We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gret location - ordinary service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gret location - ordinary service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have stayed at the Grand several times on past trips to Gozo and have always found it to be excellent however this trip proved somewhat of a letdown.
On arriving after a long trip from Australia our booking for 8 people had not been recorded correctly and our request for a family room if available had been overlooked - despite the booking being made by telephone by my Maltese speaking husband. After much tooing and froing we eventually got our family room.
All rooms in this hotel are very good and particularly the family rooms which have a lovely big balcony and great view over the harbour.
Coming down the next morning however we were accosted by one of the reception staff who told us that we should have requested a family room when we booked (which we did !) and that we should have booked direct with them (which we also did!) . Her manner was very rude and at no time did she offer any sort of apology when we pointed out the facts - her attitude continued to be that we had done the wrong thing !
On our second night at the hotel we were heading out to dinner when my mother - who was travelling with us- slipped and fell outside the front door. We ended up asking reception to call an ambulance which they did but that was the end of the involvement of the hotel (besides the barman bringing her a bottle of water while we waited for the ambulance which was nice of him).
At no time during our wait for the ambulance did any staff member approach us to ask if she was OK and if there was anything they could do.
Similarly when we returned to the hotel the next day on crutches and very sore - there was no enquiry as to her wellbeing at all! I contrast this to another holiday at a Hilton in Mauritius where my daughter had a paddleboat accident that resulted in her going to hospital and getting lots of stitches. We were phoned several times by management asking how she was and were greeted on arrival back from hospital by a fruit basket in the room.
I am not asking them to fall over themselves but I would have thought that some level of concern is not too much to ask !
This put such a dampener on our stay that I would seriously reconsider staying in this hotel again - I would only be staying there for the location - not the service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    410
    91
    22
    11
See reviews for
162
740
72
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratov
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have arrived quite late and were greeted with a glass of orange juice and felt very welcome.
We paid extra for a sea view with views of Comino and Malta - well worth the money. The beds, pillows and bath robes were luxury. Free Tea & Coffee making facilities and even an ironing board. The room was amazing, size, luxury and comfort, all that we could ask for and more. The view was beautiful with a terrace and deck chairs to help admire and relax. The pool was relaxing and the staff was very helpful and friendly.
As to the meals, we paid Euro 15 per person per day for HB, which was an excellent value, as meals were varied, well presented and always delicious.
All in all, my opinion about this hotel is it's one of the best ones I've been to, and I have travelled quite a bit. Well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We have stayed at the Grand many times and have never before had any complaints. OMG how differant it was this time. On arrivel we were not greeted by the usall friendly faces they seem to have had a complete change of staff. We ocupied 4 rooms our complaints consisted of dripping shower taps, air-conditioning not working, no hot water, 3 year old and mum put in room that
stank of nicotine, insect bites looked like bed bugs ( not mosquitoes ) mini bar empty, room not ready on arrival, breakfast was warm as was tea and coffee. When we complaind at reception they were not helpfull and very slow to put thing right and there seamed a complete lack of comunication beween staff. Gozo is a lovely island and we will visit again but will NOT stay at the Grand.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sharonh805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
The Clients themselves stated that they were not sure if the bites were mosquitos but that a friend told them they were bed bug bites, then later the guests told another member of staff that a pharmacist had been seen and they had been told they were bed bugs.

Due to the seriousness of the complaint we immediately moved the guests to another room and requested our Housekeeping Department to check the room, Housekeeping then confirmed they could find no sign of bed bugs. We then had the pest control representative to come in and check the room, the pest control representative was happy there were no bed bugs in the room. The room was then steam cleaned to ensure it was very clean as is normal procedure with a complaint of this nature.

The Air Conditioning in the room the guests mention was working but only on a low setting, at this time of year the setting should be high enough as it is not hot at night and of course the windows could be opened to let the breeze blow in.

Check In is at 3pm, the rooms are normally ready for the Guests at this time except for unforeseen circumstances.

These guests have visited the Grand Hotel many times. As far as changes at the hotel since these guests last visited us; we have a new receptionist and we have recently brought in a Front Office Manager. These guests booked via a Tour Operator into an internal room which is our budget room level. In this level of room there is no stocked Mini Bar or coffee making facilities but this can be obtained by request at reception at a small charge, there is a note in the room to this effect. We have Superior Sea View, Sea View, Country View and Internal rooms at this hotel, only the Internal rooms do not have a stocked Mini Bar or coffee making facilities. This Guest expected compensation because they were bitten by mosquitoes or some sort of bug, this time of year in Gozo and Malta flies, bugs and mosquitoes are more common than in the warmer months.

On the matter of some of our repeat guests: – if a guest books through a Tour Operator and we are not told by the Tour Operator or Guest by email that they have booked and are a repeating Guest then we are not likely to know. We have 1000’s of guests per year at the Grand Hotel, we always try our best to identify repeater guests as we like to log the information in our system with their present booking as this enables us to look after them better. All our guests are important to us and we always try our utmost to ensure that all guests are catered for whatever their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Ive been to Gozo a few times as i have family there and happily stayed at the Grand each time and had no problems but my god did they make up for it this time. So I'll start with the breakfast, it was a buffet but the food was warm and the tea/coffee was also "just warm". Now the rooms, for the first two days i woke up with bites on my legs but to begin with i thought they were nat bites, however after a trip to the pharmacy i was told they were bed bugs. I told reception and after a while i was upgraded whilst they fumigated the room and our cases. also the mini bar was not stocked. So, i was looking forward to a nice room with no bed bugs, nevertheless they continued to disappoint as instead of everything being perfect (as it should after an incident like that) the Air con didn't work and the tap was dripping non stop. when i complained about this, it wasn't fixed. I was then told that they didn't find bed bugs even though i knew there was. There was just a huge lack of communication between staff, it felt like i was doing there job for them. Had a meeting with the manager as my sister had to change rooms aswell as she had no hot water, so he was very apologetic and said he will speak to the owner and see what compensation they could give us for this dreadful service. so the last day came and went to speak to the manager and he looked at me as if he has never seen me before and didn't remember our conversation. He said our only compensation was that we were upgraded to a better room whilst they got rid of the bed bugs. I will never go back there ever again and would advise everyone to do the same

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
This guest is a family member of the complaint posted on 15th October, they were staying at the Hotel at same time. Therefore please see our review on that complaint. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paddockwood
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

not far from the harbour where the ferrry drops you off, but there is a steep hill to the hotel. We arrivead at the hotel but our room was not ready, but when we got to our room(standard) it was quite big and was very clean. Pool area is also very good quite a sun trap so be aware. Breakfast was ok I have had better. Service in the bar was slow at times but I can recommand the chocolate cake. I would recommand eating out at rexys and having a drink at Pauls bar which is just down the hill from the hotel.
People are nice in gozo service is slow but this is part of the way of life out there.

Room Tip: sea view if you spend alot of time in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiePaddockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

My wife and I have used the facilities of this hotel very often over a number of years. At times we were unable to get a booking as it is very popular and full. The staff, especially in the restaurant are really nice and helpful and go out of their way to help.
The rooms are very comfortable and have often taken a room overlooking the harbor which is ever so pretty. They are equipped with all amenities except tea/coffee making. However, the prices certainly make up for this shortcoming as they are very reasonable and worth sitting out on the patio watching the world go by. The pool area is nice and quiet (summertime only) as is dining up on the roof with the fantastic view all around (summertime only).
The restaurant food is excellent.
We always look forward to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

very good value for money, situated in a beautiful location. welcoming and helpful staff.
Good breakfast. spacious and clean rooms is the cherry on th cake. Been there for carnival and had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiz015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing