We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Visited the Pergola hotel for a few days a couple of months ago and found the facilities to be very good for the price. The outdoor pool and cave bar are a fantastic place to spend the day and the bartender is incredibly good! Did not get the chance to try the food at the hotel but we visited a wonderful restaurant at the bottom of the dreaded stairs that was recommended by a staff member. The spa treatments were very reasonably priced and incredibly relaxing.
However, my one concern was the quality of the room itself. Despite being a very clean room, the tap water ran yellow on the first day and one of the beds was broken. There were no kitchen facilities and we had to go out and buy plates and cutlery. The room was in no way 4 star quality but the rest of the hote certainly was.
That being said, we were staying in a 'promo room', the cheapest of all options.

Will be returning in a few weeks and looking forward to our stay!

Room Tip: Locate the lifts and the code to the exit door in the hotel so you don't have to walk up and dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had an apartment at the Pergola and it was very good with enough room for seven.
The hotel is a wonderful place of lifts,and the first couple of days are very interesting.
Breakfast is plentiful and varied and the Da Ciccio Cucina restaurant we enjoyed very much,with food prepared by Noel and Albert,and lovely service from Amaris and Marylin.
We all enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gasman1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel. We booked a standard balcony/terrace room on a B&B basis, with a request for a view over the steps as we'd enjoyed that last year. (Obviously requests aren't taken into consideration) checking in we were given room 81B. Luckily from reading reviews on here I remembered that someone had said a 'B' room had a balcony overlooking another balcony. I questioned this & when the receptionist agreed it did, I refused it. She gave us the room next door as she said that was all that was left. This room was very nice, completely refurbished with a lovely turquoise colour scheme. The balcony was huge but it was in between 2 corner balconies (yes that does sound impossible) & had the 'B' room balcony joining the back of it. Therefore it was not private as we were overlooked from all angles also we didnt receive any sun at any time of the day so beach towels only dried in the room over night. Surely it would be better to make rooms 81 A & B into one family room instead of 2 unsuitable rooms. On our 2nd week a school party arrived late at night. The party were in rooms all over our floor & the noise as they were running around banging on each others doors as they found their rooms was alarming & went on for almost 2 hours. Goodness only knows why they werent accommodated in rooms all together away from families. Several times they got rooms wrong & banged on my daughters room at night waking & frightening the children. That said, the school children were very polite to other guests during the day.
The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, Pools, bars & restaurants. The breakfast is delicious & has such a wide variety of food that you never feel bored with your choices. All the staff at the hotel from cleaners to receptionists, maintainance to restaurant staff went out of their way to be friendly & accommodating. Sharon on reception was an absolute gem and James in the restaurant was a pleasure to talk to. We had recommended the Pergola to various members of our family who joined us for the 2nd week of our stay (8 in total came out to us ) & all thoroughly enjoyed their stay & say they'd return. I feel that there should be another way of locking the doors in the family rooms or at least a safety latch out of reach from children, as my 3 year old Grandson opened the door with ease which was concerning as the room he slept in was at the end of the corridor in the room right by the door & my daughter slept on the pull out sofa at the other end of the room. All in all We love this hotel & know that refurbishments are taking place so hopefully these reviews are taken into consideration as they go through the refurbishment process.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank EEWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was surprised to get a room without a window but managed nonetheless. I definitely would not consider this property four-star. But I would say that I got good value for my money with a half-board arrangement. Never tried it before so even if the food was so-so, it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The pergola club can lay claim to possessing one of the worst hotel rooms I have ever seen in my life. When they tried to shoe-horn us into dark cupboard like crypt with a view of the passing public looking back in at you, we didn't know whether to laugh or cry.
After much stressful debate with the unsmiling ice queen on reception, we were allowed to buy another room for an extra wad of Euros. And this one was very nice.
In our experience, the reviews about the breakfast are completely the wrong way round. We found the food to be great and the service not so. The variety of products on offer is so vast that you really can eat a different type of breakfast every day if you want to. Very good.
As the week wore on and we got to know the staff better, they started to come out of their shells and we got most of them to share a laugh or two in the end.
The 'Spa' in the hotel name has got to be there just for comic value. The outside pool was closed for maintenance and the indoor pool and jacuzzi although open, was actually being maintained while people were trying to use it. The gym was also in some sort of transition during our visit and utterly devoid of functioning equipment. Press ups or nothing campers.
I don't like to leave a bad review for anywhere, but the Pergola just doesn't cut it.
We will stay in the Maritim Antonine Hotel just at the bottom of the street next time. They quoted the same price as the Pergola but did so, with a smile.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thipamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your February holiday experience at our hotel. We very highly regret that a number of aspects have not met your expectations and while considering a number of months have now passed since your stay with us and we cannot fully investigate the various aspects, we are in the understanding that you have originally booked an economy room and yet, once in-house, you have expected otherwise.

Where the gym is concerned, indeed throughout February, there was a period where it was being an overhaul. We are very sorry if this aspect has hindered the enjoyment of your stay, however please understand that such works can only be implemented throughout the very low season. The Da Vinci Spa, on the other hand, offers a wide variety of services including traditional body massages, facials, and value for money packages. Bookings can be made through both the Da Vinci Spa itself or through Front Desk on a first come, first served basis.

While thanking you once again, should you change your mind in trusting us with another future stay, please do not hesitate to get back to myself personally where I will not only extend to you our most advantageous accommodation package, but will also ensure quality, hospitality service is offered to you throughout.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed as part of the Scrabble tournament. Clean spacious refurbished room- loving that turquoise look! Decent black out curtains. Not sure that the air con was properly on when we went, but I was given a great floor fan which cooled the room. Buffet was ok, if a bit samey in content, and we also are a couple of times in the new a la carte restaurant on site, which is included in half board packages- either eat from the set menu for free, or €10 off any other menu choices. Staff that were overwhelmingly helpful and charming were Andre ( as always!!- he is the jewel in your staff crown!), Steve from the restaurant, and Gabor and Amaris who worked in the wonderfully atmospheric cave bar. Drinks prices are reasonable, and Gabor makes a great cocktail! I preferred the smaller of the 2 pools when I was there, but both seemed a little murky this time.. I don't think it's a cleaning issue because the hotel is always immaculate, but it's worrying when new people getting in don't see the bottom step! Suggest that may you bring your own lounger towels as they are €5 deposit to rent, and €2.50 cleaning charge if you want them replaced. Overall a great stay and hopefully look forward to seeing you next year!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank decolady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so very pleased to hear that the Scrabble Tournament and your second consecutive stay, have once again been a success! Your review highlights a very positive experience, but likewise we wish to assure you that it was indeed rewarding for us all at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, to have you and your group mates, on board for a number of days throughout May.

We very much hope, we will have you join us again in 2015, if not sooner!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spacious unit with great views towards the church and sea. Well enough equipped kitchen though bedroom was rather small. Situated in a quiet part of town yet very close to shops, restaurants and buses to various parts of the island. Only about 15mins by bus to Gozo ferry and even closer to lovely sandy beach. Live performers in the Cave Bar who provided a good evening's entertainment. All in all a quiet, relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view as many of the rooms overlooked the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure in learning that you found the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa to be a quiet, relaxing place. We truly hope that it will not be long before we once again have the pleasure of your company.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,004 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £22 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing