We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February Birthday Visit”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“February Birthday Visit”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

3rd year in a row. Hope to make it 4 next year. Staff brilliant, good food, good entertainment. Bedrooms need refreshed but otherwise a lovely hotel. Good location for getting around the island. Village has everything at hand.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, the entire Team is extremely appreciative of your loyal custom; it is indeed a true pleasure to welcome you back three years in a row!

We are very proud of your continuous trust in the Solana Hotel & Spa as your home base in Malta and hope you will keep this ‘tradition’, for many years to come!

While thanking you for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor, we remain

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    780
    240
    75
    49
See reviews for
542
1,116
98
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We arrived at around 1.00pm and the hotel was very busy .We were told that the room would not be ready until around 2.00pm but we could check in and leave our bags.We were offered an upgrade at 12-15 euros a night.At this time we hadn't seen our room and had already paid for an upgrade so obviously declined.
We had a pleasant lunch in a local restaurant and returned aroun 2.15pm.The room still wasn't ready but again we were asked if we wanted to see some other rooms with a view to upgrading again at a cost.I repeated that we had already paid for an upgrade and had yet to see the room we had been allocated.
At around 3.15 we were given the room key.Our first impressions were good as it was large and spacious .However,on opening the curtains we realised why we had been offered the upgrade.The outside area which was purportedly a terrace was a small area enclosed by concrete walls at the bottom of a 15-20 foot shaft! A dreary outlook completely devoid of any view or direct sunlight whatsoever.
When I complained at reception I was told that there were no other rooms available as the hotel was fully booked and that they would look at the situation again the following morning when guests had checked out. As we had been travelling since 3.00am we decided to leave it until the
following day.
The next morning I met with the duty manager who was quite adamant that we would not be moved to another room unless we paid the extra 12-15 euros a night. This having already been told that the hotel was full. In other words there were rooms available but only if we would pay. Suffice to say we were very disappointed by the attitude of management who seem to have an explicit policy of 'up selling'.
I made my disappointment and anger clear and left it with the manager to resolve. On the Monday evening as we were at dinner a note had been pushed under the door asking us to meet with the duty manager after breakfast on Tuesday morning, when she offered to move us four days after we arrived.Too little too late.
If you do book this hotel make it perfectly clear in advance, and get confirmation in writing, that you do not want a room with a concrete wall as your outlook particularly as these rooms are awful!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent holiday, and for taking the time to share your valuable opinion with us.

We regret to read that we fell short in meeting your expectations and are equally saddened that we did not get the opportunity to rectify the situation during the duration of your stay. Nonetheless, we wish to take the opportunity in assuring our esteemed prospective Guests that our hotel boasts different room types to accommodate different expectations at, different budgets. We, in fact, constantly aim to deliver what was promised in the original service package purchased and any guests-in-house wishing to upgrade their room type during the duration of their stay can do so at an upgrade charge, but always subject to availability.

While we respect your decision of not considering our hotel during future stays in Malta, we very much hope that you will reconsider this situation and allow us a second opportunity where we can re-win your trust.
Should you indeed consider this, may we suggest that you contact us directly so that while ensuring that the room type booked fully meets your expectations, we will also ensure you will receive our best of quality service throughout.

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed for 5 days in February. The hotel staff were so helpful and approachable and made us feel very welcome. The food!!! Where to start! A really diverse range of foods for every taste. I took more photos of my plate than of Malta itself. The room service was also very good - quick and reasonably priced and lots of food on the plate. (Did I mention the food!)

The indoor pool was lovely and warm and relaxing.

The staff are busy workers keeping the hotel clean and always with a smile.

Room was very good - lovely balcony, comfortable beds, etc.

Couldn't of asked for more.

Room Tip: Always ask if not happy with something as the staff are very good at rectifying any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,


We are very pleased to hear that your overall experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa was a very positive one and we appreciate your taking the time and sharing it on TripAdvisor.

While thanking you for having chosen our hotel in the first place, we shall look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just returned from a 4 week winter break at the excellent Solana Hotel and spa, we did the same trip last year and the very high standards we encountered then were maintained. We felt like royalty on arrival because Ariana, the team leader on reception recognized us in a crowded lobby and waved us to the front, we were given a super large studio with a nice balcony looking over the sometimes busy street below, as usual the room was spotlessly clean and kept the same throughout our stay by the ever smiling Frank and his team of housekeepers. Only one little downside was the beat up old 14inch tv, but a few moments after mentioning this to our new best friend Ariana the maintenance staff were at our door with a new 32 inch widescreen, how good is that.We did get quite a few days of really nice sunshine to sit up on the roof lounging with a cold beer around the super pool, the views from up there are very nice indeed. Full marks, we had a lovely time, thanks to all, Robin & Helen

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a great pleasure to have guests returning to the Solana Hotel & Spa over and over again and we are so very happy to hear that you did indeed have another wonderful stay.

Together with Ariana and Frank, the entire Team is looking forward to your next visit in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa venera
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Went there for an extended weekend break and really enjoyed it. Very nice hotel with nice rooms and clean environment. Food was very good and selection was good too.

I would like to thank all the staff especially Carmelo, Maria, Amanda and Miriam.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your Weekend Break with us; thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

While extending to you our sincerest appreciation for having chosen us in the first place, we very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Solana Hotel & Spa sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

pros and cons
pros.Linn,charlotte & pierre.staff very helpful.charlotte a delight from coffe sop,barmaid,room service delivery girl,the lot and always with a smile...Linn reception always smiling,nothing too much trouble,eager to please major asset..Pierr manager extremely elpful,room wasn't suitable when we arrivd,changed for us immediately and even showed me rooms to choose from..facilities and room lovely,tho don't choose room at back awful view of buildings,recent reviews suggest very noisy at front,untrue it is set yes on a main street in very quiet part of island ,with doors closed I heard nothing at all,,,we ate twice in restaurant,was ok partnr a chef so maybe a bit more fussy,tho 1st night after waiting 4 hours for room as cant get in til after 3 be aware of this when booking flights,after 5 when we got ours,we ordered room service 100 percent black Aberdeen angus beef burger,8 euros,cant go wrong? processed!!! don't advertise as other...spa lovely,roof pool too cold although in summer breathtaking views and nice pool area,reception coffee shop,lovely ,entertainment in form of guitarist couple nights very pleasant,be aware this is a quiet location not any bars offering entertainment etc but not far on bus if you're looking for that.we weren't so very happy and relaxed....now for big con!!! and I stress I feel this is more to do with company policy than hotel.I booked to go to sunday morning market,not wanting to take bank cards or all cash I put in an envelope and seald in drawer,my partner was I room sleeping,the cleaner came to do room and boyfriend went out onto balcony with ipod,when he came back in curtain to balcony had been closed over,when I returned he was back on balcony,i went into drawer to find envelope open bank cards scattered and £150 missing other cash crumpled up in corner of drawer,i think perhaps disturbed when boyfriend came I to make coffee,first port call reception Amanda was on duty and told me to report to police station,3 trips later report done,when pierre came o duty ,e did come up to room and check back of drawers as says sometimes things get stuck,he was genuinely sorry and did write a report for me,but seems hotel policy as I saw did nothing concerning cleaner,accepted no liability and I was just told to claim my insurance,the police told me they would investigate? Nobody appeared and I was there a further 5 days..so do not leave anything lying and its 14 euros a week for safe and ten euro deposit..all in all I wouldn't return,,it is nice but sorry no responsibility,apology,good will gesture what so ever,,again stress I think company policy as have several hotels on island,rather than staff....which spoils the whole experience.

Room Tip: I would say front is better,and def top floor if u get room -2 I spa floor don't take like coffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one week in Solana TG that was all. Originally given room at back of reception with no outside space whatsoever.....we were told that was our booking... News to us, anyway we were offered "UPGRADE" for which we paid 108euros!!! This was a family room on other side of reception.... Room cleaning non existent as stain on floor remained for full week & chairs on minute balcony were so dirty we couldn't use them. Towels were only changed on request & kitchen facilities??? Same tea towel for whole week. Quite a few rooms have balconies which have no sun & face brick walls..... Guests should be made aware of this. Would I return to Solana a resounding NO

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, General Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We very highly regret that your recent experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa did not meet your expectations. This situation is regretfully now in the past and cannot be taken back, however, please rest assured that we have still taken the time to investigate and discuss with our head of departments, each aspect mentioned.

Your booking has indeed reached us for a Promo Room, hence the original allocation of an Internal Non Balcony Unit and the eventual offer for an upgrade once you accepted to move into a Family Unit comprising two sets of bathrooms and bedrooms, a kitchenette, an internal court yard and a balcony overlooking the valley. The Solana Hotel & Spa prides itself on very high levels of housekeeping standards, in fact, the majority of reviews on TripAdvisor and the overall rating achieved, are a testimony to this. Please do accept our sincerest apologies if this was not the case, throughout the duration of your stay.

We very much hope that albeit your statement of not considering a return visit in the future, you will still allow us the chance to re-win your trust. Should you indeed consider this, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, where the situation will be discussed in a more profound manner.

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,879 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing