We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tony S”
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tony S”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Recently spent a week at this hotel, the staff were all most helpful and courteous . The rooms were very well appointed and kept spotlessly clean each day . There is an excellent roof top sunbathing area with an inviting pool and also bar and catering facilities . The hotel is run to a very high standard , and I look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Our entire Team is so very happy to receive your rewarding feedback on TripAdvisor, following your stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed a great holiday at the Solana Hotel & Spa and are already looking forward to welcoming you back to Malta and our hotel, in the future!

Grazzi Hafna!

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    754
    236
    73
    47
See reviews for
525
1,092
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

spent 7 days at this hotel starting 5th June to 12th June. We were given room 1214 which had a view over the back--- air conditioning units and concrete, however room was very quiet no noise at all and if you were allocated a room at front u were looking over street which is very busy and lots of traffic fumes. so all in all room was ok and it was always spotless, one criticism a chest of drawers would have been useful-- only a desk and bedside units and a wardrobe and two single beds pushed together-- probably no other room for any furniture as room was quite small. Food at buffet restuarant was very average. a bit of a free for all as chef was only there four days out of seven. no fresh fruit out on any day. the seated resturant which you had to book was excellent. staff there went out of their way to make sure you had an excellent dining experience. spa and gym were also excellent. Good location for buses and other cafes and a nicewalk to beach but uphill coming back.What makes this hotel wonderful is the total committment of the staff to go out of their way to make this a pleasant stay. I have not found this anywhere else i have stayed in Malta. A very quiet safe village to walk about in even at night,. All in all a pleasant holiday. Do visit the WW2 bunkers it was very interesting!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue11073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your review on TripAdvisor, following your stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

At our hotel, we very much welcome constructive criticism and hence wish to assure you that your feedback on the bedroom furniture and our breakfast offering, have been taken on board and will be duly evaluated.

Thank you for having chosen us in the first place and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on board in the near future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I must recommend this Hotel. General facilities are excellent and it's location is perfect for local Restaurants. The beach is a 5 minute bus ride away. I guess what makes it for me is the staff, from room cleaner to bar staff and reception, all are extremely helpful and will go out of their way to assist and inform. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the front of the Hotel above the road but found it wasn't noisy so I guess all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

The entire Solana Team is very happy to read that you enjoyed your vacation with us; thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

We certainly hope you will get the chance to return to the Maltese Islands and the Solana Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundsvall, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Thanks for 12 amazing days at the Hotel Solana Spa and for the wonderful hospitality, both at the hotel and the bar at Cafe Puccini.
We felt really cared.
Staff at reception and in the bar was always cheerful, helpful and incredibly nice and polite.
A special thanks to Miriam and Ariana at the reception.
Miriam was an angel when we got in trouble the first night on our sofa bed which was broken
And Charlotte and Szilvia the bar at Cafe Puccini.
Charlotte was absolutely outstanding, exuberant cheerful and accommodating, no matter how busy she had it. Love that girl!
Be extra careful with these girls, they are worth gold for Hotel Solana

Room Tip: We hade an appartment/studio, it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inwi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Likewise, we have not enough words to thank you and tell you how very happy, your sharing your positive experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa, has made us!

Without any doubt whatsoever, Miriam, Ariana, Charlotte, Szilvia and the rest of the Solana Team will gladly welcome you back, anytime soon!

Grazzi Hafna!

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Room was spacious however bed uncomfortable being two single beds joined together which is because there are no double beds at all. No wifi in room. No drinks available by rooftop pool. Indoor pool and fitness area was a hidden gem which was not advertised by staff. Breakfast in morning was a free for all, messy and not well laid out as jams were next to the cold meats, a shortage of bowls and spoons and the chef came every other day. Finally, the room was not cleaned to a satisfactory standard.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank geordieray2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We very highly regret your disappointing experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa. This situation is regretfully now in the past and cannot be taken back, however, please rest assured that we have still taken the time to investigate and discuss with our head of departments, each aspect mentioned.

The Solana Hotel & Spa prides itself on very high levels of housekeeping standards, in fact, the majority of reviews on TripAdvisor and the overall rating achieved, are a testimony to this. Please do accept our sincerest apologies if this was not the case, throughout the duration of your stay.

It is also worth clarifying that our daily breakfast is freshly prepared each and every morning, with our Chefs’ Brigade constantly monitoring the buffet and ensuring the offering remains ample for the full duration of service.

While understanding that the hotel may not have met your expectations, we very much hope you will allow us a second opportunity where we can re-win your trust in the future. Should you indeed consider this option, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, to ensure that this time, your overall experience not only meets, but exceeds your expectations.

Best regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our third time at this hotel and once again it was very good. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Ivan the restaurant manager and Ruby one of the waitresses were excellent. Hotel facilities were great. Pools and terrace clean with comfy sunbeds. Hotel room was a deluxe studio, very clean and good daily maid service. Only issue was the WiFi was a bit patchy and even went off for a couple of days.
Food was excellent at breakfast and dinner. A great choice each day provided by the chefs.
They could do with having a selection of CDs to play in the restaurant as it was the same music every day. Look forward to returning in August.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that your third vacation at our hotel was once again very good and that you will definitely return for yet another stay in August!

Our entire Solana Team, together with Ivan and Ruby, is extremely appreciative of your loyalty and moreover we thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Grazzi hafna and see you soon!

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 11 nights, and had a really good stay. The rom was cleaner than in any hotel we've ever been on. It was even clean under the bed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Bus stops where just outside, so it's very convinient either if you're planning on spending your days around the hotel, or if you want to travel around the whole island.

Room Tip: We had a room on the east side of the new part of the hotel. This was probably the best place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 101Jens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are ever so pleased to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa, and we appreciate your favorable feedback on our location, Team, and level of cleanliness.

While thanking you for having chosen our hotel in the first place, we very much hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back with us sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing