We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,542)
Filter reviews
2,542 results
Traveller rating
1,221
869
278
100
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,221
869
278
100
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tosca restaurant rooftop pool the bus self catering sister hotel welcome drink half board lovely hotel studio room steep hill small balcony breakfast and dinner main road hotel is situated great holiday busy road cleaned every day
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 2,542 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ha e loved our visit to the Solana. We arrived at 2 in the morning after a landing during a tropical storm. On arrival a lovely girl Ana talked us through everything clearly and easily with a complimentary drink.
Pool is great on the rrof with stunning views.
Breakfast is great with plenty on offer either continental or traditional English.
Rooms are very well equipped and very clean.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank nigelrbriggs1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having shared with us such a positive feedback and for having chosen the Solana Hotel as your home away from home in Malta.

We are extremely pleased to read that the food quality of our Bellini Restaurant, the level of cleanliness and comfort of our room, together with the breath-taking view our guests can enjoy from the rooftop pool Topdeck made your stay a memorable one. Also let me show our appreciation for your comments regarding the professional and caring assistance provided by Ana at the Front Desk; she is indeed a great asset to our Hotel and her natural caring attitude makes all the difference.

It will be our pleasure in having the opportunity to welcome you back once again at the Solana for another wonderful sojourn in Mellieħa.

Best Regards,

Francesco Giampieri
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has its good and bad points.
Good - reception area, bar and pool have been recently renovated so they’re nice and new.
Although on a main road the village is fairly quiet with restaurants closing at 11pm so it’s not too busy.
Mellieha is a nice area, not too built up like Sliema. Also had a nice beach at the bottom of the hill.
Staff are friendly and helpful.

Bad - the renovation works are still going on (mid October), so we were woken up from 7am with drilling nearly every morning! Also, the spa isn’t finished so don’t expect to use that.
The fire alarm went off one morning at 5am. We didn’t get an apology, even a note through our door would have been ok.
Our room, although it had a balcony as described, it was blocked off by a wall so was dark and was very small. We also noticed mourse / rat droppings out there which weren’t cleaned away all week.
Our bed sheets weren’t changed all week but we were given fresh towels daily.
The rooms have been renovated so have a nice new floor and bed. But the rest of the furniture and bathroom could do with being updated.
The hotel is at the top of a very big hill. I had read it was on a hill / bank but didn’t realise the size of this hill! You can get the bus or walk for 20 minutes. I wouldn’t recommend this walk for anyone in a wheelchair or with mobility issues.
There are a couple of nice restaurants close by, not many though! There’s also a very handy supermarket just across the road.
I’d recommend this hotel if you’re happy going places throughout the day but it’s not that ideal if you want a relaxing pool hotel. Would recommend visiting Valletta, Mdina, Blue Grotto, Hagar Qim temples and just down the road - Mellieha church and WW2 bunkers are interesting! I’d definitely recommend Mellieha over other resorts. I felt the other resorts were too touristy and built up for me.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank vickie_allport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen Malta and the Solana Hotel for your recent holidays.

We are pleased to read that you have overall enjoyed your accommodation with us and we appreciate both the recommendations made and equally the constructive feedback put forward as these valuable comments help us immensely in understanding our guests' needs and expectations while encouraging us to keep ameliorating our level of product and service.

May your holiday plans bring you back to Malta and to the Solana Hotel, where we confirm that we will undoubtedly ensure that your next experience with us, exceeds the standards of your recent visit.

Wishing you a pleasant remaining 2018.

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel. Good location. 25 minutes walk from the beach, but it’s easy by bus. Hotelroom big , clean and quiet. We had Breakfast and dinner, food was great, good selection, good quality. Really enjoyed it when sitting on the terrace. Swimmingpool and bar on the roof was amazing. Staff is supernice.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank SNora1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having shared your review following your stay at the Solana Hotel.

It is a big pleasure to read your kind comments and that our team met and exceeded your expectations.

It is of vital importance for us to make the experience of our guests the most comfortable possible together with the friendliest service. We want the Solana to be "your home away from home" and thanks to beautiful feedbacks, such as yours, we realize we are on the right way.

Should your travel plan brings you back to Malta, please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any travel arrangements.

Sincere Regards,

Francesco Giampieri
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We upgraded to balcony rooms on arrival. These are well equipped and spacious. The common areas are comfortable and inviting. Ana,P at reception, is a major asset and seems to keep the front of house going. Breakfast is good, wife variety. Swimming pool is lovely and has a marvellous view. Housekeeping is a bit hot and miss with things like replacing towels, replenishing supplies but rooms very clean - beds comfortable.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Allow us in thanking you for having taken the time to share your review and for having chosen the Solana Hotel during your recent sojourn in Malta.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the comfort and facilities our rooms offer as well as the recently renovated Lounge and rooftop pool. As you well mentioned, from there, our guests can enjoy one of the most "marvellous" views over the Mediterranean Sea and the picturesque village of Mellieħa. Your kind comments on the Front Desk Agent, Ana, are much appreciated as she is indeed a great asset to our Team and her care and attention to our guests' needs make all the difference.

Contents of your review with regards to Housekeeping service are well noted and we are pleased to read that you found our room cleanliness and comfort to be of a high standard.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Francesco Giampieri
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Our stay was 10 days which i took a chance on when i booked. Seeing as its a 4* Hotel I thought it was a fairly safe choice. 99% of the staff are lovely, helpful and hardworking. 1 member of staff dropped a glass, then ignored the glass on the floor that shattered. 2 guests then trod on the glass and complained to the bar.
Some time later a nember of housekeeping appeared (far too late) but the person who dropped it failed to safeguard its guests who could be wearing flip flops or worse bare feet.
Were still puzzled why the bar lady didnt act swiftly. This has affected our rating.
I will ditto the remarks of a earlier review about smoke drifting into the reception area. Its disgusting. Fit a fan to blow the air out of the door or move the smoking area from the reception entrance. It is 2018, not 1970.
On the smoking subject, the firealarm has gone off 5 times during our stay. Once at 5.00am and many people scurried in nightwear down the stairs. This was a smoker and 'we were told'. Ok, in the UK we take firealarms seriously. The terrible Grenfell Tragedy has made people more aware of the danger. People who break rules should be penalised. €50 first time, then €100...they will get the message.
5 times in 10 days is terrible. These persons have no respect for others.
The breakfasts were pretty good, one negative was the machine nescafe free coffee...pretty much like you get in an office vending machine. Suggestion: Before breakfast, pay for a real coffee at the bar, then go eat.
Evening buffet was pretty good. But not brilliant for vegetarians. A pizza, omelette pasta or cheese salad is not imaginative.
Reminder: 4* Hotel right.
The desk staff were really helpful.
We recommend getting the tallinja 'explore' unlimited bus pass available from the newsagents down the hill. They also sell UK newspapers issued sameday.
The pass costs €21.00 a single bus journey is €2.00 so for explorers its a big saving.
Suggestion2: buy water and fresh milk for your room across the road ( 50 meters up hill) at the Grocers.
The milk portions run out quickly.
The pool is small and cold. The sea is much warmer. Try the Spa at the sister Hotel. There is still renovation taking place (13th Oct) youll see workers around the hotel. We paid for a room upgrade away from the noisy road. Well worth it.
Our room has been renovated but not to UK standards. We heard people complaining of leaks and even the reception desk has a towel soaking up drips from somewhere. The hotel would suit someone who's mobile, looking to get out and about and not spend time in the Hotel. There are very limited options in the hotel if it rains. Theres limited seating in reception or its your room. Theres no games room or general lounge area which you might expect with 4*.
Its a good hour into Valletta on the bus, tough journey without a seat. Handy for Gozo though as the ferry port is 10mins bus away. The buses are frequent but not suitable for the infirm as tbe drivers dont have time to hang around. With a few changes it could be a cracking hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 350mickp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel during your recent sojourn in Mellieħa and for having taken the time to share your comments with our fellow travellers.

We are extremely disappointed in reading that you stay with us may not have been as pleasant and enjoyable as per our usual standards and we wish to apologize for any arising matters that could have hindered your overall experience.

Unusual situations such as the ones you reported about the broken glass are handled very seriously by the Management. Health & Safety of our guests is the top priority and we will be investigating further on the matter you brought to our attention, in order to avoid such occurrences in repeating themselves in the future.

Allow us to clarify that regarding to the fire alarm situation and smoking policy, we do not have any record of the 5 evacuation alarms being activated in one single week. As you mentioned, there was un unlucky episode in which one of our guests was actually smoking in his own room, contrary to the Hotel policy. The Solana is a non-smoking Hotel and while we take all the necessary steps in avoiding such circumstances, it regretfully happen that few of our guests do not follow the rule and penalty fees are subsequentially applied.

Thanks to constructive criticism such as yours we will persevere in continuing making the necessary tweaks and progressing as the days continue to roll. We therefore assure you that all your comments, well documented above, have been taken into consideration.

I am confident that given an opportunity we will be able to regain your trust in us and provide you the top quality service we are renowned for.

Sincere Regards,

Francesco Giampieri
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews