We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at The Grand for 7 nights and loved it. The best thing by far were the wonderful staff who always went the extra mile for us - for example, they opened the cinema for us to watch a film on a random rainy afternoon. Renato was consistently friendly and worked long hours. Carmelimo was a fab waiter as were Justin and Malcolm. Frances in particular was so kind and efficient. The reception staff were also first to go the extra mile.

The hotel was very conveniently located for bus stops which run across the Island and are very punctual. Gorgeous sunsets over Comino.

Thank you for a wonderfully relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    423
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
165
770
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Grand Hotel thoroughly relaxed! The hotel is in a beautiful location, easy to get to from mainland Malta via a regular ferry service. Our only slight hiccup on arrival was that the room we were given was not exactly what I'd anticipated after having emailed to check that we had gotten a standard double with sea view and balcony, having booked through purple travel. When we go into the room (on the 4th floor) and opened the curtains our balcony was about 2 feet in depth and when you sat on the chairs provided you couldn't see over the ruddy great wall (which I assume is there to stop people around the pool from looking in), as well as having the toilet running with water constantly. I popped to reception and asked if there was another room explaining my disappointment and asked about an upgrade, for 7 euros per person per night we got a superior double on the 7th floor and were much happier (however it should perhaps be explained that the Jacuzzi bath in the ensuite which I had my heart set on using comes at an extra cost to actually use, we didn't realise this until I actually filled it, got in and had to ring reception to ask why it wasn't working).

All in all our stay was lovely, we ate in the bar 2 nights and had the lovely fizzy rose they offer in their wine menu, all of which was lovely. The breakfasts are out of this world amazing! The staff are all friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble. We used the pool once and it was lovely, cleaned daily. The bus service is frequent and inexpensive with the bus drivers being helpful if you're unsure where you're supposed to be when :) Couple of little tips, firstly, we walked up to the bus stop and took a right up a long road to the next town (of which I've totally forgotten the name), just as you get into the town there is a bar on the right (through a little arch), on a nice day it is a fabulous spot to sit and have a beer, with amazing views over Gozo, Camino and Malta, wish we'd had chance to go back and sample their menu but there just wasn't time. Secondly, Ta Tona is a restaurant just 1 minutes walk down the hill from the grand and we had a really lovely meal there, tasty, excellent value for money with exceptionally friendly staff. I'm quite sure we'll be back to Gozo for another relaxing holiday at some point in the future and I'd make sure we stayed at the grand, perhaps paying a little extra for the extra luxuries that come with the superior rooms. Thanks to all the staff at the grand, you're all doing an excellent job.

Room Tip: Perhaps check that you're standard room is not on the 4th floor next to the pool or just pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just returned from a 6 day holiday here. We had a superior room on the 7th floor with wonderful views overlooking the harbour and beyond. The staff were friendly and we always felt that we had their undivided attention. Even though we had originally booked bed and breakfast, we did have some evening meals which were good and excellent value. The portion sizes were perfect on the nights that they operated a set 3 course meal. On other nights there was a buffet with good choices.
We would certainly return at a later date.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stay in this hotel regularly whenever we visit Gozo, sometimes as a big family, sometimes just me and my girlfriend, and the experience is always "Grand". The location, the comfortable and high standard rooms (we always take a Sea View), the food and the service make for it. The staff try hard to satisfy all the wishes and preferences and make you feel welcome and cared for from the first moment to the last. The result is, we always leave rested and refreshed and already looking forward to planning a next visit.
This time we also tried a new experience: we dined at the hotel's Oriental Restaurant, and it was a highlight of our short holiday, we enjoyed it so much!
Well recommended!

Room Tip: Sea view room, the view is simply breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Mr. Abela

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just returned from Gozo. We had 6 days in this hotel on half board. Our room, on the 6th floor, was spacious and clean. We had a balcony and a great view of the harbour and so there was always something to watch outside. Very customer focused hotel. Staff were attentive and always very pleasant whenever you met one anywhere in the hotel.
The food was excellent with a lovely buffet breakfast. The evening meal was sometimes a buffet and sometimes a set menu but there was a good range and variety of choices, and some nights there was some entertainment. I particularly liked the guitarist on our first night who played and sang well.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet get away from it all venue.
The swimming pool was lovely and overlooked the harbour. It was still open and being used in early November. I don't know if it stays open all winter.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saraheswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our third visit at this fantastic Hotel. All services are of topmost quality. Privacy is VERY WELL respected.

Even though there were other events going on at the Hotel, the guests were never deprived of their quite and private atmosphere that this Hotel is capable of offering. We were happy to note that this Hotel has been awarded the Trip Advisor reward for 2013.

I urge all to stay at this Hotel as whilst comfortable it is also just a few meters away from the Harbour so one can easily enjoy a visit to Malta even if staying there.

Unfortunately I did not get the name of the HEAD waiter (eldest guy) at the restaurant but every time we visit we are welcomed with open arms and offered a good service by the WHOLE TEAM. Rooms are always left impeccably clean and whatever is required, one is immediately served. One can also enjoy free movies shows on Friday and Saturday evenings and also a free Hotel Courtesy Bus service to a number of Beaches and to Victoria, the capital city of Gozo.

So what are you waiting for, book now. By the way if you go to the Hotel's website, there is also a special offer in the offing for the coming weeks. So browse along and enjoy a nice and peaceful stay at Grand Hotel, Mgarr GOZO.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Mr. Debattista

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Arriving by ferry the hotel can be seen high on the hillside overlooking the harbour. It is a grand hotel and the service by everyone who works there is friendly and efficient. Our room on the 7th floor had a full view of the busy harbour and Comino and Malta can be seen in the distance. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed large and comfortable.The cleaners are good at their job and keep the room well supplied, tidy and fresh. The meals are well cooked and tasty. The menu varied and interesting. Service in the restaurants was friendly and usually very efficient. The hotel mini-bus is handy for trips to the capital, sites and beaches, otherwise the island bus service is excellent and cheap. The swimming pool is long and of a good depth with no fancy bits so one can have a really good swim. The cinema was comfortable and available at least twice during our seven night stay. Our only discomfort was the hassle of getting to our room because the lift in that newer section was not working and also, there is a bit of noise from the harbour traffic. We have stayed in many hotels and this one is up with the best!

Room Tip: If your room is above the fourth floor in newer section , make sure the lift is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Ms. Laverik

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel.

We sincerely apologize for the in convenience caused due to the breakdown of one of our lifts but unfortunately the faulty part was not available on the island and had to be purchased from abroad.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
699 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
810 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing