We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Mellieha, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great break”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We felt we needed a chill out break after a hard few months, so we hopped across the water to Gozo. We booked 5 nights B and B in a superior room with balcony. On arriving at the hotel we were given a glass of juice as we arrived and a warm welcome from the receptionist. The room we were given was on the 7th floor with a great view of the harbour, Comino and Malta. The room was clean and spacious and well equipped. We had looked on tripadvisor for restaurants to visit but found the food in the hotel was excellent and great value, especially the set menu, that we ate there for 4 of the 5 nights. The buffet breakfast had everything you would want, full English or Continental. The staff were friendly and efficient. As for the price, how can you put a value on a successful chill out break. PRICELESS. Thanks to all at the Grand for a great break and will see you next year (we have already booked)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 7th floor and book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to share your review regarding your pleasant experience during your stay at the Grand Hotel. We are happy that you had a good time with us and was also pleased with our services and facilities.

We believe in providing our guests the highest care, and nothing makes us happier than confirmation of our guests’ satisfaction

We are looking forward hosting you once again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    424
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
165
772
74
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Was v relaxing
Cant really complain about it really
Could do with a pool bar



Think u should stay there
V beautifull island not touristy
Go to Victoria great town
Great weather

Rent a car cause I used a taxi company called victory garage and they were bad






Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Declan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We would like to extend our sincere thanks to your for your review during your recent stay with us at The Grand. Your comments are appreciated and this helps us to continue giving a good service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with great position with hotel parking, big room, beautiful view from the room, breakfast delicious, nice view from the pool too.. Staff is friendly. Thank you, best hotel on Malta and Gozo!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We thank you for taking your time to place your review and are most glad that you had an enjoyable stay at The Grand. Looking forward to Welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We found the rooms to be well appointed, clean, stylish and overlooking the pool and an amazing view of Comino and Malta. Parking is a little difficult down a steep ramp. We were greeted with an orange juice and felt very welcomed. Great amenities and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSliema_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Paul,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your review regarding your pleasant experience during your stay at The Grand. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt welcome. We thank you for your feed back which is being noted as a tip to further improve our facilities. Looking forward to be of service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay and everyone at the hotel was friendly and cheerful.
Breakfast was served efficiently and with a smile always. Food is also topped up often.
Our room was spacious with a wonderful sun terrace. The view was never dull too.
Being next door to Extra Divers was extremely helpful and convenient.

Room Tip: Every room has a 'balcony'. It is the room with a sun terrace that allows you to enjoy a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveGelati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are glad that you had a nice holiday with us at The Grand. Yes all the Sea View Rooms come with a balcony, while we have the Superior Sea Views that have a balcony, and other Superiors with a spacious terrace equipped with sun loungers and umbrella. It is recommended that when placing a reservation, the details of the room booked are taken into account.
Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to having you again as our guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Yes, another fabulous year spent at the Grand Hotel on Gozo, we even got the same room as last year. The reception area had changed round but staff were still as helpful. Our room was very spacious and clean on 7th floor overlooking the harbour, we had a terrace with beds, brolli, table & chairs. The pool on 4th floor was excellent although not much room for manoeuvring round beds.
The restaurant staff were very efficient & attentive and even remembered us from last year. The meal times were excellent 7.30 to 10am & 7.30 to 10pm giving you plenty of time to arrange your days. The choice of meals were excellent and beautifully presented. The harbour walk is now finished with plenty of seating areas & restaurants to call at for a cooling drink or ice cream.
The arrivva buses are now on the island and makes it a lot easier to get around (no need for a car) 6 euro for all week or 1.50 euro for the day (hop on hop off) although I must say its lost some of the character now the maltese bus has gone.
All in all a wonderful holiday and we will be back again next year, staying in the same hotel and hopefully the same room. We love Gozo and have been many many times

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zebbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grand Hotel during your stay with us. We are glad that you had another enjoyable stay and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay in GH Mgarr very much in a friendly and calm hotel which offers many amenities like a well kept pool, buffet supper on the roof terrace, rich breakfast with very attentive staff and which is just a short walk away from the sea side, harbor with Gozo and Comino ferries, the coast walk, with great restaurants like LaVerandina, BellaSicilia, taTona. Busses and tours of Gozo start nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandragora55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Gozo, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We would like to extend our sincere thanks to you for your review during your recent stay with us at The Grand Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
701 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
810 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing