We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our first visit to Malta, and we loved it; we have just arrived back from a two week stay. We had a lovely apartment, very spacious and clean. Big living room/kitchen, large bathroom and a large bedroom with loads of wardrobe space. The staff were more than helpful, and always very pleasant. Breakfast was great, something for everyone. We didn't have the evening meals as we like to go out to different restaurants. I am sorry that the people who have put negative reviews about this hotel, must just like to moan about the slightest thing. It is a funny lay out, but that just adds charm to the place; you soon get the hang of it. The pools are beautiful, especially the quiet pool on the 1st floor. Snacks at the cave bar were very good as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The walk to the beach is a bit strenuous, but there is a very good bus service just over the bridge from the hotel. Will put reviews on about other things around the area.

Room Tip: We had apartment 207, and it was great. we were near the mid doorway to get to the restaurant for br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazel040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so very happy to hear that the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa played an important role, in your visit to our island. Thank you so much for having chosen us in the first place; we very much hope, there will be future occasions when we can welcome you back on board.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Pergola Hotel is odd. Floor numbers are 0 for the top floor and 7 for the ground floor, with Reception being on 1, it's on the side of the hill but still, floor numbers are usually the other way round. Getting to various parts of the hotel was also odd - not to be tried in a hurry unless you have figured it all out. Lift 3 is the only one that goes to the lowest floor, lifts 2 and 3 don't. It's great that there is a lift from the ground floor (7) to reception (1) as it's a bugger of hill to walk up otherwise!

Well placed in Mellheiha, only a minutes walk to the main street, plenty of restaurants and food shops available. Bear in mind though that Mellieha is a 'village' (or small town) and things do close early.

Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Hotel charges extra for a lot - a key for the safe and for rental of towels, extra euros to launder the them, which I think is odd on both accounts and parking ('under' the hotel, as far as under is from floor 1, restrictred amount of space).

We moved from room 086 as the room was a bit, well, odd really and the bathroom felt cramped, getting out of the mini bath was via a corner as the loo and walls took up all other sides. The balcony overlooked the steps, a view which we are fine with as we can people-watch but as I came down with a cold we decided to see if the upgrade was still available (an extra 14 euros per night, of course). This room was overlooking the pool on level 1 and felt less odd. There was a very long walk round from the pool to the room though, it would be much better to have access from the room to the pool through the balcony. If you decided to jump over the balcony rails make sure you don't slip, it can be dangerous.

One thing that did irritate during the holiday and this was the two single beds that were pushed together to make a double, which we had booked. The single beds weren't even secured, which meant an undignified dump onto the floor on more than one occasion. I doubt that there was a room with a proper double available and, as I was not well, did not want to move rooms again if this was the case.

The pool on floor 1 was nice and very welcome after a hot day sightseeing although not sure what was going on with the other outdoor pool, it's very overlooked by the rooms surrounding it, something I didn't really notice with level 1 pool.

Don't take any notice of the signs around the hotel either. As far as we could tell the bars weren't open apart from the pool one and the snack bar here advertised being open from 11.00 to 23.00 but when we went at 18.15 it wasn't opened and was told they would be open between '18.30 and 19.00, well, 19.00 really'. This didn't help as we wanted a quick dinner before an early night due to a very early departure the next morning. We ended up nipping into town for bakery takeaway, which was delicious and far better value than the snack bar! Also signs for the trip to Sicily didn't specify that you have to speak to Reception and not, what looked like, the trips desk opposite, which was for transfers and car hire only. Lots of signs for themed evenings and dinners but didn't see any evidence of these actually going on, unless they were away from the hotel, in which case it wasn't mentioned.

If you have read this far it may be worth mentioning that the day trip to Sicily is brilliant, apart from the lack of information from the hotel! We were told we were to be picked up at X time by bus and usually you are escorted around by the same vehicle/people. We were picked up by taxi but given no other information, so to avoid this happening to anyone that reads this - you are given a voucher by the hotel that you take to the ticket desk at the port, which they then swap for 'proper' tickets and a boarding pass. Through passport checks (DON'T FORGET YOUR PASSPORTS!!) and onto the catamaran. I believe there was an announcement about coaches and nationalities onboard but missed it as I was asleep. Once on the other side head for the coaches in the car park, show your ticket to the chap at the front, if you are on the wrong one I am sure he will point you in the right direction. Our guide was Nat, very good and very pleasant, and driver Don Georgio, who then do guide you through the rest of the day.

The breakfasts were okay, the continental part of it. The bacon was baked and sausages curled (not sure how this was managed!) and the beans a bit hard. I heard people asking for fried eggs and they were accommodated with no problems at all. The toaster was changed half way through our stay to one that is even slower with tong clamps that I burnt myself on as some numpty had put an empty one back in the very hot toaster part. Cereal and cake also on offer.

There was a cockroach in the bathroom one evening, albeit it looked like it was almost dead.

All in all, there were negative and positive points for the hotel, the staff were great, but there were just irritating little niggles that kind of stops me from gushing about it and made it all feel a bit odd. I would probably stay there again if I had to, but would try and save up a bit more for the Solana (the sister hotel) or the Maritim.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joolz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your extensive review, following your mid-June eight night stay with us! We are glad to hear of the positives, most especially that our Team is great, however, are somewhat concerned to hear of some of the negatives.

The layout of the hotel can indeed cause some confusion if guests do try to compare lift numbers, located at different sections of the property. Our suggestion here is to always refer to our Team for guidance, or else another safe option is to look within the individual lift for directions, rather than to try and memorise floor numbers between one lift journey and another.

We are currently enjoying the very best of Summer weather and hence as venues we have the Bonaventura Restaurant daily serving a buffet breakfast, the Cave Bar open from 11:00hrs onwards serving snacks throughout the day, the Al Fresco serving buffet themed dinners every evening, whereas Da Ciccio Cucina is also open for salads, pasta, grills and mouth-watering pizzas from 18:00hrs onwards, every single evening.

We very much hope that your holidays abroad will once again bring you back to our island and that albeit the little niggles, you will still trust us with a future stay. Should you indeed consider this, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, where as a return client, you will not only enjoy an advantageous accommodation package, but we will also ensure your stay with us is a very positive experience throughout.

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our first time in Malta and going by some of the reviews I was beginng to wonder what we had let ourselves in for but we were pleasantly surprised I must say We had a room over looking the pool (room 82) which was a sun trap in the morning. Breakfast very good, evening meal not so good everything a bit samey and most evenings very spicy which did not suit my husband. Staff very helpful and offered to do something plain if nothing on the menu to his taste. We stayed for 10 days and absolutley loved it. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and could not fault it. We will definately be going back next year. The complaint is we had to wait 3 hours when we arrived because are room was not ready but worth the wait.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are ever so pleased to hear that your stay with us at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa and your overall first experience of Malta, were indeed a pleasant surprise. At our hotel, we each do our very utmost to go out of our way to meet guests' expectations and are very happy to note that this was indeed the case when your husband was offered an alternative during dinner!

While trusting that this was not your first and last stay with us, we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on board anytime soon!

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in an apartment for 3 nights with my wife and toddler. Staff were very accommodating, providing us with a baby cot and meeting all of our other requests. The room is very comfortable with cooking facilities and a big fridge. There was also a lovely balcony with a beautiful view of Mellieha and Gozo in the distance. There are two outdoor pools as well as an indoor pool, so the fact that the hotel is up the hill away from the beach is not a problem. We rented a car so it was easy enough to get down to the beach, and there is plenty of parking outside of the hotel. Overall we were very happy here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan_knapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure in learning that you and your family were very happy, during your short break with us at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa. We are also very glad to hear that the self-catering amenities have served their purpose most particularly considering that your child is still a toddler.

Thank you so much for having chosen us in the first place and trust it will not be long before we can welcome you back on board.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I had a week here at the beginning of June. The hotel is clean & spacious , with 3 pools - the outdoor facilities tend to be chilly!. We had room 202 which had a great view of both the pool area & the surrounding countryside. The bed was so large that the bedroom door could not be closed. The shower in the bathroom was powerful & hot water was always available. There was entertainment on a couple of nights- a solo singer & guitar which was very enjoyable. The cocktail menu was varied & reasonable. The breakfast was buffet style , self - service & provided for those wanting bot continental & "full English". A most pleasant stay with helpful staff on reception at all times

Room Tip: always ask for a sea view to ensure you have a good sunny outlook. We had room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Covey-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Your review has really and truly left us speechless! It is such a great pleasure having you describe your experience as an 'oasis of calm'. We can somehow picture you sitting into your well appointed balcony at sunset, enjoying the panoramic views all the way across our sister islands of Comino and Gozo!

We very much hope this will not be your last stay with us and thank you so much for having chosen us in the first place.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel was clean and modern in appearance with good facilities. Staff were polite and helpful.
The hotel is a big maze like with various floors and lifts, but, the directions to our room were clearly explained.
The only downside was our room, which had a small window which opened onto a ventilation shaft and a small glass brick window on the other side. This did make the room seem a little closed in. The room was described as a "Promo Superior Room", which judging by the hotels comments to other reviews is what we got. If we had had a room with a window / balcony / view, it would have been a much more pleasant stay.
The hotel was otherwise clean, had a lovely pool and the food and bar were good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullFonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive review; we appreciate the fact that you originally booked a promo room and that having read the replies we had previously submitted, you did not have any different expectations. Standard twin rooms are very similar to the room you were accommodated in from the interior, but yet feature a balcony or a small terrace.

Considering that you found the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa to be clean, with lovely pool amenities and good food and beverage services, we very much hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on board some time in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The Pergola is a lovely hotel, it was clean and tidy, lots of facilities and the staff were helpful. We booked a standard twin room which was clean, comfortable and had a balcony. The pool areas are great, quite quiet when we visited and the pools themselves are very clean. The cave bar is lovely, especially in the evening with live music. Staff were helpful in assisting with directions, trips away and any other questions we had. Overall, we had a very good stay and would definitely return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Hannah93871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your overwhelming feedback! We are very happy to hear that you had a very positive holiday experience and very much hope that indeed, it will not be long before we will once again have you back on board!

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,316 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £19 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing