We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We have just returned from Malta and stayed in the Pergola Hotel. We were greeted by very friendly staff who offered us a luggage room and place to sit whilst waiting for our room. We had a spacious and fully equipped self catering apartment that had everything we needed, including hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel and soap. Our balcony did look onto steps, this did not matter to us as we spend most of our time out and about, but if you do like a good view of the sea/pool, I would recommend specifying the view.

Our room was cleaned daily and we were given fresh towels. The whole hotel was spotless

The hotel has two outdoor pools, one by the bar in the cave and another more quiet one and also an indoor pool, jacuzzi and gym. All were very clean and well equipped and we and our children spent a lot of time here! We holidayed in May so regularly had the pool to ourselves!

The beach is at the bottom of the hill and although you can walk, its easier to use the buses (particularly back uphill, its very steep!) The buses run often and a week ticket is very cheap and covers all of Malta

We would definitely return to the Pergola if we were to travel back to Malta, and we thoroughly recommend it! Thank you for a lovely week!

Room Tip: Specify the view you would like if you do not want the steps If you struggle with mobility, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your over whelming feedback! It is a great pleasure to hear that we have been successful in rendering your week’s holiday into such a positive experience.

While thanking you once again, we shall look forward to welcoming you back again to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, in the future.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

We rented a very spacious one bedroomed apartment with a fabulous view of the sea and nearby Our Lady's church with its lovely chimes just on top of the hill. Everywhere was spotless, the furnishings of the room and its cleanliness were to a high standard. Great staff and customer service. Don't worry about other reviews that talk about having to walk up hundreds of steps to get to the hotel, there is a lift from street level! However, please be aware that this area of Mellieha is quite hilly, so if you think this may be a problem then it may not be for you. On the plus side fact that the Pergola is set up high gives it the good views.

We stayed on a room only basis, however you can purchase vouchers from reception if you wish to take any meals at the hotel. The food was to a good standard, however, there is such a good selection of restaurants nearby, that the majority of the time we ate out.

I have been to Malta before, however, never in Mellieha, which I really loved. We wanted a quiet relaxing holiday which this area provided even though there were plenty of facilites on the door step.

We travelled around the island using local buses, which are frequent and reliable, I recommend the purchase of a weekly ticket for 12 euros, and can be used as often as you like to anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your over-whelming feedback, following your recent holiday at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa.

As you correctly point out, guests on self-catering basis are given the opportunity of purchasing breakfast or dinner packages at advantageous prices from Front Desk. It is also worth noting that in the Summer months, the Al Fresco outdoor dining venue is open daily serving mouth watering pizzas among other dishes.

While thanking you once more, we trust that our resort will be yet again your choice, during future holidays in Malta!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The staff were really friendly at the Pergola, from the minute we arrived. There is a luggage room available for if you have funny time flights like we did. Our apartment was spacious (we had 2 bathrooms for a 1 bedroom apartment which was an added bonus for 4 of us!) and clean. The hotel itself holds so much character, each lift will take you to a different place - I am sure we did not get to see all of the hotel! The pools were nice, it was quiet as it was May so I would imagine they would be a lot busier during the summer months where you may struggle for a sun bed. To get to the apartment we had to climb about 100 steps! However, one of the staff pointed out on day 4 that there was a lift at the bottom, so our exercise dwindled a bit after that. Brilliant value for money and great facilities, could not fault it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure to hear that you found the team at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa to be really friendly and that overall your stay was a positive one.

While thanking you for having chosen our resort in the first place, we very much trust you will not hesitate in returning back during future holidays in Malta!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This hotel has great facilities and is really quiet in May, we had the smallest of the pools to ourselves all day which was great. The room was pefect and huge with everything you would need and more for a self catering week away, seperate bedroom from the living area which was great and the balcony was huge! however the room was very high up and the wind was really loud and we couldnt sit on the balcony through the day as it was windy and cold but this isnt their fault just note the weather in may might not be great if your planning to stay here, the resturant was disappointing to us the buffet food wasnt to our taste, we found the pasta dishes dry and boring but the staff were very helpful and expressed concern with our issues and appologised that we felt it wasnt as advertised because 18 euros each was alot to pay for an evening buffet that was cold and bland, when we could have had a great meal over the road in the resturants for a better price so we wouldnt recommend the evening food however breakfast was perfect abit of everything, and the room service food was lovley, we had carbonara it was tasty and good value as it was cheaper and better quality than the buffet food.this was our only issue with the hotel as our stay was nice and the staff were always helpful and friendly. i would stay here again but avoid May, maybe in higher season when the wind is lower as this ruined our diving plans.

Room Tip: go self catering,rooms are big and you can buy meal tickets for breakfast and if you walk up the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte5888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience, at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa.

We are glad to hear that the one-bedroom self catering unit that you were accommodated in, has fully met your expectations and that you found our team to be friendly and fully accommodating. Please rest assured that upon raising your concern on dinner both with restaurant team and front desk, we have addressed any matters arising there and then. At the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa we strive hard to ensure we offer our guests an overall quality holiday experience, and we very much regret that the Italian themed buffet dinner, did not meet your expectations.

While May is usually a very good month to travel to Malta especially if you prefer to avoid the very hot weather, this year an element of wind has affected the island for a number of days. July and August are in fact considered as the warmest months but yet May, June, September and October are usually considered as also being great months to travel to Malta. We shall look forward to welcoming you again in the future, when this time we trust that you will be able to enjoy the beautiful diving sites that our island is renown to offer!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Wonderful time here and no complaints from the 4 rooms we had between 11. Plenty space, facilities and clean. Very confusing layout and could do with directional signs along corridors rather than just in the lifts. Food excellent and wide choice available. Pleasant staff couldn't do enough. Ernest was the best entertainment and sang a wide range of songs. A little hike to the nice beach but don't let the hike put you off as a regular bus service available if you wish. Some nice bars and restaurants in the village but if you are looking for a buzzing nightlife, don't come here. We made our own excellent entertainment in the hotel or at the nearby bars. If booking the bus tours, do through the hotel to get the City Sightseeing rather than the Sunseekers who were extremely rude! Would I go again? Yes however there are plenty more places to see!

Room Tip: Depends on who you are with. Families could go round the little pool. Personally I preferred the bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa has played an important role in making your friend Jo’s Hen Party, a success!

While thanking you for having chosen our resort in the first place, may we take the opportunity in wishing the beautiful bride-to-be all the very best for her forthcoming marriage!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed here with a group of women for 4 nights. The hotel is nice and clean, as are the pools. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful, especially Steve in the restaurant who couldn't do enough for us! It is a fairly quiet resort so if you are looking for lots of nightlife I suggest you look elsewhere. However, we did have a thoroughly enjoyable time at the Pergola and met some lovely people. Some of the girls used the spa and enjoyed it, it does seem to be quite good value and there are also plenty of trips available to other parts of the island.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racheal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you and your friends have enjoyed your recent stay within the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, and we appreciate that you have shared this positive holiday experience with all of us tripadvisor followers.

While thanking you for having chosen our hotel for your holiday accommodation, we now hope to welcome you and your friends back, for plenty more visits in the future!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Spent 10 lovely days in Mellieha in May, visiting friends in the village. Such a convenient location for us. This is our second time at the Pergola and I would thoroughly recommend the Hotel. We were on a half board basis and the food was excellent. All the staff were very friendly, from Reception to the cleaners. We were in room 80, overlooking the smaller outdoor pool, which was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate and kept very clean. On our last trip we had a self catering apartment and we were spoilt having more space. Takes a little time to get used to all different lifts due to the layout but had a few laughs getting lost. Although we had half board there are lots of nice eating places in the village. The buses can be a little unpredictable at the moment due to Road works in Mellieha Bay, so if you can walk to the BelleView Bus Station just at the entrance of the village by the roundabout it could be easier 2.60euros for a day tripper bus ticket.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the 'Cave Bar' have wonderful views of the Church and Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your first experience at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa and have recently returned for a second visit. You have very kindly highlighted the friendliness of our team and the quality of the food offered during breakfast and dinner, which we are sure that they were key factors in making your stay with us, so enjoyable, throughout both stays.

We hope to be able to welcome you again for a third visit in the not too distant future!

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,012 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £23 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing