We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent 5 nights in a Deluxe Suite with Valley Views 2 adults and 2 kids, half-board. Generally the hotel is very clean. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The food is excellent with plenty of choices. Our chef, Carmel Debono, always came over to check if everything was ok. He offered to cook special meals for our kids. A particular mention to our regular waitress Dorothy, she was very kind and friendly.
Overall, we've been happy with the deal and wouldn't mind to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with Valley Views (not overlooking the street) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

It is very encouraging for our Team to read that you had such a wonderful family break at the Solana Hotel & Spa!

We are truly overwhelmed at receiving your feedback and thank you so much for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.

Together with Carmel & Dorothy, we are looking forward to your next visit to Malta and the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Until then, we remain,


Yours truly

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 2,291 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Overall a great place to stay in a superb location, staff are very friendly and helpful which is important. the general feel of the place is good and the rooms comfortable and air conditioned. the only two downsides were that the pool and spa are far too cold and they charge a fortune for wifi in your room which in most parts of the world is now standard. The wifi issues will over the next couple of years cause them to lose customers as people don't like to be ripped off.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADR147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your most valuable feedback on your recent stay with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had an overall pleasant stay and enjoyed the renowned hospitality of the Solana Team! We also appreciate your bringing to our attention certain aspects which may not have met your expectations; we strongly believe that it is such feedback what helps us in always bettering the service offered to our customers.

While thanking you for staying with us in the first place, we hope that your future holiday plans will bring you back to Malta and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed over night in mellehia and this was a very pleasant hotel indeed.

great value for money. Very friendly staff.

recommended to anyone wanting a central location in the area.

good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siothchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your review on TripAdvisor following your over night stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for having chosen us in the first place and we hope to welcome you back for a longer stay in the near future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have chosen Solana Hotel and Spa because of its high rate on different resources in Internet. But the reality wasn’t so amazing. We spent there 12 days – from 6th to 18th October 2013. The first disappointing moment was the check-in. It is on 3 p.m. We came at about 1 p.m. And had to wait for about two hours. Our first room (№1411) was rather big, with a nice balcony, the windows facing the street. Everything looked nice except the air conditioner – it started working with a strange roar, but we didn’t mind it. Well, in two days it got out of order, after long debates with the reception two or three repairmen came, tried to fix it, AC worked for 10 minutes and then died again. We had to sleep for two nights without any AC with our balcony door opened (the temperature was about 28-29 degrees above zero). It was really terrible! The worst thing was the noise from buses, cars and others from the street. I could hardly sleep! Our baby didn’t sleep well also. After 4 days we asked the manager to change our room. Thanks God it was done. Our second room was a bit smaller, but the window faced the yard and it was great! The AC worked and it was really wonderful. Though it was too strong… As for the room cleaning it puzzled us in our first room. The towels were changed only if you throw them on the floor. The floor was washed only sometimes. When they changed a sheet in our baby’s bed, they put the toys from it on the dirty floor. They also threw out a magazine that was slightly crushed by the baby and the packing of the toy pyramid. In the second room it was a bit better, but floors were also washed only sometimes. As for the personnel, they managed to bring a baby bed to our second room only after a third reminder. The breakfast was the same all the days and we can’t say it was very tasty. Nevertheless I should mention some positive moments. The swimming pool on the roof is rather nice. The location of the hotel is also not bad. It stays on the main street of Mellieha, so all restaurants and shops are very close. The bus stop is directly in front of the hotel. In our opinion the hotel is no more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancing_Mariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for opting for the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent holiday in Malta and thank you also for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We strive very hard at offering our esteemed guests a positive overall 4-star holiday experience and are very disappointed in learning that in your opinion the hotel would be no more than a 3-star, especially considering the high level of furnishings and amenities located throughout the property.

Please do accept our sincerest apologies for removing the empty packaging and slightly crushed magazine; rest assured that this was done with the best possible intentions. We also very much regret the cooling system malfunction, prior to your room change. Our Team constantly strives hard at minimizing as much as possible any maintenance related occurrences but regretfully, albeit all efforts, unfortunate situations still arise from time to time.

While understanding that you may be hesitant in opting for our hotel during future holidays in Malta, we do sincerely hope you will allow us a second opportunity where we can re-win your trust. Should you indeed consider this, please do not hesitate to contact myself personnally, where I will not only extend to you our most advantageous accommodation package, but will also guide you on the best suited room type for a family, with an infant.

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The room was very good , bathroom size is fine, clean, bed sheets can be better but still decent . Hotel staff are very friendly and it was busy all the time . Excellent location with a lot of restaurants around it

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaza80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your overwhelming feedback!

We are very happy that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back on board in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The staff were excellent, very friendly and willing to help whenever needed, The room we stayed in was an upgrade with balcony which we found to have been slightly disappointing and not really worth the extra 98 euros, don't get me wrong, it was a lovely large room and exceptionally clean but the layout didn't suit us. The table and chairs needed to be moved under a spotlight opposite the kitchenette, the sofa could have fitted across the room in front of the dividing (privacy) curtain, the (old small) TV which we tried to watch on our last night could not be viewed from the sofa plus it turned out to be faulty anyway. Hopefully this was repaired for the next occupant. The balcony was small with a view of some waste ground and no privacy wall separating it from the next one. Food was well presented and plentiful but seemed a little repetitive (fish was delicious). Overall the hotel facilities were very good and we would willingly stay at the Solana again and recommend it to others

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandc900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our and that you were happy with our level of customer service and hotel facilities. Please rest assured that your constructive feedback regarding the room layout did not go unnoticed, and where deemed necessary, relevant action will be undertaken.

While thanking you for staying with us in the first place, the entire Team is looking forward to welcoming you back on board in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Let me start by saying that our trip to Malta was very enjoyable, the weather was beautiful, food was delicious (we didnt eat anything in the hotel), and the people of Malta are welcoming.

The Solana hotel was the only negative of our holiday. From the moment we arrived at reception things didnt look promising. We were given a key card that didnt work and told to go and check the card a further 3 times before they would replace it - customer service is a mixed bag here with some staff smiling and providing good customer service, others seem annoyed you have asked them a question and really should not be in a customer service role.

Moving on from this the standard of the room we had was very poor. Upon entering the room a damp detergent smells greets you. As there are no vents in the room this smell is waiting for you every day.

The television looks like it was one of the computers on space 1999! The matresses are extremely uncomfortable with springs digging into your back - my bed actually had a dip in the matress.

As other guests have mentioned it gets very noisy at night, both from the road and inside the hotel. The walls are poorly insulated so you can hear your neighbours moving around etc.

Free wifi in the lobby area doesnt work - but dont worry the maritim hotel down the road has free wifi you can access without going inside. If you want wifi in your room its 3 euro for and hour i believe - great value!.....

I will upload some pictures to show the standard of the room - 4 star it is not. If you have stayed at a premier inn in the UK you will be bitterly dissapointed at the 4 star claim.

To summarise...the free wifi in the reception doesnt work, the rooms are noisey, smelly and dated, beds are uncomfortable and the staff are hit or miss. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone for any purpose - surely there must be better!?! 4 star I think not....a shabby 2 stars would be generous!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Siriusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very saddened at receiving your feedback, following your sojourn at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

At our hotel we very highly appreciate constructive criticism as we are well aware that such feedback enables us to constantly ameliorate our quality service. On this occassion, albeit several efforts made to investigate aspects mentioned, our records indicate that throughout this last period, none of our in-house guests have brought to our attention, a similar experience. At our hotel we constantly prioritise on guest well-being and where possible aim to address any guest requirements, in a prompt and efficient manner. We apologise if on this ooccassion we have fallen below the quality standards, the Solana Hotel & Spa has long established itself for.

We do not consider it professional to go through each individual aspect mentioned in the review, however should our esteemed TripAdvisor Followers, including yourself personally wish to contact us for further clarification, you are more than welcome to do this, through our hotel contact details.

While thanking you for your time and consideration, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,684 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,003 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £35 - £921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing