We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location by the harbour”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,788 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“Beautiful location by the harbour”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel twice in the past and eaten there on a good number of occasions. It is beautifully situated overlooking the harbour in Mgarr where the Malta to Gozo ferry docks. One can sit on outside tables having a drink or a casual meal watching boating activity and enjoying the view. Rooms are clean and perfectly adequate. However, the food is disappointing. The regular menu is distinctly lacking in good vegetarian options which one would expect in a hotel of this calibre. We recently had the Friday evening buffet in the main restaurant and were very disappointed in the lack of vegetarian food. Main courses were carved meat, chicken and fish; the rice had chicken in it and the potatoes smelled heavily of bacon. Presumably one could have ordered special food in advance but we felt an elaborate buffet could have catered more for non meat eaters. Regrettably we could eat little for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay but on the other hand we have to apologies for not meeting your expectations on the choice of food. We have taken note of your comments and we will do our best to adjust our Menus for vegetarian costumers.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Hotel in not too distant future.


Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    413
    91
    22
    11
See reviews for
162
747
72
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The view of Mgarr Harbour is excellent, the room spacious and clean, breakfast both hot and cold items plus cakes, tea/coffee/juices etc excellent.Staff are very efficient and friendly.
Now for the not so good points:
1.Jumper left from previous guests?!! still in wardrobe.
2.sleek shower head is useless probably just needs cleaning the filter.
3.Same goes for the Jumbo shower only just a trickle of water. with 2 shower heads within the same tap you'd expect a Niagara! not so at the Grand.
4. Very small roll of toilet paper was not enough for 2 persons for 1 day.
I suggest the housekeeping superviser or whoever is responsible will see to the maintenance and upkeep of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolita359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to you for your review during your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel

Whilst we are pleased to see that your impressions were satisfactory in the main, we have made a special note of the point mentioned which did not meet your approval and immediate action will be taken to rectify this.

Such information is invaluable to the smooth running of our hotel, and our endeavor to provide the highest standards possible. Without the assistance of considerate guests such as yourself, our task would be much more

We shall look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

A peaceful haven with the most stunning view from our 7 th floor suite. Beautiful rooms with the gloriously comfy beds!
The staff at this lovely hotel were extremely welcoming and very helpful,nothing was too much trouble.Would deffinately recommend a stay here when visiting Gozo.
Can not wait for a return trip!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lady C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and our staff.

We will definitely be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel in not too distant future.

With kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend booked us in for six nights. We both agree it was a lovely stay. We really enjoyed it and are discussing returning. As we are frequent travellers/ backpackers but getting a little old it was a very relaxing stay.

The goods

1) Fantastic location. Easy to get around Gozo, €1.50 all day bas pass and to nip the the mainland and explore there.
2) There is a great selection of restaurants in the bay. Why so many people stay in the hotel I don't know.
3) The locals and ex-pats in Mgarr are all very friendly. We timed the trip perfectly. The week before Easter. Good weather, everything open but without the flocks of tourists.
4) The hotel must have been very recently renovated. The room was a fantastic size and top quality. Brand spanking new lifts.
5) If you like diving there is a separate but linked diving company next door. Linked in it rents the space only. Very friendly and good banter. Jurgen is the boss.

The not brilliants

1) I would avoid staying on the fourth floor as your view is restricted by a stone wall straight onto the pool. Note the picture above should be updated. Not a massive deal to us but if you get the chance ask to stay further up.
2) Some of the reception staff are pretty useless. They didn't have much information. It can't be hard to have a few bus or ferry schedules to hand out.
3) The wireless is appalling. Although there are two super fast free to use computers.
4) Breakfast was not expensive and I would choose again but it is not fantastic. Some of the cooked offering sits for too long. Eggs like rubber. We got in early a few times and first thing it is much better. Also the dinning room is tiny. Very busy.

Others
1) They are indeed building a indoor pool. I saw it as they have knocked a wall into the dive rental, to the dive companies frustration. They weren't doing any work when we were there. It is all inside though so I cannot see how noisy it would be.
2) We opted for the airport transfer of 30 euros. Pretty easy. We arrived late. To be honest the bigs is super easy and from outside the airport directly to the ferry terminal. X1 and it is €1.50 for all day or €1.30 for the single. It is normally around when the ferry returns. We got the bust back.
3) The ferry is no hassle. You walk in. You only pay around €5 coming back from Gozo. There are bus stops at the other end.

Loved the hotel. Loved Gozo. We explored Malta and are very very glad we chose not to stay there. Cheap and tacky in compression to the lovely, laid back Gozo.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank coxy_gj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is an absoulute gem in every way possible. Everything about it is great from the extremely friendly staff to the great rooms with fantastic views (if you get a sea view) and the location. A big thank you to everyone at the hotel (especially Carmellino who entertained us with his humour and tales of his travels) for making us feel so welcome.

We will be back to this beautiful, friendly island again in the very near future and will definitely be staying at the Grand again.

Room Tip: A sea view is parramount
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltash
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It was our first visit to Gozo and the Grand hotel. We found the hotel very clean and the room was large and comfortable and had fantastic views over the harbour. The pool was clean and cool in temperature but very enjoyable. Our friends had visited before and they were pleased 18 months ago with their visit so we visited with them this year.
The staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was pleasant and we had a lovely choice of foods. We were however disappointed with the evening meal which was a buffet and was of poor quality. I was hoping for a menu and waiter service.
This lead us to eating outside of the restaurant for the rest of the week in the evening.
We would certainly stay at the hotel again when we next visit Gozo.

Room Tip: Need a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kudo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to you for your review during your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel

Whilst we are pleased to see that your impressions were satisfactory in the main, we have made a special note of the point mentioned which did not meet your approval and immediate action will be taken to rectify this.

Such information is invaluable to the smooth running of our hotel, and our endeavor to provide the highest standards possible. Without the assistance of considerate guests such as yourself, our task would be much more challenging.

We shall look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gharghur
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I wanted to book a surprise weekend break for my fiance's 29th birthday. We have been to other hotels in Gozo but no 4 star hotel on this tiny island matches up with the standards of Grand Hotel. We had been to the Grand Hotel before and the last time we booked a weekend break I tried a different hotel just to change a bit the ambience, but I was so disappointed that I made it a point to book the Grand Hotel next time we went. So I did...

Upon entering the hotel, the friendly staff immediately welcome you with a warm smile and a glass of fruit juice. On checking in, the receptionist explained the hotel facilities and then we made way to our room... and what a room! Modern furniture, modern TV, uber-comfortable bedding and an amazing view! We were very pleased.

As I said previously, we've been to this hotel before and I have honestly nothing to complain about. Breakfast is also great. The food is tasty, fresh and well presented.

The only 'bad' thing on our last visit was the WIFI. We had a very poor signal, if none at all. We did call the receptionist to tell them about the problem but it seemed they couldn't do anything about it (which I believe as they are always on the spot should a problem arise). Since I had work to tend to, I ended up paying money to connect to a local hotspot (very cheap - €3.00 for 90mins which I could use as I wanted in 24hrs). Other than that, I have no complaints whatsoever.

Overall, it was a great experience. This is an EXCELLENT hotel. We've been before and we'll definitely go again! It is the best 4 star hotel on the island. Myself, I'd give it 5!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indjana01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel.

With regards to your comments about the free Wi-Fi, we are working hard to upgrade our Wi-Fi system to a faster and more efficient system thus eliminating the need to purchase the service from a third party provider.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing