We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxing Spa Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing Spa Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Solana Hotel in Mellieha. The hotel is situated in the middle of a rustic town with excellent transport links to the major attractions the island has to offer.

On arrival the modest yet very clean reception area is welcoming as are the staff. The large number of seats available were mainly occupied with older visitors enjoying the free wifi the hotel offers in the lounge while the large TV had Eurosport on to accomodate some of the disgruntle husbands.

We requested a room high up in the hotel with a view away from the road and we were given a room on the ground floor with a view away from the road. Although not perfect, the room was large and comfortable with a quaint little kitchen hidden in the cupboard. If you look at other peoples pics you will see what I mean.

The room was cleaned almost daily and fresh towels provided when needed. As well as the kitchen we had tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of storage space for clothes as well as a small balcony for drying. The ensuite was, again, large and it had a powerful shower which was great.

As we booked self catering we only tried the hotel food once and that was enough. It wasn't bad, but with the wide array of restaurants and eateries Mellieha has to offer I would say you are better off exploring (Bouquet Garni was exceptional and only a small walk away).

The hotel offers a Spa and gym facility however we did not use these I can recommend the indoor heated pool and the jacuzzi which were rarely busy. As it was out of season and not the best weather the rooftop pool was always quiet but well maintained.

The whole stay was pleasant and there was very little to complain about at all. I would recommend a stay at the hotel and if you hear a cheeky Essex accent just go and say hello to Charlotte on the bar, she is welcoming and friendly and takes the time to speak to everyone which is an excellent quality in a member of customer service staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stereophonic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing this extensive review on TripAdvisor, following your holiday with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa. It gives us great pleasure in learning that you had an enjoyable stay and that our Team, Charlotte in particular, has highly contributed towards rendering your stay in a positive experience.

We truly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Solana Hotel & Spa in the future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    750
    233
    73
    47
See reviews for
523
1,082
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have visited this resort and stayed at this hotel several times over the last eighteen months. We have found the facilicities going self catering is very good. The room is spacious with good coooking and fridge to self cater if you want. We have ate at the hotel and it has good food. However, the resort has exceptional local restaurants in the front street from the bay area into the other side of the town. Because of the number of visists we have ate in most of them .
The boquet Garnier being exceptional with L'amegios also very good.
The indoor swimming pool and spa are excellent and the staff attentive and helpfull. Drink prices are a little high for beer either local or English at four euroes and mark up on wines a lot when you can get from supermarket over road. However, it is a hotel and the fact that we will be looking to rebook for March again says how much we love this hotel,resort and Malta.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for once again choosing the Solana Hotel & Spa for your holiday on the Maltese Islands!

It is an honor and a true pleasure to welcome you back, each and every time and are looking forward to your next visit, in March 2014!

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for one week from 29th October 2013 as a family of four.

The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and modern with good Air Con.
The bathroom was modern and spacious.
The third floor balcony was safe for children and large.
The reception Staff were friendly and very welcoming.
The restaurant Staff again were friendly and most helpful.
The cooked and fresh breakfast buffet was both plentiful and delicious
The rooftop pool was spotlessly clean with great sun seats.

Overall a great experience and a hotel which we would recommend without hesitation. The Hotel is child friendly and both our young children loved the experience. The Staff were always informative, helpful and genuinely pleasant (especially Sasha) - well done !

Mellieha is a lovely small town with ample restaurants on Gorg Borg Olivier St, if eating out. If hiring a car, parking near the Hotel is convenient.

This was our second visit to Malta. We would definitely endeavour to stay at the Solana Hotel again if we return.

Room Tip: Great friendly hotel for families with young children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank excelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

It is an absolute pleasure to read your wonderful review; thank you so much for sharing it on TripAdvisor!

We are extremely happy that Sasha, together with the entire Team, managed to supersede your expectations and we very much appreciate your recommendation of the Solana Hotel & Spa to our esteemed Followers.

While thanking you once again, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Malta, Mellieha and the Solana Hotel & Spa, very soon!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

As previous reviews state the staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and the room was big, bright and cleaned every day. I would suggest you make sure you get the room you booked. We booked a studio which states you can sleep 4. We we're given a small dark room with no view and a balcony that looked at brick walls on 3 sides. We were then given a double room which was fine but still not what we booked. Sitting in the reception ( the only place to get internet free wifi) I heard others complaining that the rooms were not what they expected or booked. The breakfast was ok but only ate the evening meal there twice as the food although had some choice was no where near 4 star quality. The salad bar had some lettuce tomato and beans but not the type of ingredients you would expect if you didn't fancy the main meals! My recommendation, yes stay here it's location is good, staff good but stay bed and breakfast as there are better places to eat near by. Parking can be a nightmare at times too if you have a hire car, 45 mins on the high street until 6 pm and after 9 am. You will need to park in the side streets if your lucky as these spaces fill up quick. This hotel is busy so some people must like it! We got it on a deal but if I had payed full price I would have been very disappointed. Would I be back? No thanks there are better 4 star hotels on the island.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your taking the time and sharing with us your feedback, following your stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

At our hotel we constantly strive very hard at offering an overall quality experience to our esteemed guests and since this experience is unfortunately now in the past, we can only apologize for having fallen short of your expectations.

Regretfully, we must admit that your review has somewhat left us perplexed especially since our records indicate that throughout the duration of your stay, once at check-in your originally allocated studio unit was changed with an alternative one overlooking the valley, the feedback you have given our various Team members was always favorable. Where our dinner offering is concerned, as an alternative to the buffet, guests on half board basis have also the option of enjoying a set menu at the Tosca… Pasta, Pizza, Grill, subject to availability. Nonetheless, the dinner buffet offering comprises different meal experiences including a typical Maltese Cuisine Night among others. The selection includes an array of antipasto and cold cuts, soups, selection of pasta, different main courses including fish, poultry and meat served with vegetables and potatoes in season, together with a dessert corner comprising a selection of fresh bakes, cheese board, ice-cream and fruit salad, among others.

While understanding that at this point you may be hesitant in opting for our hotel during future holidays in Malta, we still sincerely hope you will allow us a second opportunity where we can re-win your trust. Should you indeed consider this, please do not hesitate to contact us directly where we shall do our best endeavors in ensuring that your stay with us is as positive as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the size and facilities of our room for the price we paid. Indoor pool was a bonus as it rained one of the days we were there. We ate in the bar and food and service were good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so very happy to receive your rewarding feedback on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your holiday and are now looking forward to welcoming you back to Malta and the Solana Hotel & Spa, anytime in the future!

Best regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We went here in october and it was a lovely stay and great weather. We went bed and breakfast. The room was massive and we had a rooftop view over Mellieha. The indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi were really quiet and most of the time we had it to ourselves! The outdoor area was nice too. The breakfast was fab with a great selection from a cooked breakfast to porridge to even cakes!! The best thing was the cinnamon poached apples would highly recommend trying them. It was a great location and surrounded by other restaurants if you did not fancy using the ones in the hotel. The staff were welcomming and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time and effort you spent to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, following your recent holiday experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

It is indeed pleasing to read your positive impressions of our village, hotel and most of all, our Team! We certainly hope you will get the chance to return to the Maltese Islands and the Solana Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Yours always,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Julians-Malta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have just spend one night stay 19th/20th.Nov.to celebrate my wife birthday in this nice and spotless clean hotel .We realy enjoyed this hotel warm indoor pool .Staff of this hotel was so nice and breakfast and Dinner was so nice too ... We was given a nice room a room with a window and a balcony without a view ... That was what I have payed for ... But for those who may book for longer stay it will be worth to pay that bit more for a room with a balcony with a view. On top of hotel one find a nice small outdoor pool with a big deck area for sunbathers . From top one can admire a very nice view of Mellieha ... Sure I will stay again in this hotel

Room Tip: This is a nice hotel for all those who like spend his stay in Malta ... Those using public transport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSegMrs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very honored to learn of your wonderful birthday celebrations at the Solana Hotel & Spa; thank you for sharing this experience on TripAdvisor.

On behalf of our entire Team, it has been a pleasure having you both as our esteemed guests and we look forward to hosting you for a longer stay in the near future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing