We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Solana. We had a quiet room (with the exception of a talking parrot) away from the road. The room was well furnished with great facilities (kettle, microwave hob, fridge etc...), hotel was in good state with indoor and outdoor pool. Free wifi in the lobby was really useful as well. Definitely would visit again!

Room Tip: Best to request a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are ever so grateful for your overwhelming feedback; we shall look forward to hosting you again at the Solana Hotel & Spa in the near future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    770
    237
    74
    49
See reviews for
534
1,106
97
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in the Solana 30th Dec - 6th Jan. All in all we had a super time and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful although we did have 2 minor moans - the first is that the hot water wasn't hot, particularly early evening and we had to boil kettles to get a bath warm enough. The second gripe was that we were put into a room that looks out onto four walls! we had 2 balconies and both were onto what I can only call an atrium without a roof where four rooms on the same floor overlooked just each other and you had to go onto the balcony and look up several other floors to have any inkling as to what the weather was like!
We found 2 excellent restaurants just over the road which are well worth a visit - El Randi, and L'Amigo and a really nice wine called Citadella not to be missed!
Finally, the bus service is fantastic. We travelled all over the island during the week for just 12 euros each and it is very easy and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirrelcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing with us your feedback, following your stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased to read that overall, you had a super time and that you found our Team to be very friendly and helpful. Having read your review, we have immediately taken necessary steps to try and determine what could have led to hot water shortage as this is definitely not something in line with our standards. Please do accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

While we thank you for having chosen us in the first place, we very much hope that should you decide to return to Malta again in the future, you will not hesitate in once more trusting us with your accommodation.

Kind regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We travel to this lovely hotel every other year generally slightly out of season e.g. June or September and always enjoy a warm welcome. We generally enjoy a studio room and have all the facilities but tend to eat our evening meals in the restaurant as the choice and selection of food is always very good with local dishes to try and more traditional fare for the less adventurous. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and the hotel is comfortable with friendly staff who are there year after year. It is an ideal quiet place on a busy street close to the very good Maltese bus service and shops with a selection of eating places close by.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front main road they can be noisy with traffic early in the morning and late at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting this lovely review on TripAdvisor!

It gives our Team great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as much as you did on previous occasions and we look forward to hosting you for many more years to come.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Solana from the 11th-18th January 2014, we had a lovely stay and we really enjoyed Malta.
The only down side, is the price of the Wi-Fi. Although its free in the lobby its 4 Euros in your room, for an hour, which is a bit excessive.
The staff are really friendly and helpful and the cleaners do an excellent job.

The staff in the bar are also lovely.

Thank you for a lovely holiday, we definitely recommend you to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DietCokeLover1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review of the Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor!

Your rewarding feedback on our excellent Team and the level of cleanliness is highly appreciated and indeed a great source of motivation for us to continue with the pursuit of the highest level of quality service and customer satisfaction for our esteemed guests. Your comments on the Wi-Fi have not gone unnoticed and will be further evaluated.

While thanking you for recommending us and choosing Malta as your holiday destination, we hope that your future holiday plans will bring you back to our Islands and to the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Staff were friendly, rooms clean and issues dealt with promptly although beds are poor quality and slats kept coming out of the base. Restaurant food was reasonably priced. Make sure you pay at reception as we paid for christmas dinner in the restaurant and it was also charged to our room. Breakfast was good. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance so b and b was more than adequate

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patlarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you considered our Team to be helpful and friendly and the hotel to be clean with a good F&B offering. These are in fact all very important factors that we strongly believe in being of uppermost importance in delivering a quality holiday experience to our esteemed guests.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the situation with the beds which will definitely be looked into; where the Christmas dinner is concerned, we truly regret the initial misunderstanding, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We hope you keep on enjoying the Maltese Islands and would take great pride in hosting you once again upon your return.

Kind regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We are two weeks into a six week stay at this lovely hotel. Its our first time in Malta and we didn't know what to expect. So the Solana came as such a lovely surprise. We were met with a welcome drink as we came in the door, and taken to the best hotel room we have ever had. I am slightly disabled, so the fabulously large room we were given in a prime location was beyond my expectations. As mentioned the staff are first class, especially the charming Etienne,who made our first meal so memorable. And the lovely Charlotte behind the bar. We are vegetarians so we are B&B (breakfast is fine with much for veggys) And Etienne adapted the Bellini restaurant food to our taste. We are loving Malta and out hotel, I would call it 5 star. Steve and Viv.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a tremendous pleasure to read your positive review regarding your ongoing stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa; thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

It indeed gives us great pleasure in learning that you are enjoying our renowned hospitality. Thank you also for highlighting the excellent Customer Service skills of our outstanding colleagues Etienne and Charlotte and for validating all our efforts in ensuring your stay remains a memorable one.

We very much hope we will welcome you back to the Solana Hotel & Spa in the near future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel especially for the price. Staff friendly and polite cant do enough for you. . Anything you want just ask. That includes in the restaurant. Lovely spa. Rooms comfortable. Free wifi in reception providing the opportunity for socialising if you want to. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank macmiss55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time and effort you spent to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, following your recent holiday experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

It is indeed a pleasure to read your positive impressions of our hotel and most of all, our Team! We certainly hope you will get the chance to return to the Maltese Islands and the Solana Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Yours always,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,837 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing