We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We have stayed at this hotel several times now & i have to say we thoroughly enjoyed it again .
The Spa and the New restaurant additions are Great.

The Tosca restaurant is fantastic the Chef and all the staff have to be congratulated this was a Fantastic evening for the whole Family .

The staff from the Cleaners to the Managers are there to help with anything at all no matter how small the problem, 5 Star's all round

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macca26567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,837 - 1,843 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

Room was spacious, air conditioned and spotlessly clean. Staff friendly and efficient (except bar and poolside cafe staff who were very slow). We stayed half board and I'm glad we did. Food (buffet style) was of a good standard, plenty of it, always red hot and tasty. Excellent variety on breakfast buffet. Rooftop pool has great views. Poolside is very small and gets crowded. Pool is small, shallow and heavily chlorinated but again spotlessly clean and welcoming. You need to get the bus to the beach but they are cheap and regular (if a little rickety!). The hotel is on a steep main road but has bars, restaurants, a post office, HSBC, supermarket, chemist etc - all very convenient. A surprisingly good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We arrived at this lovely Hotel around midday and was expecting to be hanging around for 2hrs as we were told could not enter room until 2pm, but to our delight we were given key straight away, just what need after a long journey. Our room was in the newly built side of the hotel which was a bit of a trek, in a lift, walk across connecting bridge and in another lift, but the room was long and spacious, modern and clean nice bathroom with bath and shower, the room itself had lots of cupboard space with fridge and A/C was lovely we had 3 beds in the room and still plenty of space. We had a large balcony which was nice. The only down sides to me was the room was a little dark and no mirror over dressing table, had to use bathroom which is a bit of a pain if anyone else in family in shower as mirror gets steamed up and a couple of days the beds were made but did not clean bathroom round or leave extra tea and coffee. For breakfast had very good choices cereal, waffles, cheese and hams, fruit, cooked, bread, cakes and pastries, juice, tea, coffee, good service. On a Saturday and Wednesday night their is a singer/guitarist in the Hotel lobby which is very pleasant when having a drink. The Local resturants were very good suited to all tastes. The road which Solana is on can get quite busy, not much parking but we managed to get parked on side streets round back with ease. BEWARE Timeshare sellers at bars on way to beach even if you are staying at the hotel they try to get you in, no such thing as a free lunch!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REBEL-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We have just returned from 2 weeks in the Solana Hotel, Mellieha. Good points first - the hotel is very nice, well presented, good facilities and ideally located in the centre of Mellieha town. In particular, the roof top pool is lovely, with good views and plenty of space around the pool. The surrounding area is very nice, with a few good restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Mellieha Bay is about a 15 minute walk down the hill and buses towards here and Valletta stop right outside the hotel. We stayed in a Studio Room and it was very nice - small kitchen area, clean bathroom and a big balcony. Towels were changed most days. Breakfast was included in the room price and was adequate with a lot of choice. We ate in the hotel restuarant once and the food was very nice, although we felt it was a bit overpriced. We had a drink at the hotel bar a couple of times and it was fine.

Not so good points - we arrived at the Solana late on a Saturday evening. When we went to check in, we were informed by the reception staff that there was no room available for us and that we were being transferred to the Pergola, which is the Solana's sister hotel (just around the corner). When we expressed displeasure about this the man at reception seemed extremely suprised. We asked to speak to the duty manager who informed us that there was a "maintenance problem" with the room. It became apparent that we had no choice but to move to the Pergola, where we stayed for one night. I had asked the night receptionist at the Pergola to have the duty manager contact us first thing in the morning, which he did not - we had to go to the reception to find him. Initially we were told there were no rooms at the Solana, however after much arguing (and absolutely no apology or reasonable explanation) we were eventually upgraded to a studio room at the Solana (had booked a twin room). At this point I have to point out that I think this only happened because he realised we were not going to go quietly! (NB - the Pergola is a perfectly nice hotel and appeared to have good facilities, our room was certainly nice and the pool looked nice too, however the Solana was much nicer and was the hotel that we had booked). Despite this initial blip, the hotel staff then went out of their way to compensate for the problems we had had - they put a bottle of wine in our room and gave us a complimentary dinner in the hotel restuarant. A note of advice - during our stay we witnessed at least 2 parties being told at reception that they were moving to the Pergola - this seems to be a common occurrence.
Other points - while the hotel is very nice, the service is general is unfriendly, particularly at the hotel bar. We also had problems ordering room service - the menu gives a selection of soups, burgers, pastas and sandwiches, however when we tried to order one day we were told that all we could have at that time were baguettes. (We did eventually manage to get what we wanted but again, the staff seemed suprised that we weren't happy!). The same goes for the poolside restaurant - despite offering the same menu as the room service when we tried to eat there one day we could only have paninis.
The hotel's pool is very nice and was quiet for the most part of our holiday. However, the Solana appears to play host to a large group of English Language School students from various parts of the world in the summer, and they descended on the pool each afternoon and pretty much took over. They were also very noisy around the hotel.

Despite the negative points, the Solana is a lovely hotel and we would both recommend it and stay there again. Our advice to people booking the Solana would be to phone in advance of arrival to ensure your room is available and to make use of the local bars and restuarants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALTGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Just returned from one week stay at Solanna Hotel. I must say that this Hotel ticked all the boxes. We consider ourselves to be very fussy people and can easily find fault with many things, however we couldn't find fault with anything at the Solanna. Rooms are of exceptional standard from comfort to cleanliness. Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was also to a high standard with lots of choice. The Solanna is in a quite location with some nice restaurants and is within easy access to the beach by numerous buses that pass the door, also free transport is put on to Paradise Beach. I would definately recommend this hotel. If you are thinking of hiring a car, parking around the hotel can be difficult but there is parking available on the adjacent back streets.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommygunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Booked this through Travel Republic, good value package including Air Malta flights.
Have stayed previously at Maritim hotel further down the street.
Solana is much newer with pleasant decor. Being a smaller hotel the ambience and service in the restaurant was better. Room well furnished, comfortable beds, central location.
As with the Maritim we had a room on the main street which meant we suffered some traffic noise - this was because we sleep with the window open rather than run the air con all night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith_Ulverston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

we stayed at this hotel last year .... was the best ever!!! so much so we will be travelling from Ireland on sat 25th July for a futher 2 weeks with our 12 and 15 year old... these great reviews make us even more excited

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superbllues17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,844 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,240 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £56 - £922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing