We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly........”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

well i went to this hotel for my honeymoon and left to go back to my previous hotel a day early. we arrived at the reception desk and checked in............ unfriendly and didn't even show us to the room???? go left then right take the lift and so on........... 3 star hotels show you to rooms with a smile!!! Room was nice but i didn't sleep to well in the bed. breakfast wasn't that great either but at least the waiter said morning to you in fact i don't think another member of staff said a word. even on checking out early they didn't ask why??? another thing is the room wasn't cleaned at 2pm and the cleaner just said we have been busy???

i had such a lovely week prior to the wedding and this stay just spoiled the honeymoon part. i wouldn't return or recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to you for your review during your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel

We have made a special note of the point mentioned which did not meet your approval and immediate action will be taken to rectify this.

Such information is invaluable to the smooth running of our hotel, and our endeavor to provide the highest standards possible. Without the assistance of considerate guests such as yourself, our task would be much more challenging.

May we thank you once again for taking the time to comment.

We shall look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,277 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked this holiday through Asda Travel. Asda were very prompt in responding to any queries we had, and would recommend them to anyone thinking of booking through them.
The Grand overall was good. We did book a "budget deal" and so wasn't expecting a room with views overlooking the harbour. Our room was described as a country room, which was spacious, comfortable, clean and had our own balcony. It was at the rear of the complex, and afforded views across the countryside. We were not disturbed by any traffic noise, as we had previously been warned on a tripadvisor report, in fact there were no outside elements that caused us a problem at all. I found the bed very comfortable and slept very well throughout our stay, (but I sleep heavily anyway). However, we had room 609, which was on the 6th floor and close to the stairwell, and lift. My partner who isn't such a heavy sleeper was disturbed on a number of occasions in the wee small hours, not so much by the lift, but by inconsiderate guests chatting loudly while waiting for the lift to arrive. Another problem we encountered, was that if you get a "country room", you are not given tea making facilities, which other hotel guests automatically got. One of the reception staff was particularly friendly and accommodated us with a kettle, when we said that we would provide the tea/coffee and milk. We stayed half board, and can highly praise the staff in the restaurant. They were friendly, professional, and always went out of their way to please. The same can be said of the bar staff. Would we stay again? Yes, but would choose a different room, now that we know the layout of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just returned from a wonderful first visit to Gozo staying at the Grand Hotel . We stayed in a superior sea view room with terrace which was fab, definitely the room to stay in. .
Many thanks to the friendly staff especially Carmellino and team, we shall return.
The Thompson family.

Room Tip: Superior sea view with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toonie900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you are lucky to get a sea view room, you would probably not look into the room so much.
If you have a city view room then it s a different story.

Rooms: rather big and spacious.

Bed: horrible! So firm that we both could not move for first 5-10 min in the morning, all the body was so stiff. Did not have a good night sleep at all during our stay.

Cleanness: not sure if they cleaned our room at all during 3 days, as the hair I lost on the bathroom floor day1 was still there on day 3… do not walk in the room wearing white socks, they are going to be grey in a minute, the floors are not clean.

Shower: it’s not a shower, it’s a stick sticking out of the wall which you can not adjust and it does not have a shower head. You should be inventive to have a shower there. Lot’s or rust. Also the switch between tap and shower was not working.

Food: wonderful! Very simple and tasty, restaurant stuff is great.

Wifi: works well in the rooms but have no access to FB, youtube, etc.

Location: can not be better, as just across the harbor

Stuff: trying very hard to be helpful, but not always works

Parking: really tight and the -2 level is still under construction

Room Tip: make sure you get a sea view room, if not go the the rooftop terrace to enjoy spectacualr harbor vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanyuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just returned from a wonderful first visit to Gozo staying at the Grand Hotel, with beautiful views overlooking the Mgarr harbour. I would highly recommend the Grand, it's location is perfect, the double superior sea view room was lovely, huge bed, a bath & shower, tea & coffee making facility, overall it was very comfortable and lovely to sit on the balcony watching the world go by. We were bed & Breakfast because we like to go out in the evening a find different restaurants. The breakfast was very nice with full English if you wanted it or fruit, bread meats, cheese yoghurts, everything you could want. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Carmelino who works in the restaurant, he was always very friendly, helpful and kind. Overall a wonderful helped by staying at the Grand, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for a front room with balcony or terrace, amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

But not our last. The Grand is without doubt a very well run hotel and I speak having had 20 years experience of running such establishments. The bedroom was well appointed & spotlessly clean, the reception staff friendly & efficient, the bar staff were exemplary, only the restaurant staff, who were by no means poor, failed to live up to the rest of the hotel's example - they were to be fair, exceptionally busy with a tour party. The pool terrace is a natural sun trap & the views of the bustling harbour effortlessly entertaining.
Just one area of disappointment, the quality / speed of the wireless internet connection in the rooms was very, very poor. We will be back.......

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephenrgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel twice in the past and eaten there on a good number of occasions. It is beautifully situated overlooking the harbour in Mgarr where the Malta to Gozo ferry docks. One can sit on outside tables having a drink or a casual meal watching boating activity and enjoying the view. Rooms are clean and perfectly adequate. However, the food is disappointing. The regular menu is distinctly lacking in good vegetarian options which one would expect in a hotel of this calibre. We recently had the Friday evening buffet in the main restaurant and were very disappointed in the lack of vegetarian food. Main courses were carved meat, chicken and fish; the rice had chicken in it and the potatoes smelled heavily of bacon. Presumably one could have ordered special food in advance but we felt an elaborate buffet could have catered more for non meat eaters. Regrettably we could eat little for the price paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay but on the other hand we have to apologies for not meeting your expectations on the choice of food. We have taken note of your comments and we will do our best to adjust our Menus for vegetarian costumers.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Hotel in not too distant future.


Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
765 reviews
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
738 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 3 in Sannat
851 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range: £37 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing