welcome to contact us directly, where together we will discuss what can contribute to rendering your stay with us as positive as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutjar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was our third visit, and our last one was in 2011. It was very good to be remembered by staff and our room with the valley view was excellent. However......
We saw evidence of cutting back on costs, which was disappointing. For example, there was no chef on hand to cook an omelette or fried egg to order, and the breakfast selection was not as good as last time. Tinned fruit at breakfast is what you expect at a Holiday Inn Express or Premier Inn, not at a hotel like the Solana. We discovered you could get them to special order, but when we did this it was unimpressive - and not what we ordered - hopeless!
When we had to leave early and return late we were very pleased to hear we would have food provided. But our packed breakfast had stale sandwiches and the plated salad in our room on our return was also poor.
The safe charge is a rip-off - although not as outrageous as the wi-fi cost.
But we still love the hotel, the location, and the staff and will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aggie408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that for the third time you have chosen our hotel for your holiday in Malta and that you still plan to return in the future!

We are equally saddened to hear that there are certain aspects that have not met the level of your expectations, as they did in the past. Please rest assured that your feedback did not go unnoticed, and where deemed necessary, relevant action will be undertaken.

While looking forward to hosting you on your fourth stay with us, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing