We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Hotel - Pros and Cons.”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Pros: After waiting to check in as the hotel was a little backed up on room cleaning, the room was well worth the wait.
Very comfortable bed with soft pillows, towel bath robes, mini bar, continuous hot water, double vanity and large patio with superb day and night view of the harbour.
Excellent buffet breakfast and they even made me a lunch sandwich as I was working all day Sunday at a car race.
Cons: Very limited television channels in English. Although the room service had an extensive menu, the evening dining experience was not what we expected. The Thai restaraunt was limited with little choice of vegitarian dishes and quite expensive.
The main dining menu was also limited and we decided to only have a starter as our main course.
The car park is underfround and the bottom level is not yet completed. The ramp to street level is very steep and one car could not make it and became stuck as his wheels were just spinning. It took four of us to push him up the hill.
OverallI: Would recommend paying a little extra for a de-luxe room which are spacious and well appointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Crazylimey,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel.

We have noted your satisfaction in relation to the accommodation, views and buffet breakfast. These have been shared with the respective departments.
Our hotel provides an extensive list of TV channels in 8 different language including Maltese. For each language we offer an average of four channels and we therefore feel that we do offer very good value in this regard.
Thank you for your comment about the Thai Restaurant. We are currently in the process of revising the menu and will take your comments into perspective.
The ramp from car park to street level is steep since the car park is underground. So far we never encountered such a situation; we will however look into this.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

Convenient located very close to the ferry station, the hotel has great view to the Gozo channel and Malta Island. Very relaxing place. Our room was close to the swimming pool but that's wasn't a problem, though it could be a bad experience with more guests at the hotel. Breakfast was ok but coffee is terrible and they charge you if you ask for an espresso. Rooms were clean and mattress in good condition. 85€ reserving with booking. Maybe a little overpriced.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Fernando H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Fernando H,

Thank you for sharing your review with future travelers.

Indeed the hotel offers great views and is located in a very tranquil environment. We have taken on board your comment about the coffee and although we usually get positive feedback, we will certainly look into it. The hotel offers complimentary coffee and tea with breakfast however there is a charge when one asks for either espresso or cappuccino.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel.

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spend one week at Grand Hotel and didn´t want to leave. We had originally booked an internal room, but decided to upgrade to the seaview room with a terrace, which turned out to be a very ggod idea. The internal room was okay, only problem was that it was just above the kitchen, so there was quit a bit of noise coming from there, therefor we decided the upgrade. It was no problem to upgrade and was 34€ a night to have a great room with a wonderfull view of the Mgarr habour and Comino and Malta. The room was big, bright and spotless and on the large terrace we had two sunchairs and a table and chairs and we spent alot of time just enjoying the sun and looking over the habour. Breakfast was not the most interesting after a week with the same food every day, but for a few days it is fine and good if you enjoy bacon and eggs. All in all our stay was wonderful and we would not hisitate in going back to The Grand Hotel again.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are definitely worth the extra euros. We were on the 4th floor and it was beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Mkorn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share it with future travellers.

The sea view rooms offer a sense of tranquility, peace and truly provide an ideal relaxation time. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and have taken on board your comment about the breakfast served. We would like to thank you for the positive comments about the hotel cleanliness. Your compliments have been shared with our Housekeeping team.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel!

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Weekend break with the girlfriend, in winter. We paid a little extra for a seaview and boy did we get it!  Stunning view, absolutely gorgeous in a clean room, and lovely warm furniture, two armchairs and a coffee table, a little bureau and a spotless bathroom.

The service was rather good, easy to talk to, and the buffet dinner was better then most other (highly regarded) hotels. To be honest we didnt leave the room much because it was simply beautiful.

Recommended for romantic getaways and weekend relaxation breaks but zero nightlife.

Lovely, blissful, relaxing, cheers!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swainus001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Swainus001,

Thank you for sharing your experience with future travellers.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and noted your satisfaction in our food & beverage offerings, hotel service and hotel location. We do pride ourselves in the hospitality we offer and the positive food experience we provide to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel.


Best regards,
Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Have just returned from a week long stay at the Grand Hotel in Mgarr. We stayed in a superior room which was very clean and comfortable. It had a very large balcony, with table and chairs and two sunbeds, which overlooked the busy harbour. Food selections for breakfast were quite varied but we did not eat in the restaurant for evening meals so I cannot comment on that. Staff are suitably helpful but not overly friendly. The hotel is very nice if you want a quiet location - quiet in this case meaning there is not much to do in Mgarr, unless you like watching boats all day. There are just a handful of restaurants and one supermarket (to my knowledge) in the vicinity. I think Mgarr could benefit from having at least one small souvenir shop.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with a large balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0ntepalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Montepalace,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is our pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable time and noted your satisfaction with the hotel cleanliness, service and breakfast experience. Your comments have been shared with our team.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future to our property.

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel and it was a nightmare!
First of all the car park is so shabby, the 2nd floor underground is still under construction with drainage going down the side of the slope, wires and cables everywhere and no steps or working lift to get to the ground floor! Having arrived at 1am there we at least expected to have decent access to the hotel from the car park. On stating this to the receptionist he told us that the lift is only switched on when there is a function! unbelievable... as if we are not paying customers.

Another thing was the unbearable noise from the street. We didnt sleep a wink- we could identify all the cars passing by.
At 4 am I decided to call the reception, perhaps to get our room changed - low and behold nobody answered!

The day after on complaining about the noise to the receptionist, she told us that we should have been informed about this by the receptionist prior to be given the room. Tks alot to the receptionist doing the night duty on the 11th of May (Sat - Sun) for not informing us.

Anyway we were very glad to leave the hotel and never to return again!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dr Maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Dr Maria d,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Grand Hotel.

We understand that your stay with us did not meet your expectations for which we deeply apologise. From your review, we have noted that there was a miscommunication from our end related to the car park lift. The lift in question, is currently not in operation due to technicalities, however we assure you that we do not differentiate between our patrons and always aim to treat each of our guests with the highest quality of hospitality.

We would also like to address the point related to the alleged drainage going down the side of the slope and assure you that this water is deriving from rocks and not drainage. We pride ourselves in strictly adhering to health and safety measures for the well-being of our patrons and all our employees and we also keep records of all inspections from local authorities and audits conducted by third parties to ensure quality standards for our property. Whenever possible such water is captured through the hotel system and is used as second class water and in line with all health and safety measures.

The matter relating to not being able to reach the reception over the phone has been investigated by our technical team so as to identify the issue. Unfortunately we could not trace the record on our PABX system and would be escalating the matter with our supplier to ensure that this situation is rectify immediately.

Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for not managing to meet your expectations during your stay with us. We appreciate if you can contact us directly by email on info@grandhotelmalta.com with your contact details for us to be able to get in contact with you to further discuss this matter.

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I spent two nights in this wonderful hotel. I booked thru booking.com and had asked for a superior room with seaview and balcony. The balconies were quite small, but paying 7 € more per night, I got a wonderful room with a large terrasse overlooking the harbour. I was on halfboard and dinner was delicious. Breakfast was ok. The waiters in the restaurant were extremely friendly and polite.
Nothing much going on in Mgarr, but still a nice place to stay seeing Gozo,

Room Tip: Choose rooms with terrasse and seawiev. It's worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Tina R,

Thank you for taking the time and share your positive experience with future travellers.

The superior rooms offer a huge terrace and the views are indeed magnificent!

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your satisfaction with our food quality. The team in our hotel is a true asset and we thank you for noticing their efforts in ensuring a great experience during your stay with us.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel.

Kind regards,

Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
725 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
836 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range: £40 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing