We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Had a really good time at this hotel can not rate it highly enough. We were greeted on arrival with orange juice that was a nice touch on a hot day. The room 410 over looked the bay. The bed was huge with very good sheets and very comfortable. Bathroom great full of good things and great towels.

Had an enjoyable meal that evening, sorry we only had one night. Overslept so missed breakfast.

Room Tip: We did not pay the extra for sea view but were in the old part of the hotel which meant climbing som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    423
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
165
770
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Got a ridiculously cheap deal trough Travelzoo/ Qwerty Travel, so I was really suprised when the hotel exceeded my expectations. The deal was for 3 nights half board plus 4 on B&B.
The first room we were given was a promo rate room at the back of the hotel (room 411). It had no view, and being north-facing, it was also cold and damp and had a musty smell, the air-con/ heater was noisy and although they had put air-freshner in the unit, it didnt mask the smell, also you could not get wi-fi from this room, neither was there tea and coffee making facilities. Supermarket nearby sells most things you might need. The bathroom was small with no shelves and the shower curtain rail fell down the first evening It was however clean and the bed comfortable. I suggest the hotel puts some bedside mats down, the tiled floor was really freezing, my feet got really cold and I couldnt sleep
Halfway through the week we asked to upgrade to a sea-view room (room 306), it was like being in a different hotel, really big room, tea and coffee making, mini bar, terrace with sunbed, chairs and that wonderful view. The upgrade was E16 per night, but well worth it.
As the food in the restaurant had been so fabulous we also upgraded to half board for the second half of our stay for a discounted rate of E15 pppn.
The staff; Receptionists all well trained, efficient, helpful and friendly, could not have done more to help, but it was the dining room staff that really made the stay great, good old fashioned four star service, but really cheerful and the food, well, again four star, each evening a really good choice of courses, meat, fish and vegitarian, beautifully plated and fresh, quality ingredients, the soups were some of the best I have tasted. Breakfast was also very good, tonnes of choice. The wine was also reasonable, we had several bottles of the local red 'Ulysess', very nice.
The hotel is in a good location at the top of the hill in Mgarr, lots of really cheap busses available to all parts of the island, the receptionists will tell you which one to take and print a timetable.

Room Tip: avoid 411 and upgrade to a seaview if you can, a room on a higher floor at the back may have a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just returned from a week on Gozo staying at the Grand Hotel - really enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel was a major reason for that. Got a cheap deal so room without a view (which would have been nice) but it worked out fine. Spent relatively little time in the room - out enjoying the island most of the time (very lucky with the weather!) - but a view would be good if you were not so active.

The buffet breakfast was a highlight- great choices and quality - fuelled up most days for our days out.

Evening meals were not so good - had a couple in the restaurant which were okay but not great. It was the only low point of our stay I must say.

All the reception, bar, housekeeping and restaurant staff were excellent - helpful, friendly and approachable - its rare to be able to say that, but it is true. I was really impressed.

Would be happy to recommend - the hotel is only 5 minutes from the ferry terminal and the X1 hourly bus service to the port from the airport made the transfer easy (and all transport is very cheap!) Go now - its great!

Room Tip: Back facing rooms with no view are much cheaper, but the views are great so its your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyLomas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to share your review regarding your pleasant experience during your stay at the Grand Hotel Gozo. We are happy that you were impressed with our overall services and facilities.

We believe in providing our guests the highest care, and nothing makes us happier than confirmation of our guests’ satisfaction; and we will do more in the future - by opening the indoor pool and SPA.

We are looking forward hosting you again so that you can try our different room category's and experience even a bigger choice of our amenities.

Sincerely


Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I spent ten days February 2014.... The dining room waiters Carmelo and Denato were Awesome! They truly kmow how to service guests. Very nice breakfast buffet to enjoy overlooking Marina andharbour. Good Thai food as well. Very comfortable room, tub and balcony, tastefully decorated, real value for price charged. Location of hotel is good, close to buses, restaurants, supermarket. Great place to stay if comjng to Gozo! Thanks to all Staff for wonderful service.

Room Tip: Book a view room...so worth it! Try the local Gozitan honey at breakfast. Internet is included, ozon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards


Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hexham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent 3 weeks in the Grand Hotel and can honestly say it's one of the best holiday experiences we have had. The staff were excellent, very friendly and always ready to go the extra mile to assist, offer information, and generally make guests feel welcome and as though you matter to them. Particular mention for the 4 waiters who were friendly, funny, very polite, efficient, and remembered our preferences after the first few days.
The hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the harbour, with a good view of Comino and the mainland of Malta, and the ferries going to and fro all through the day. We will never forget the nearby church, whose bells began at 6 am and pealed not just the time every quarter, but also Ave Maria at the turn of each hour!
The pool looked pleasant but is closed during the winter.
Our bedroom was lovely - sea view - worth paying the extra for i suggest - spacious, loads of storage, large comfortable bed, seating area, tea and coffee facilities and a small fridge, covered balcony, pleasant bathroom, air-con, flat screen tv with some English channels, and Wi-Fi - although the free wi-fi was very slow and we bought 5 day passes to Ozone for 15 euros, which was much faster.
The food was mostly excellent with plenty of choice - we had the set evening meal menu which offered 3 choices at each course, and there was a full A la Carte menu, and also a room service menu if required. The menu made use of seasonal fresh vegetables and offered a range of mostly Mediterranean dishes. Breakfast consisted of a range of cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, cold meats, cheese, salads, bread, and also hot options of bacon sausages, tomatoes, beans, fried, scrambled and poached eggs, potatoes of some kind, sometimes mushrooms and lovely creamy spinach - and once - rather unexpectedly - broccoli! If I were to be critical at all it would be to say that breakfast was often lukewarm, the hotplates inefficient without lids for the containers. There is also a Chinese restaurant, which we did not try, and in the summer a rooftop restaurant also operates.
The hotel runs a shuttle mini-bus to Victoria on M-W-F which was well used, and offers a full day tour of Gozo on Thursdays at a cost of 12 euros, although sadly it never ran whilst we were there, as they require a minimum of 4 passengers, but other guests told us it was excellent. The hotel bar is used by residents and locals, and is a pleasant place to chat and relax, and there is also a lovely sun terrace at the front.
The hotel has a small cinema showing films on Fri and Sat evenings, although we didn't try this either!
We loved Gozo - buses cost 1.5 Euros for the whole day - get on or off wherever you like - or 6 euros for a weekly ticket. There are numerous historical sites and churches to visit, wonderful villages to explore, and several pleasant seaside locations to sit and enjoy the sunshine, have a coffee or a meal, even in the winter. It is very quiet and un-commercialised, perfect for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: pay for a sea view if you are going to spend time in your room, as they generally have balconies too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALTA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

perfect stay. greeted on arrival with welcome drinks. rooms excellent, view amazing. recommended very highly.tea & coffee facilities in room. very comprehensive breakfast. free transport to capital Victoria ,5 mins from ferry terminal

Room Tip: sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Grand is comfortable with outstanding views over the harbour from sea-facing rooms. Note that interior rooms look into a rather drab side area. To be fair we were there in the off season and were trapped by the weather into staying indoors. There is no really comfortable lounge area to hang out in and the bar area seemed to cater for people who wanted to watch football on large screen TVs. On a more positive note, the staff were all very friendly and efficient and the hotel was kept very well. The dining room was bright and pleasant and the food well prepared and presented. There is underground parking if you rent a car.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wotaway2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to you for your review during your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel

Whilst we are pleased to see that your impressions were satisfactory in the main, we have made a special note of the point mentioned which did not meet your approval .

Such information is invaluable to the smooth running of our hotel, and our endeavor to provide the highest standards possible. Without the assistance of considerate guests such as yourself, our task would be much more challenging.

May we thank you once again for taking the time to comment.

We shall look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
699 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
810 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing