We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a brill time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

we have just returned from spending two weeks at the Solana Hotel and what a wonderful time we had. The hotel was "spot on" it had everything we needed and the staff were so nice and friendly there was always a good morning and a good evening every time we went into the resturant. our room was on the top floor and was very spacious and kept so clean by Sabrina so we would like to say thank to her. the Solana is so central bus stop outside so you could go anywhere on the Island without any hassle.the hotel and all the staff was really lovely and i would recomend anybody going to Malta to give this lovely hotel a try.

Room Tip: we had room 1016 on the top floor it was lovely, there is a lift but we choose to always use the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your overwhelming feedback and your recommendation of the Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor! Our entire Team is looking forward to welcoming you back anytime soon!

Grazzi Hafna!

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 2,294 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having stayed for a month this January in the Solana Hotel both my husband John and I would highly recommend it. We were enormously impressed by the friendly, cheerful, welcoming staff. From housekeeping to reception all staff members were first class.

The Solana is in a great location with bus stops outside the front door and a few hundred metres down the road making easy access to the whole island of Malta. Mellieha is a beautiful village with great walks and many shops and restaurants.

The Hotel provided free wifi in the lobby and wonderful local entertainment most evenings.

The bedroom was spacious and immaculately clean and the pool and gym areas were impeccably maintained.

Food in the Solana was very good and Ta Peter restaurant opposite the Hotel was our favourite.

We will definitely book the Solana when next we return to Malta. As we say here in Ireland Mile Buiochas (a thousand thanks) to all the staff.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and relaxing at the back of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 92Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time in sharing your positive holiday experience, at the Solana Hotel & Spa!

We constantly aim to please and are very happy that you considered the Solana Team to be ‘first class’. We very much hope you can visit us again in the future!

Mile Buiochas from all of us!

Best regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked this last minuet through Thomas Cook,an offer advertised in their window, when I received my conformation it had (promo) written beside the accommodation,When we arrived at the Hotel we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room,it also had a balcony with a sea view.Hotel staff especially waitress in Puccinis Cafe were very friendly we stayed B&B which was excellent value and delicious.the only difficulty we had was at the beginning of the holiday the different floor levels to get to our room was confusing.apart from that we had a very enjoyable stay,we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are overjoyed at hearing that you were pleasantly surprised with the Solana Hotel & Spa and that you will not hesitate in joining us again in the future.

We very much hope, we will indeed have the honor of hosting you once more, next year!

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Solano hotel is in the middle of the Main Street in Mellieha and is ideally suited to allow you to catch a frequent bus to any part of the island, or indeed the taxi services are right across the street. Again the location makes it easy for you to join the many interesting and exciting trips to a various sites of interest which can be organised by the hotel or local agents. The hotel itself is extremely comfortable, excellent snack bars or restaurants dependent on your mood there is local entertainment most evenings. Staff have the happy pleasant and helpful traits found in the Maltese people, and they and the management clearly take an interest in the welfare of their guests. Highly recommend Malta and this hotel

Room Tip: Street rooms do have the advantage of the interest in the buzz of the Main Street, the in facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your defining Mellieha and the Solana Hotel & Spa as a great place to holiday!

While thanking you in advance, we very much hope we will have the chance to welcome you again, in the future.

Best regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

3rd year in a row. Hope to make it 4 next year. Staff brilliant, good food, good entertainment. Bedrooms need refreshed but otherwise a lovely hotel. Good location for getting around the island. Village has everything at hand.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, the entire Team is extremely appreciative of your loyal custom; it is indeed a true pleasure to welcome you back three years in a row!

We are very proud of your continuous trust in the Solana Hotel & Spa as your home base in Malta and hope you will keep this ‘tradition’, for many years to come!

While thanking you for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor, we remain

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We arrived at around 1.00pm and the hotel was very busy .We were told that the room would not be ready until around 2.00pm but we could check in and leave our bags.We were offered an upgrade at 12-15 euros a night.At this time we hadn't seen our room and had already paid for an upgrade so obviously declined.
We had a pleasant lunch in a local restaurant and returned aroun 2.15pm.The room still wasn't ready but again we were asked if we wanted to see some other rooms with a view to upgrading again at a cost.I repeated that we had already paid for an upgrade and had yet to see the room we had been allocated.
At around 3.15 we were given the room key.Our first impressions were good as it was large and spacious .However,on opening the curtains we realised why we had been offered the upgrade.The outside area which was purportedly a terrace was a small area enclosed by concrete walls at the bottom of a 15-20 foot shaft! A dreary outlook completely devoid of any view or direct sunlight whatsoever.
When I complained at reception I was told that there were no other rooms available as the hotel was fully booked and that they would look at the situation again the following morning when guests had checked out. As we had been travelling since 3.00am we decided to leave it until the
following day.
The next morning I met with the duty manager who was quite adamant that we would not be moved to another room unless we paid the extra 12-15 euros a night. This having already been told that the hotel was full. In other words there were rooms available but only if we would pay. Suffice to say we were very disappointed by the attitude of management who seem to have an explicit policy of 'up selling'.
I made my disappointment and anger clear and left it with the manager to resolve. On the Monday evening as we were at dinner a note had been pushed under the door asking us to meet with the duty manager after breakfast on Tuesday morning, when she offered to move us four days after we arrived.Too little too late.
If you do book this hotel make it perfectly clear in advance, and get confirmation in writing, that you do not want a room with a concrete wall as your outlook particularly as these rooms are awful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent holiday, and for taking the time to share your valuable opinion with us.

We regret to read that we fell short in meeting your expectations and are equally saddened that we did not get the opportunity to rectify the situation during the duration of your stay. Nonetheless, we wish to take the opportunity in assuring our esteemed prospective Guests that our hotel boasts different room types to accommodate different expectations at, different budgets. We, in fact, constantly aim to deliver what was promised in the original service package purchased and any guests-in-house wishing to upgrade their room type during the duration of their stay can do so at an upgrade charge, but always subject to availability.

While we respect your decision of not considering our hotel during future stays in Malta, we very much hope that you will reconsider this situation and allow us a second opportunity where we can re-win your trust.
Should you indeed consider this, may we suggest that you contact us directly so that while ensuring that the room type booked fully meets your expectations, we will also ensure you will receive our best of quality service throughout.

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed for 5 days in February. The hotel staff were so helpful and approachable and made us feel very welcome. The food!!! Where to start! A really diverse range of foods for every taste. I took more photos of my plate than of Malta itself. The room service was also very good - quick and reasonably priced and lots of food on the plate. (Did I mention the food!)

The indoor pool was lovely and warm and relaxing.

The staff are busy workers keeping the hotel clean and always with a smile.

Room was very good - lovely balcony, comfortable beds, etc.

Couldn't of asked for more.

Room Tip: Always ask if not happy with something as the staff are very good at rectifying any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodlife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,


We are very pleased to hear that your overall experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa was a very positive one and we appreciate your taking the time and sharing it on TripAdvisor.

While thanking you for having chosen our hotel in the first place, we shall look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,688 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,829 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,011 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £36 - £930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing