We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

we ve just arrived home from the Solana Hotel in malta, as a family of 5 we all had a great time, this hotel was so clean and maids in everyday with fresh towels and a very high standard of cleaning. Food was excellent with many choices, staff friendly and always happy to help. Slight problem with swipe keys appearing not to work at times but easily sorted. The 2 pools/jacuzzi/gym were all immaculate all of the time, and the 2 lifts were very quick!!..Many thanks to all and we will be returning as we visit Malta at least yearly.

Room Tip: Our room was 3 rd floor at the front..no noise problem and sunny room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It is truly gratifying to read that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Solana Hotel & Spa!

We wish to also thank you for your kind comments on our facilities, the service and friendliness of our Team, the high standard of cleaning and on our Food & Beverage offering.

The entire Solana Team is looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Malta and the Solana Hotel & Spa in the future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    754
    236
    73
    47
See reviews for
525
1,092
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was truly a 4* hotel - we have normally found tourist hotels graded as 4* are usually only really a 3* - but this hotel really was a 4* hotel. The rooms are spacious and so was the balcony and the rooms were fitted to a high standard. We found the facilites good - we enjoyed both hotel swimming pools but the one on the roof top was very cold. The view from the roof top sun bathing area is amazing. We found the staff very helpful and approachable. The hotel is close to a great variety of restaurants with different price ranges. The walk to the beach is ok but definitely take the bus back up the hill. The beach is beautiful and the water is so warm that you could stay in all day. We would certainly visit the Solana again as we felt it was of a very high standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your taking the time and sharing your holiday experience with us on TripAdvisor.

It has been an honor and a true pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back on board in the future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in Solana Hotel & Spa in October and had a nice time. Staff was friendly, room was nice and clean. Bathroom was very light and spacious. Hotel is quite close to the beach and just in front of the bus station, so you can easily travel anywhere. We booked a room with double bed but instead received twins (not sure but maybe all beds are twin in such resorts as the same situation happened in another hotel but this time in Tenerife). We booked this room through Expedia and also had a Spa credit which meant that we could use the Jacuzzi for more than half an hour.
Breakfast wasn't really good but you we didn't expect anything for such a cheap price (maybe the fact that we both work in F&B in a 5 * hotel in London made us more attentive to details).
The only thing that made us a bit upset is that we didn't feel safe leaving money in the room! One day we went missing some, although it was only around 5 euros that we left on the table, but we felt like we can't leave any money in our room! Maybe the person thought that was a tip but I don't understand why because every day we were leaving few euros on the bed as a tip.
Apart from this issue we would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AgaB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing with our esteemed TripAdvisor Followers your recent experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased to note that your overall stay was a positive one and that you will not hesitate in recommending us to prospective clients.

Where breakfast is concerned, this in fact includes a selection of hot items, cereals and fruits, as well as different cold cuts and cheeses, fresh bakes, yoghurts, fruit juices and hot beverages, among others. We also offer on request basis, omelets and fried eggs. Our chefs do their utmost to serve a fresh, varied buffet to suit everyone’s palate; we apologise if on this particular occasion we failed to meet your expectations.

We deeply regret the alleged removal of any change; please rest assured that albeit having very strict procedures where security related matters are concerned, we have ensured that our Team is reminded of the pros and cons, should any belongings get missing during the duration of a guest’s stay.

This situation is unfortunately now in the past and cannot be taken back; nonetheless, please do accept our sincerest apologies for the entire misunderstanding.

While thanking you for choosing the Solana Hotel & Spa for your stay in Malta, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel - We stayed here October 28th October to 2nd November. Four of us booked 2 rooms but chose not to upgrade. Check-In was ok but a very slow process. We were given 2 rooms which couldn't have been further away from each other. We were then offered the chance to be closer together and maybe have a balcony if we wanted to upgrade for another £14 per room per night! This seemed to happen to most guests who checked in (even in the sister hotel Pergola when I spoke to people at the welcome meeting), obviously a ploy to get more money which was annoying. Again we said no. After looking at the layout some of rooms with balconies had a view but quite a few are in 'internal risers' where the balcony is in an internal shaft approximately 12' x 6' wide. Lovely Hotel though but very strange layout being 2 buildings joined together with a corridor on level -2. Certain rooms can only be accessed by going to level -2, walking through the corridor and going up to the correct level. Needless to say there were quite a lot of people wandering around really confused until they got their bearings.
The staff in the Hotel are really really lovely, the food excellent (we were 1/2 board), the bar is great with a large choice or drinks which were pretty competitively priced. The indoor pool is great and the outside roof pool nice but freezing, not cold,freezing. There was also a small cafe on the roof which was unfortunately closed (possibly open in peak season?). The hotel was kept really clean but my sisters room on level -1 did get and smell damp at times (hardly surprising beings her window which was touching her ceiling was at foot level on the path outside. Our window was really small and in a corner of the room looking out into a riser. Both rooms were dark but well equipped and comfortable.
Location - The Hotel is a few hundred meters from the church on quite a steep hill. About 1 1/2 mile walk from the beach which is ok but again very steep (sand looks more like cement but if you keep going around the coast a bit there was brown sand). There are lots of restaurants and bars close to the hotel,most on the main road but a few in side streets. The hotel has no problem with people buying food/drinks in the local shops and taking it in which was nice when lazing by the pool. Bus stops are right opposite for the beach and down the road a bit for the other direction and the buses run really frequently. Cost a euro for 1 part way or for about 2 1/2 euros you get a 'day rider' and you can go where you like as often as you like (12 1/2 for a week pass).
Basically, if you stay here you won't or shouldn't be disappointed. They just need to speed up the check-in as their program is obviously pants and stop trying to get people to upgrade for more money.
Would definitely recommend though! It's even entertaining when it rains as the street becomes a river. Watch out for the drivers though, they are all crazy!

Room Tip: Road rooms are noisy. Rooms on lower levels are dark and can be a bit damp. Having a balcony does no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malc_bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

While we thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent holiday experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor, please do accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused at your check-in. Let us immediately assure you and any prospective Guests that it definitely is not our intention to get people to upgrade for monetary purposes. Unfortunately, managing room inventory when occupancies are close to 100% is never an easy feat, very often leaving the organization no opportunity to accommodate similar requests.

Considering that during your stay with us, there were also several positive aspects, we are very much hoping that you will not hesitate in allowing the Solana Hotel & Spa a second opportunity where to fully win your trust.

Should you indeed consider returning, you are more than welcome to contact us directly, where together we can come up with an offer that not only meets your budget, but also fully meets your accommodation expectations.

While thanking you for having chosen us in the first place, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Visited the Solana hotel 17-24 Oct and had a fab time. We were really impressed with the hotel, it was really clean and well kept, the reception staff were all really friendly and very helpful as were the staff at Cafe Puccini. The cafe was great as we were self catering and we enjoyed a lovely English cooked breakfast on a few occasions which were really nice and very filling, kept us going until our evening meal, apart from a few drinks and a cake in between! Everything about the hotel was Fab, I couldn't really fault it apart from having to pay €14 for the safe but it was worth it just to know any valuables were safe and secure. The room was cleaned on a daily basis and we used to put the do not disturb sign on the door so we didn't get disturbed early doors! The lifts were excellent, didn't have to wait long for them. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were lovely even though we didn't use them. The rooftop pool was fab with great views overlooking Mellieha bay and the stunning church, there were plenty of sun beds with different levels to sunbathe on, we used to use the level up from the pool area as it was less busy and it was quiet. Please note the pool wasn't heated and was a tad cold but you soon get used to it after a while! The weather was really kind to us, we had a very sunny and hot week which was lovely and helped us chill out even more so! Mellieha is a lovely place with plenty of restaurants and places to have a drink. I would like to mention the "Ta Kanana" restaurant , we ate there twice and the food was fantastic, I had salmon which was just superb, it melted in my mouth and my husband had a sirloin steak which he said was the best steak he's ever had! Also the "Hilltop" and "L'Amigos" are worth a visit too. Top Tip, buy a weeks bus pass for €12 pp and you can visit anywhere on the Island as many times you want to, we found it useful to get from Mellieha village to the bay as its a steep hill, we also used it on an evening when we went to Bugibba even though on the bus ticket it said it wasn't fir use on some night routes, we hd no problems. All in all we would definitely visit this hotel again and are already planning on going back next October!

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter, away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thoroughly enjoyed reading your review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Your appreciation of our facilities and Team Members is very encouraging and we are happy to note that you had such a ‘fab’ time!

On behalf of the entire Team, it has been a pleasure having you both as our esteemed guests and we look forward to hosting you for many more holidays on the Maltese Islands!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great hotel.
Stayed here for a week in October. The staff were very friendly and helpful.. We had an internal room which was cleaned every day and the hotel itself was spotless. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet and restful holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure in having you refer to our hotel as a ‘Great’ one!

We truly appreciate your taking the time in sharing your favourable experience on TripAdvisor and recommending the hotel to our esteemed prospective guests.

We hope we get to see you again at the Solana Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Grazzi hafna!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel nice and clean staff friendly but that's where it ends
Pool on roof ok but small during our stay the poolside cafe was closed so trek from top floor to reception ,gym equipment poor ,indoor pool small but ok
We went bed and breakfast and this was ok as evening meals at hotel cost 18euros each there are better choices outside hotel
Now to the rooms ,the rooms at the front of the hotel face the road no views at all plus you get the traffic noise and with the bus stop right outside the hotel
We had an internal room the only view was 3 concrete walls when asked to change rooms was told have to wait plus there would be a charge
Would not and will not ever recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to note that you consider the Solana Hotel & Spa to be a nice and clean hotel with friendly staff and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering.

We are however equally saddened to note that our swimming facilities have not exactly met your expectations. Your comment on the indoor pool does in fact leave us perplexed particularly since the actual pool is on the large side, especially when one considers the maximum number of guests the hotel can host, when fully occupied. Where dinner is concerned, the buffet theme nights are indeed priced at €18.00 per person, yet at Front Desk we have a number of offers that our esteemed in-house guests can benefit from, making the price further more advantageous. In alternative to the buffet offering, both the Tosca Pasta, Pizza, Grill and Cafe Puccini serve a well varied menu aimed at not only meeting all taste buds but even one's budget.

While we are aware that momentarily you are of the opinion that you cannot ever recommend our hotel, we still very much hope that in future you may be of a different opinion. Should you ever consider returning to Malta and allowing the Solana Hotel & Spa, a second opportunity, please do not hesitate to contact us directly where we will guide you on the various room types available, that may better suit your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing