We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel on a quiet island.”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel on a quiet island.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A very comfortable hotel with helpful & friendly staff. Being located by the ferry port of Mgarr the traffic can be a little busy when the ferries arrive. The food is excellent, the rooms are spotless and the pool area is relaxing. The best rooms are the De-lux sea view rooms being of US size & great views of Comino & mainland Malta. The hotel runs a shuttle service to the Capital & near by beaches there are also plentiful public buses & taxies. The once a week island tour by the hotel is good & goes off the main routes, well worth a try. Don't expect to much from the hotel's free Wi-Fi could not use Facebook & would not send E-mails however the ferry port terminal also has free Wi-Fi by MCA which works OK. A good quiet break in a comfortable hotel well worth a visit.

Room Tip: De-lux sea view rooms on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel.

With regards to your comments about the free WiFi, we are pleased to inform you that contacts have been made to upgrade our WiFi system to a faster and more efficient system thus eliminating the need to purchase the service from a third party provider.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    418
    93
    22
    11
See reviews for
163
760
72
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alcazares
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We booked to stay at the Grand Hotel Gozo for two nights. We so enjoyed our stay there that
we booked an extra night and would have stayed longer if time permitted.
Such a relaxing place to be. From our arrival to our departure it was sheer relaxation and enjoyment.
We will definitely be staying at the Grand Hotel in the future and we will certainly recommended to all our friends.

The food was very good. Normally on holiday we experiment and go and eat in nearby restaurants. This time we ate just hotel food because each time it was excellent.

The restaurant staff were very helpful especially Carmelino who was most attentive at all times.
The reception staff were excellent too.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Depending on your budget you can choose country view or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybird1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stay here if you wish to totaly chill out and are happy to do nothing at all. The hotels treasure is its staff. They are very helpfull, polite and friendly. The chef is a star because the food is very good and always presented nicely. Some nights are buffett and some are menu choice table service. If you like and want entertainment then do not stay here. There is nothing to do day or night. The area is also very quite with one small supermarket being the only shop. A few restaurants which mainly only open in the evening. One or 2 bars but they are traditional bars again they are very quite no music or even large screen T.V. Its a mystery where all the hotel guests dissapear to during the day. The dining room is full at breakfast and dinner times but the pool and surrounding area are deserted. this again is good good if you want to be able to get a sun lounger after 11am. I understand that the hotel has been extended but unfortunately the communal areas havent. There is only one bar with about 4 tables and all though the dining times are staggered you can have to wait for an available table. The lifts are someting else which need to be improved as they very small and can only hold 4 people comfortably with luggage only 2. Would I stay here again? Not before I am 85.

Room Tip: insist on a pool or sea view other wise you will be looking at a brick wall or the bin area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Reviewer

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to you for your review during your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel

Whilst we are pleased to see that your impressions were satisfactory in the main, we have made a special note of the point mentioned which did not meet your approval and immediate action will be taken to rectify this.

Such information is invaluable to the smooth running of our hotel, and our endeavor to provide the highest standards possible. Without the assistance of considerate guests such as yourself, our task would be much more challenging.

May we thank you once again for taking the time to comment.


Sincerely

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Back at the Grand Hotel in Gozo....
It was the third autumn vacation in a row our family spent at the 4-star Grand Hotel, located in Mgarr/Gozo, and it was just like coming home. Members of the staff are the precious treasure of the hotel and they do their utmost to make you feel comfortable and welcome every second. Can’t name all but I would like to single out Natasha at the reception, Carmelino and John at the Restaurant, Frances at the Bar and last but not least George, the warm-hearted shuttle bus driver, who takes you to the best places (Calypso Cave, Ta Pinu Church, Azure Window, Xewkija Rotunda etc.) on his weekly fairly-priced bus tour of Gozo. We booked halfboard and enjoyed dinner creations of chef de cuisine Pissit, who is the Master of Cooking in Western and Asian style, either a la carte or at the buffet. Well-equipped and air-conditioned hotel rooms in various categories are spacious and most of them have a wonderful sea view, others have country view. Free but rather slow internet access in all hotel areas. Faster internet available through local internet provider, though quite costly, upon request at the reception. About two thirds of the guests are from the UK, the remaining third is from Germany, France, Italy and Scandinavia and other countries. Hotel offers complimentary daily shuttle service to the island capital Victoria and to Rambla Bay and Hondoq Bay beaches. Go there for swimming and snorkeling or alternatively enjoy the sweetwater pool with a majestic view on the 4th floor of the Grand Hotel. It’s also worth going by boat to the nearby Blue Lagoon, Comino, and by ferry to Malta to visit historic sites at the capital Valletta and former capital Mdina, the Blue Grotto, the picturesque Fisherman’s village Marsaxlokk and other beautiful places. Very helpful reception will arrange sightseeing tours or car rental. I uploaded some fotos, a.o. of our large-scale suite on the 7th floor and a video, depicting the hotel and our other room on the 5th floor. Background music of the video is featuring John, an outstanding musician who is playing lovely music once a week during dinner at the Grand Hotel’s fine restaurant. Guess where we will be travelling next year?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasJungeHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mr. Thomas Junge

It was our great pleasure to have you and your family back with us for your holiday in Gozo.
We thank you kindly for your detailed review about your stay and we are pleased to inform you that contacts have been made to upgrade our WiFi system to a faster and more efficient system thus eliminating the need to purchase the service from a third party provider.

Once again we thank you for your custom and look forward to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemiksem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for the second time in this hotel. It's always clean, friendly personnel, a relaxed sphere. The breakfast is very good with a large variety. The location is very good, nearby buses and harbor. Very good quality for the price ! Except the difference of type in the 'budget' rooms is noticable. Smaller and no balcony this year with the same type.
If i wouldn't like to see other places in the world i go back.

Room Tip: Budget rooms can be noisy because of the service lift next to them. But if you don't mind for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mr. Cornelis

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had not stayed on Gozo before and were very pleased that we chose The Grand Hotel at Mgarr. The hotel staff were welcoming friendly and attentive nothing was too much trouble especially the restaurant staff. We stayed half board the food was very good. Our room on the 7th floor in the new part of the hotel was immaculate and we had an amazing view of the harbour Malta and Comino from the balcony. A great place to stay to explore the Island. If we visit Gozo again we would definately stay at The Grand and would recommend it to our friends.
Dave R

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mr. Ratcliffe

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We have just finished two weeks of relaxing in Gozo. The Grand Hotel and it's staff have made the holiday. We stayed B&B but enjoyed dinner and afternoon snacks all of which were delicious. The hotel is clean, efficient and caring. The staff are amazing, special mentions for Paul an Frances who look after you in the bar/tv/snack area, and like another contributor we can't forget Caramello who makes you feel very special. We were treated to little extras such as prickly pears (peeled) at breakfast because we showed an interest in the fruit, that sort of attention is important during a holiday. The rooms are very comfortable, cleaned daily and air conditioned. We upgraded to room with a terrace where we could sunbathe and watch the harbour in action, it is a very entertaining view.
There are plenty of very good restaurants within easy walking distance for evenings when you want to dine out. The hotel also provides a free shuttle service to various resorts on the island. All in all a very successful holiday hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
801 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing