We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply great !”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simply great !”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just had a short break at the Solana and can't find anything that wasn't simply great. Cleanliness, service , food and the location are excellent. While there had a small problem, which was easily and promptly solved by the manager Pierre Vella. Thanks. I highly recommend this hotel. Keep it up guys !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caxe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to learn of your excellent short break at the Solana Hotel & Spa and that you do not hesitate in recommending our hotel to our esteemed prospective guests.

On behalf of Pierre and our entire Team, we trust we will have a future opportunity where to welcome you back on board!

Grazzi Hafna!

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    754
    236
    73
    47
See reviews for
525
1,092
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We wanted to stay outside of Valletta for a couple of nights, the location in Mellieha was good. Busses ran right past the hotel (on the main street in Mellieha) and stopped 100 metres away. A Euro store (like a US Dollar Store, but, obviously, everything costs one Euro!) was handy right across the sreet. Many restaurants nearby, try the cafe inside the Maritim Hotel a few blocks down the street, they have fantastic italian ices and cakes!

The hotel was good, nice rooms, with a small and somewhat cramped lobby. The WIFI only worked in the lobby, unless you paid an additional fee. Breakfast buffet was very good, with a somewhat limited variety (we were spoiled by five-star hotel buffets we enjoyed earlier in Valletta!) Spacious and pretty breakfast room, lots of types of bread, yogurt, fruits, etc.

There was a nice looking cafe adjoining the hotel, we passed it up for a meal and dessert elsewhere. The hotel seemed to have a lot of German tourists (usually a sign of a good value!)

We paid €33 for a double with a €15 surcharge for our son, breakfast included. Comfy roll-away bed was provided. A good off-season rate! However, the room was NOT cleaned AT ALL one night; not a problem, but a point to be made. We asked for, and promptly received extra towels.

The nearby church up the street in Mellieha is not to be missed; a very diminutive Sister of the Order graciously showed us around and answered many of our questions; a donation was reluctantly accepted. Part of the cavernous basement is actually dug into underground caves which house the gift shop and a mini-display/museum of some of the local history. Apparently it was also used as a bunker during the frequent WWII Luftwaffe airraids on Malta. Tough little island state, Malta!

Glad we stayed in this little town a half hour north of Valletta--the bus to the ferry to Gozo was conveniently nearby!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimwentzell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your review on TripAdvisor, following your stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for having chosen us in the first place as your home base in the North of our island and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on board in the near future!

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The chance for a quick getaway was definitely rewarded by staying at the Solana. The staff were welcoming from the get go and were certainly professional. I would like to mention Joseph who was truly lovely mainly because he perservered to ensure all my trips and spa treatments were booked within a short space of time. Absolutely fabulous service mixed in with good cheer was shown by him. As for the dining at Bellinis I would like to mention Chef Carmen who made such hearty appetising meals that definitely had a lot of love put in the preparation and on the plates. Superb mixture of healthy dishes for sure. Overall a great hotel location that deserves more custom. So I will be recommending highly. Until the next time :0)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyUKescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time and effort you spent to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, following your recent holiday experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

It is a pleasure to read your positive impressions of our hotel and most especially your feedback on our Team! Together with Joseph and Carmel, we certainly hope you will indeed get the chance to return to the Solana Hotel & Spa very soon.

Yours always,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived very late at the Solana and were given a first floor room 1313 at the front of the hotel, it was a lovely room and we'd been there an hour before I realised we'd been giveen a twin room not the studio for 2-4 that I'd booked, decided to sort it out in the morning....a very long nights with little sleep as the ferry buses run all night and due to the buildings on the narrow street the noise echoes....first thing next morning It was agreed that we'd move to a room at the back of the hotel, later on that day we were in room 1403 a 2/4 studio so a little more space a good balcony and quiet, the rest of the week was very comfortable. We had a couple of minor problems, no adaptor for the toaster, a noisy fridge and a tricky bathroom door but these were dealt with quickly and efficiently. The indoor pool was lovely very clean and warm, warmer in fact than the jacuzzi! we only had snacks and breakfast a couple of times in the hotel as we preferred to try the numerous cafes and restaurants in the area, what we tried was good and the full english breakfast at the cafe Puccini in the hotel lobby was excellent and very good value for money! The only complaint I'd voice is that the rooms overlooking the street are too noisy and a little thought to the hotel layout may cut a large number of complaints.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel, the rooms at the front are very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinribsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your taking the time and sharing your holiday experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Your appreciation of our facilities and Team is very encouraging and we are happy to note that, after your initial room move, you had an overall enjoyable stay.

Should your future holiday plans bring you back to Malta and you wish to once again consider the Solana Hotel & Spa, please do not hesitate to contact us directly where we will guide you on the various room types available, with the aim of assisting you in identifying the room type that best suits your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I really like a hotel but i can give only 2 stars (the 4 star type hotel need bigger standard) room very clean, they change towel and tide up everyday - brilliant job. Big 4 minuses - 1. Free internet working only in lobby and is very poor- waiting for mail so long . 2 Swimming pool inside to cold and not so clean.3 the gym have very dangerous and old staff - better not used. 3 in room you got a kitchen ( cost 7Euro per day if you used - not for 4 star hotel) . But all the staff was very friendly - and in the future i will visit them again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafal761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your accommodation experience in Malta, and we appreciate your sharing your views on your experience with us.

While assuring you that the various aspects mentioned in this review were well investigated, we also wish to assure our TripAdvisor Followers, that the Solana Hotel & Spa not only prides itself on delivering a high quality service, as is well documented in the majority of reviews, but it also has in place very stringent health and safety policies that are practised on a continuous basis.

Considering that you really liked the hotel and were happy with the level of housekeeping and the friendliness of our Team, we truly hope there will be another opportunity when to welcome you back on board!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Solano. We had room 1204 on the ground floor. Very dark room . We had a balcony, but we're unable to use it as it was overlooking an inside court yard with a very noisy air conditioning unit which turned on and off 24/7. Beds where very uncomfortable and pillows flat as a pancake. We chose a self catering room as I was on a budget. The cooking unit was adequate. No free wi fi in bedrooms, We had to buy 6 meal vouchers in exchange for free wi-fi. Meals in the buffet restaurant were not edible, eg seafood risotto was all rice with one piece of squid, fish was overlooked. Rooms were clean and tidy. TV only showed one English program (Fox). Most of the Staff were friendly and polite(especially Mandy).

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you consider the Solana Hotel & Spa to be a clean hotel with friendly and polite staff.

Our Team appreciates all sort of constructive criticism as this helps us to continue ameliorate the quality of service and product offering. At the Solana Hotel & Spa, we constantly aim at offering our esteemed guests a quality holiday experience and hence, please rest assured that we have taken it into our stride to evaluate your feedback, with the aim of taking any necessary action, when deemed necessary. It is also worth highlighting that while Wi-Fi in the rooms is indeed against a small charge, guests are most welcome to make use of the free Wi-Fi available in the lobby area.

While thanking you again for providing us with this valuable feedback, we hope to be able to re-gain your trust and host you again in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on here and we were most certainly not disappointed.. This hotel is amazingly clean and the staff are very very courtious. Linn was extremely helpful.

This hotel was by far the best thing we experienced in Malta! Although the bus service was also extremely good and very cheap! The only down side were the beds. Which, although fairly comfortable, were just too soft.. This is me being picky so don't worry!

Room Tip: Request room 1510 or 1511.. These are massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are ever so grateful for great feedback on TripAdvisor, following your stay with us. Together with Linn, we shall look forward to hosting you again at the Solana Hotel & Spa, in the near future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing