We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hospitality”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is really grand and the services are exceptional. Staff could not be more accommodating and the rooms and facilities are excellent. The sea view is superb. The weather was typical not a cloud in the sky and nice and warm. The hotel food is very good and especially the Thai restaurant. We will definitely by returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms in new wing are great especially on the 7th floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eliza035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Eliza035,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and for sharing it with future travellers.

We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would lke to thank you for your compliments about the service delivered by our staff, hotel facilities and the view from your room. Your comments have been shared with the team. It is our pleasure to learn about your full satisfaction with the Oriental Restaurant.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future, may be you will have the opportunity to visit us during the summer months to enjoy another magnificient food experience at our roof top restuarant - Mediterranean Breeze.

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed just for one night (part of the trip in Gozo) however we managed to enjoy that amazing and relaxing place. We had a room with sea view (Comino and Harbour), near the pool. I loved the design of the room. It was clean, nice and spacious. Service was great; all employees were very open, nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Desira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Desira S,

Thank you for sharing your views about the Grand Hotel.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have managed to provide you with a relaxing time. The hotel team is truly our biggest asset and we sincerely thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all our employees to reflect the hotel's hospitality.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Hi Every Body , Hope every body is Ok
Oh really amazing,relaxing place ,the receptionist helped us in getting a room seaview, really Charmaine & Victoria Deserve a medal of honor,thanks
The Grand Hotel is Grand, stunning, I stayed in room No: 657 during our 2nights on the sixth floor in the newest section with a balcony overlooking the pool below and the harbor, amazing,The room was very well appointed with a large bath and plenty of room for clothes, bags and to simply spread out.Good wifi in my room,Breakfast buffet excellent ,The restaurant staff is very in ethics.The hotel is clean, modern and smart in its decorative appointments.The staff is smooth and accomplished and friendly.If I were once again to visit Gozo,I would schedule at least a couple of days at The Grand hotel,

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SALAH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Salah M,

Thank you for sharing your views and satisfaction with future travellers.

Charmaine and Victoria are truly a reflection of what hospitality is all about. We have passed on your compliments to them.

We thank you for your kind compliments about the service provided by our employees during your stay, the food offerings and our hotel facilities. It is our aim to keep on improving our service and exceed guests' expectations.

Knowing that if you had to visit Gozo again and that the Grand Hotel will be your choice, fills us with pride. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed at The Grand Hotel for a week, a wonderful relaxing place. Our room which overlooked the fantastic view of the harbour, was very spacious and spotlessly clean, robes, shampoo etc. provided. Wi fi in the room worked perfectly. We had a slight problem with a leaking sink that was repaired immediately and with absolutely no fuss. The staff are wonderful, courteous, helpful and not afraid to engage with tourists. Its obviously a place that encourages its staff to make the visitor's stay a memorable one. The food is excellent, there is a wonderful buffet breakfast each morning, and if you stay in to eat in the evening the restaurant will not let you down, I especially recommend the steak, cooked exactly to order. Sometimes we forget that it is the people behind the scene that actually make your stay so comfortable, at The Grand they have perfected this to a fine art!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
2  Thank Patsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Grand Hotel is simply that, Grand! And getting "grander" as they are undergoing expansion. We stayed in two rooms during our four nights, one on the seventh floor in the newest section with a balcony overlooking the pool below and the harbor, likewise below. Tremendous view of the picturesque harbor, Comino island and the "mainland" of Malta across the strait. ( Just try to stop photographing the changing light and scene throughout the day and evening. ) The room was well appointed with a large bath and plenty of room for clothes, bags and to simply spread out. Good wifi reception toward the balcony. The other room on fifth floor in older section was similar though somewhat larger and with a much larger stone balcony with equally spectacular views. Good wifi. Breakfast, included in cost of room, was an expansive buffet and excellent in quality. There is a roomy terrace with tables in the very front of the hotel and a full bar just off reception. The hotel is clean, modern and smart in its decorative appointments.The staff is smooth and accomplished and friendly. The Hop-on/Hop-off tour bus stops at the door. If I were once again to visit Gozo, and even if headed for a beach vacation on Gozo or to a spot of city living in Victoria, I would schedule at least a couple of days at The Grand, if simply for the view.

Room Tip: Take a room with a harbor view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichiganZumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed at the Grand for a week and found it very relaxing, staff very helpful and reasonably priced. We had a superior room with sea view, well worth the extra we paid, it was a large room overlooking the harbour, very clean and all 'mod cons'. Shampoo, Conditioner, Bath Gel and Body Lotion provided as were robes. Surprisingly an ironing board and iron were provided as well which were very handy! Kettle provided and tea and coffee, enough for 2 cups of each per day, together with fully stocked mini bar. Excellent breakfast buffet provided, continental and full English, fresh and tinned fruit and the baby danish and croissants were wonderful!

Room Tip: The extension wing has harbour views on 6th and 7th floor, unfortunately lift not working to the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RubyPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We just returned from a trip to Malta, our second trip there. We stayed at the Grand Hotel last time and returned again because of the experience. If you have not been to Gozo, Malta you should look into it. It has become our "Happy Place" when we need to think happy. The Grand Hotel has been a perfect place for us to stay. It is about a half mile from the ferry. The hotel will arrange for a shuttle bus to pick you up and drop you off at the ferry at no charge. The hotel overlooks Mgarr Harbor. From the outside deck of the bar you overlook the harbor, the straits between the three islands, and the main island of Malta as well as the island of Comino. The rooms are large and clean. There is a great bar and lounge with both inside and outside ample seating, and a nice restaurant that all serves breakfast in the morning. It is an easy walk to the harbor where we found a good number of really nice restaurants. There is also good public transportation. There is a bus stop about a block away and a major stop in the harbor. I recommend you use the public transportation. It costs 2.6 euros for an entire day. The buses run at least every hour and are comfortable and convenient. They will get you everywhere you want to go around the island of Gozo. Note, a pass on the island of Malta will not transfer over to the island of Gozo. If you are going to Victoria or any where else on the island I recommend you walk down to the bus stop at the ferry as it is just a little longer walk but you will get to sit down. If you go to the nearest bus stop instead of walking down to the ferry all the passengers from the ferry will get on first and you will have to stand all the way to Victoria. Anyway, the hotel is comfortable, quiet, and has all the amenities I look for in a hotel. The staff is polite and helpful. I really can't think of anything I would want that I didn't get there so I am giving it all 5 stars.

Room Tip: I would not bother getting a room with a view. The bar and the outside lounge give you great views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mhnorthshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
765 reviews
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
738 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 3 in Sannat
851 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range: £37 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing