We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just home from a week's stay at the Solana ...and it's probably one of the best holidays we've had abroad . The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble . The rooms are spotless and very spacious , we had a studio with a small kitchenette which provided everything down to a wash cloth & washing up liquid . We were situated on level 3 and had a huge terrace overlooking the Main Street which is bustling during the day but quiet at night especially when patio doors were closed .I would recommend this hotel to anyone , we've stayed in 5star hotels which did not deliver the service that this lovely hotel has mastered .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DONNA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, many thanks for taking the time and sharing your thoughts on the Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. Your overwhelming review is a great validation for our entire Team; your kind comments are very much appreciated.

We are happy to read that our rooms and service met, possibly even exceeded your expectations and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you as our guest again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    750
    233
    72
    47
See reviews for
521
1,082
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My parents celebrated their 60th aniversay by coming back to their home town of Mellieha.

After a special mass at the Sanctuary, we had a wonderful brunch buffet at the Solana Hotel's Banquet Center. The food was amazing, delicious and plentiful. Staff was professional, courteous and most helpful. Amenities were also fantastic as we had some family who needed special access for wheelchairs.

All in all, it was a wonderful and memorable experience!!!! Bravo to the Solana Hotel for a job well done!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing with our esteemed TripAdvisor Followers, your outstanding experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa! It gives us great satisfaction in learning that you have trusted us with such a special celebration.

While extending to you once again, our Team’s best wishes on this unique occasion, we remain

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at the Solana for 10nights from 14th June & wasn't disappointed,staff very friendly & helpful,room was lovely with everything we needed for our self catering holiday.
We had been to Malta before but not to Mellieha,we liked it although it is hilly so if you have mobility problems then this isn't for you,pool area is on the roof with beautiful views & a welcoming breeze.We ate in the restaurant two nights & food & service was excellent,so if your thinking this place might be for you my advise is go for it i think you'll enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: we had a room at rear of hotel so no road noise,we slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spannermanscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your wonderful experience, at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

It is indeed our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our level of customer service, food offering and hotel facilities.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mellieha and the Solana Hotel & Spa during any future stays at the Maltese Islands!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

It is a hotel that deserves , in my oppinion, its 4 stars framing; The food is good and plentiful. I was impressed especially by a stew with vegetables, seafood and fish and by their "cheesecake". Among the local specialties I mention sun-dried tomatoes. ( Should be mentioned that I I opted for "half-board").
The room where we were staying, positioned,behind the hotel, was quiet.
It has a mini-kitchen that could be used by those who wanted for a cost of 7 euros /day.
Please note that the hotel is situated at approx. 3-5 minutes by bus from an absolutely beautiful beach with sand, maybe the best beach in Malta. The bus station is in front of the hotel.
Mellieha is a quiet village, with personality, suitable especially for those over 40 years, and for those with small children.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your review on TripAdvisor, following your stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for having chosen us in the first place and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on board in the near future!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our room was at the rear of the main hotel in the new block accessed by a lift to -2 floor followed by a walk through to the new block, up in another lift to floor 0 where we finally found our room. Room was very spacious and clean. Staff very friendly. Would recommend hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room in new block as front of hotel is over looking a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine021155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your taking the time and sharing your holiday experience with us on TripAdvisor.

It has been an honor and a true pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back on board in the future!

Yours truly,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our second visit to the Solana and our first on the time share scheme...we took two weeks this year and had a room at the back on the side (having requested this as we knew from our previous visit that the rooms at the front are noisy due to the road outside. There are no really good views from hotel rooms but this is entirely compensated for by the position; the facilities and the staff. Food at the hotel isn't bad...not great but a generally good standard with lots of choice. The restaurant La Tosca however is excellent and we enjoyed the food and the lovely service from Jessica each evening and Etienne too. Charlotte in the bar was great too. And the maintenance department were swift to resolve a minor issue on our first day..within 30 mins of speaking to reception...thankyou. The roof top pool and the wonderful vista that you can enjoy from there is brilliant and the indoor pool and spa facilities are great too. Shops and restaurants abound just outside the hotel...Debbie's café becoming a firm favourite for delicious cakes and coffee ....and access to the rest of the island is easy and cheap (6.50 euros a week bus pass; 1.50 a day) although at some times in the day you may find yourself becoming rather too intimate with a total stranger whilst standing very close together on a crowded bus!! Getting to Gozo couldn't be easier...an 8.30am bus right outside the hotel got us to the ferry and onto the 9.00am crossing with buses immediately available to take you to the main town Victoria...simple and very enjoyable. To summarise the Solana is in an excellent location; gives great attention to customer care and makes you and your custom feel valued....friendly and fun....see you next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or on the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SecondSoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure of ours to read your review and we thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your second holiday with us and that you consider the Solana Hotel & Spa to be a friendly and fun hotel, with great attention to detail and top notch Customer Service.

Charlotte, Jessica, Etienne and our entire Team are looking very forward for 2015 so that once again, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a second stay at the Solana, along with family (I recommend the hotel to them and they too had a great time) we spent time around the hotel
, bar, restaurant where we had meals, drinks, all the food was excellent, this place has a good atmosphere its clan, all the staff I came in to contact with were polite and friendly, Amanda the Duty Manager is a credit to the hotel, you feel valued as a customer, Charlotte in the bar, again gave us excellent customer service, rooms clean, studio has a self contained kitchen, good bathroom, water hot, air con worked ( not always the case at a more expensive hotel down the road beginning with M) NOW THE MANAGER THERE COULD LEARN A THING OR TWO FROM AMANDA! The Solana is on a busy street, however, the advantage is shops banks restaurants are right on the door step, and people watching is free! Walk down the hill ( past the hotel beginning with M) and you will find the prettiest church square , sit in the shade and relax. See you in September, Solana, and thanks for helping to make a great holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincerest appreciation for this wonderful feedback, recounting your stay with us at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

Our Team, especially Amanda and Charlotte, really appreciate this glowing validation of their efforts, in constantly aiming that our esteemed guests have the best possible holiday experience.

We are very happy to have contributed in such a positive way to your second vacation with us, and we hope to be part of many, many more holidays to come!

Warm Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Property: Solana Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing