We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing break”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A relaxing break”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed at the Grand for a week and found it very relaxing, staff very helpful and reasonably priced. We had a superior room with sea view, well worth the extra we paid, it was a large room overlooking the harbour, very clean and all 'mod cons'. Shampoo, Conditioner, Bath Gel and Body Lotion provided as were robes. Surprisingly an ironing board and iron were provided as well which were very handy! Kettle provided and tea and coffee, enough for 2 cups of each per day, together with fully stocked mini bar. Excellent breakfast buffet provided, continental and full English, fresh and tinned fruit and the baby danish and croissants were wonderful!

Room Tip: The extension wing has harbour views on 6th and 7th floor, unfortunately lift not working to the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    417
    93
    22
    11
See reviews for
163
759
72
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Marais, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We just returned from a trip to Malta, our second trip there. We stayed at the Grand Hotel last time and returned again because of the experience. If you have not been to Gozo, Malta you should look into it. It has become our "Happy Place" when we need to think happy. The Grand Hotel has been a perfect place for us to stay. It is about a half mile from the ferry. The hotel will arrange for a shuttle bus to pick you up and drop you off at the ferry at no charge. The hotel overlooks Mgarr Harbor. From the outside deck of the bar you overlook the harbor, the straits between the three islands, and the main island of Malta as well as the island of Comino. The rooms are large and clean. There is a great bar and lounge with both inside and outside ample seating, and a nice restaurant that all serves breakfast in the morning. It is an easy walk to the harbor where we found a good number of really nice restaurants. There is also good public transportation. There is a bus stop about a block away and a major stop in the harbor. I recommend you use the public transportation. It costs 2.6 euros for an entire day. The buses run at least every hour and are comfortable and convenient. They will get you everywhere you want to go around the island of Gozo. Note, a pass on the island of Malta will not transfer over to the island of Gozo. If you are going to Victoria or any where else on the island I recommend you walk down to the bus stop at the ferry as it is just a little longer walk but you will get to sit down. If you go to the nearest bus stop instead of walking down to the ferry all the passengers from the ferry will get on first and you will have to stand all the way to Victoria. Anyway, the hotel is comfortable, quiet, and has all the amenities I look for in a hotel. The staff is polite and helpful. I really can't think of anything I would want that I didn't get there so I am giving it all 5 stars.

Room Tip: I would not bother getting a room with a view. The bar and the outside lounge give you great views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhnorthshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed a week and really enjoyed both the peace of the island and the comfort of the hotel. Neither hotel nor the island is flash or glitzy but we were made very welcome, the room was clean, large and had everything, including good wifi, that you would want. Wonderful view of the harbour from the superior rooms. The half board dinners offered plenty of variety and choice. Sat and Sunday were busier with some local families eating...and then there was quite an impressive buffet. Breakfasts had all the usual choices you could expect and it would be easy to eat too much! We would recommend getting a book of walks before leaving UK. We did a number..they were not particularly well signed but, equipped with a bus timetable, the island was all easily acessible and offered everything you could want. A really comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are in new part of the hotel and sea view is definitely worth paying for! No spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We have just returned from a one week stay. We found the hotel lived up to expectations. The bedroom was very comfortable, the staff very friendly and the meals were fantastic. We stayed in a room on the fourth floor near a very relaxing swimming pool. I should imagine floor 5 with a view over the harbour would be very good although we have no moans about our room. We talked to some people who had an upgraded room from ours and they had tea/coffee making facilities, that would be useful. The hotel has a very small gym and a cinema which shows up to date films twice a week. We found a super bar which we can recommend for dramatic views out to sea - you need to go left out of the hotel, walk about 100 metres and then follow the cycle sign for about 800metres- bar called Xerri L-Bakkett. The hotel also offer a free 2hour bus trip to Victoria three times a week and a great tour of the Island on a Thursday - however 4 people need to sign up for this for the tour to go ahead. The tour guide made the outing very interesting. We enjoyed the break so much we are seriously considering returning next Easter.

Room Tip: As stated, the fifth floor with a harbour view. Also ask for coffee/tea making if, like us, you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 304Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We booked this hotel for a two night stay for Easter weekend 2013 and got very much less than expected from a four star hotel.

We were placed on the 7th floor in the new block, however the elevator does not work, therefore you have to use the elevator in the old block to the 5th floor them climb two storeys of steps. Same on the way down. We were offered help with carrying the luggage though, which is not enough sorry.

Moreover the way to the room is strange as the main door is situated in some sort of outdoor common area....all this means....way to your room #759 - enter old block, elevator 5th floor, walk to the old block, 2 soreys stairs, walk to the outside common area (cold and windy), arrive at main door room#759.

The bath, sink and shower in our room all leaked, you would end of with a puddle in the bathroom. I noticed that the shower was not fitted correctly and there was a gap between the cubicle and the wall.

Moreover the bath is a jacuzzi type bath with water jets, however when we asked the reception how it worked they asked for a Euro 5 per day charge to use it.

3 light bulbs in our room were burnt, which we did not bother reporting, the tea/coffee making facilities in the room were present however the packed milk was expired in November 2012 and we visited in March 2013.

Since the hotel offers a free pickup from the ferry terminal, I was informed to call the reception from when boarded the ferry so that they can pick us up, which I did however I was left waiting at the ferry terminal for 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Room #759 had a great view though. Only book this hotel if you are given a room on the 5th floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; you feedback is very valuable to us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your stay not being anything else but fully satisfactory. Naturally, this is not the impression we would want you or indeed any guests to have of the Grand Hotel, Mgarr, Gozo as it does not reflect the high standards of service associated with the hotel.

We are very sorry again that your stay was marred by the elevator not working; this was outside of our control as a part had to be ordered and this took longer to arrive then we had anticipated. The Easter Weekend was very busy so we were unable to move you to a lower floor. The lift is now fully operational however we understand your concern about it not working during your stay and again apologise that it wasn’t working in time for the Easter Weekend.

We take your valued comments on board and have naturally spoken with staff on duty during your stay to discuss the problems you encountered. I see from your comments that you did not report the problems in your room. It is important that Guests let us know of problems to enable us to resolve them as soon as possible.

We are looking into why your wait at the ferry terminal in Gozo was so long as normally our minibus will meet the ferries as they arrive.

May we also take this opportunity to thank you again for your comments for it is only through the feedback of our valued guests that we can maintain and improve upon the high standards of accommodation facilities and service we continuously endeavour to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal Ghaxiak, null, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Excellent accommodation, very good service from all staff and delicious food. Ideal for families with children. The rooms are cosy and very clean. The restaurant is very welcoming and even its catering staff

Room Tip: Obviously sea front rooms are the best for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graziella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Me, my partner and our daughter stayed at this hotel for one night.
Even though the location and the room were great, we experienced a few minor flaws I didn't expect from a hotel like this.
The main issue here is the elevator. They have one elevator serving majority of the hotel. When we arrived and the hotel-staff was going to show us our room it took over 10 minutes before we could finally take the elevator. This caused some akward silence, because the person showing us the hotel/room wasn't one that speaks too much apparently. When we finally managed to take the elevator it took us to the 5th floor. From there we had to walk to the new part of the hotel and since the elevator of the new part was out of service we had to take the stairs up to the 6th floor. For us young people not much of a problem, but I wonder how an elderly couple would have coped with all this walking and the stairs.
The elevator kept being a nuisance all the time we stayed there, we most of the time just gave up and decided to take the stairs. And given the traffic on the stairs, we were not the only ones doing that.
We had a drink in the bar with a colleague of my partner. When getting the second round of drinks, we first told the waiter it could be charged on our room, but later my partners colleague thought it was his turn to pay, so he told the staff he would pay and did so. But when we got the bill when checking out from the hotel it was charged anyway.
The breakfast room is too small for the number of guests, when we got there at 8:45 all tables were taken and we were asked to wait in the bar (together with other people waiting) till a table would come free. We decided not to wait and went back to the room and returned 45 minutes later to see if it was any better. There was still no table free, but at least we were the first to be served. The room was warm and full of people, not the best start of the day. The food was ok, but not great, not what you would expect from a hotel like this. The fruit-salad for example was the kind you get from a can, the sweet stuff with syrup. Not an overwhelming breakfast.
So, we had a nice relaxing stay, but the hotel could do better.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeVriesNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
801 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing