We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice touristic hotel”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice touristic hotel”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice filled with many touristic groups. There are 2 swimming pools, one on the roof and one heated in the basement. The room was clean and nice. The views from the rooms are not very spectacular. Some rooms face internal narrow backyard. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sash737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    789
    242
    79
    49
See reviews for
556
1,123
99
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We initially stayed here in 2013 and decided it was ideal for our needs- spacious self catering family room, safe, clean, good location, swimming pools and spa. As it was a really good holiday we decided to return his year too. The price we paid was value for money and we have paid a lot more to stay in hotels for a lot less. I would have no hesitation in staying at the Solana for a 3rd time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chlgibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Our entire Team is so very happy to receive your rewarding feedback on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed another great holiday with us and we hope that we do indeed get the pleasure of hosting you again on your third visit to our Maltese islands!

Best regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here for the last 2 weeks and cannot fault a single moment. The hotel is friendly, efficient, welcoming and clean. The room was huge with a front facing balcony and was more than adequate.
Restaurant foods were delicious. The Bellini for buffet, a different theme most nights or the Pucinni cafe on reception for a hearty snack.

The entertainment was also fun, the guitar man was far better than the piano lady but it's down to musical taste.

The outdoor roof terrace pool was clean but still a little cold. However we still went in and with the sun you warm up and dry off on no time.

We're very sad to leave and can't wait to return. If I could, I would give this more than 5 stars.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Warped-muffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Our entire Team is so very happy to receive your rewarding feedback on TripAdvisor, following your stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed a great holiday with us and likewise, we can’t wait to welcome you back to Malta and the Solana Hotel & Spa, in the future!

Grazzi Hafna!

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our stay at Solana Hotel was lovely. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, they made our stay comfortable. We also visited Pergola Hotel and the staff were very welcoming. I will certainly recommend Solana Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriniWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are ever so grateful for your positive review shared on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us!

Our Team is extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa, and will now look forward to hosting you again, very soon!

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just come back from Malta and our stay at the Solana really made the holiday that much more special . We were made welcome straight away by a friendly receptionist and a welcome drink (thank you Adriana) . Throughout our stay all the staff were very nice I just wish I knew all their names . We stayed on a breakfast and room stay so did not unfortunately get around to using the main restaurants , the breakfast was very nice with a wide selection of choice and again good service by the staff . The room we had was everything you can ask of a hotel room, it was clean and well furnished , small kitchen unit but again everything you would need (besides who wants to cook big meals) Fridge , microwave sink & all utensils. The indoor pool is very nice, unfortunately the roof pool was undergoing some service but I would rather see that than a unmaintained pool anyday . Location of the hotel is perfect , its on the main street of Mellieha but the traffic was never a problem unlike what some people have said . Before we arrived I had asked some questions by email to the hotel and was very impressed that they were all answered very quickly . To some up then , you will not be unhappy with a stay here unless you are over fussy or just like to find something to moan about . We were so happy we are already trying to make plans to hopefully go back in October . And this time intend to make more use of the benefits this hotel has to over .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so very happy to read your absolutely fantastic review, following your recent stay with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa!

Our entire Team takes pride in offering top notch customer experiences and we are very pleased to note that you and your family felt very much at home!

We truly hope, we will indeed welcome you back in October to the Solana Hotel & Spa!

Yours faithfully,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble them. Room 1408 was a good size, but did not have a great view, just looking into another room. Very very noisy in the morning, as the house next door kept birds in the garden, and the dawn chorus consisted of some birds starting to sing and then a parrot seemingly tell them to "shut up" The hotel staff did offer to move us, but we had unpacked and got settled in the room. The cost of the rooms were very cheap, and overall surpassed our expectations

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Colwyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure of ours to read your review and we thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor. Our outstanding Team is definitely one of the assets the Solana Hotel & Spa prides itself on and indeed a major contributor to our esteemed guests’ unforgettable holiday experiences.

We are very pleased that your overall experience with us surpassed your expectations and we now look forward to welcoming you back on board in the future.

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just came back from a week from here. Overall was a good experience in a nice hotel. Was a little bit disapointed with the sleeping arrangements in our room.one of the beds was a sofa bed that was comfortable enough but did seem to have aquired a dusty odour that exasporated a cold I was just recovering from. Would suggest it needs some febreeze or something which I did look for but the nearest I found in the local shops was something called pongeeze for getting rid of the smell of fish so didnt bother. Apart from that the room was pleasant enough and clean with a balcony looking onto the rear, which was fascinating because it looked onto some local gardens and houses all kind of rustic. My wife was made up with the kitchen area in our room with a fridge, hob, microwave etc even though we were half board. And they also replaced the coffee and tea and sugar once it was running low which is nice but unusual. The food was good and some nights very good, but not really much of a kids menu and the kids got a bit fed up with pasta especially when it was accompanied with rabbit. Wish they did either poached or fried eggs for breakfast as well as the scrambled and omlettes they did. There wasnt much in terms of entertainment for families at night. At the weekend there was two singers on and one night in the week they were all quite good but not what kids really enjoy.. Once youve walked round the local area its quite small so with kids need time to kill, so we ended playing cards at night. The pool was only filled part way into our stay which at first annoyed me especially when the receptionist siad it was still quite cold but then once it was filled both my kids dipped toes in and didnt bother so maybe she had a point. The other hotel in the area owned by the same chain the pergola appears tto be more family orientated. But overall a good experience. All the staff were lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing on TripAdvisor your recent experience with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa. We truly appreciate your kind words about our Team and we are very pleased that you’ve had an overall good experience.

At our hotel, we very much welcome constructive criticism and hence wish to assure you that your feedback on the upkeep of the sofa upholstery and other feedback raised, have been taken on board and will be duly evaluated. Where breakfast is concerned, our Breakfast Brigade very gladly caters for fried eggs upon request whereas, during dinner time, we individually cater for young children offering them popular items such as chicken nuggets, pizza, fish fingers, among others.

Where entertainment is concerned, indeed, what we offer at Puccini and the lobby area is not exactly aimed for children, most particularly since this starts after 20:00hrs. Nonetheless, many children still enjoy a nice ice-cream while their parents enjoy the music or even a nice non-alcoholic cocktail that our bar attendants take pride in preparing for our younger ones. The village has also a number of different playgrounds that are open throughout the evening; another opportunity where families can enjoy a stroll following dinner, most particularly in spring and summer time.

While thanking you for choosing us in the first place, we very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board sometime in the future!

Yours sincerely,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,928 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing