We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”
Review of Il-Girna Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il-Girna Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I are just back from Gozo having arrived at Il Girna at 2 am to find Maria waiting with a cup of tea etc.We have nothing but praise for the first class service provided by the owners, Maria and Teddy and their staff Louise etc.. We have been on holiday in Gozo before, staying at a 5 Star hotel close to Il Girna but the service provided and standard of room cleanliness, frequency of linen change and personal attention far exceeded that of the hotel. All arrangements were by email with Maria booking taxi transfers from Malta to the ferry and ferry to Il Girna and included the return transfers. Maria kept in touch by text during all the transfers to ensure everything was going as it should be. During our stay she was always suggesting places to visit like the Festa in Xaghra on 7 Sept. which proved to be a truly super experience. Breakfast was always a feast of fresh fruit, cheeses, meats, cereals, boiled eggs etc etc. Altogether a super holiday thanks to wonderful friendly and attentive hosts.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area get a lovely cooling breeze all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doncorfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned from a short break in the busiest week of the year for the Gozitans, however nothing was too much trouble for Maria, her staff and her family. It was our first time staying in a guest house, as we normally tend to choose hotels or self-catering accommodation, but this really exceeded our expectations. The hospitality, the overall cleanliness, lovely home-made breakfast, left nothing to be desired. We will definitely be booking here again in future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danimifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a great time there. Owners were helpful and nice including staff. The place was clean which is great having a toddler. The pool is a good size and has a spring board-no 'no diving' signs! Breakfast was fresh and varied. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We appreciated the professional, but very cordial hospitality and relaxed atmosphere, created by the owners Maria and Teddy and the friendly personnel. All what could be done to make our stay at Gozo comfortable, pleasant and successful was offered with much satisfaction. They know the island and are pleased to share or show the secrets of its beaches, historical and cultural highlights.
Il Girna is located on one of the highest points of the island, away from mass tourism and resorts. Around are the high ta Cenc cliffs, ancient cart ruts and dolmens. From our balconies we enjoyed the view over Gozo, and the sunsets over the cliffs of Xliema. The house breathes Gozo’s atmosphere, and offers all the practical but cosy comfort one needs (large, very clean, airy and tastefully dressed and furnished rooms and bathrooms, water coocker, fridge, daily fresh towels…).
As for the food: great and abundant breakfast, lots of fresh fruit.. At walking distance is the Il Girna restaurant, which I would highly recommend: the food is just superb and the place is very intimate.
A charming place with a warm hospitality and, a honest heart.

Paul, Belgium

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann_Paul20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The owner Maria is very friendly and gave us a lot of good advices about what to do around. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. Is a very good place to stay in Gozo near of the capital Victoria and close to Dolmen cliffs and a beautiful rocky beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infinitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I are just back from a wonderful 4 days at this warm and welcoming hotel in Gozo. Lovely quiet location, warm and genuine service, clean and spacious rooms and a good sized pool with comfortable sunbeds. Breakfast is served buffet style where one is able to help oneself to a lovely selection of fresh fruit including melon, peaches, grapes, etc, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, fresh sliced local tomatoes, yogurts, a selection of fresh and toasted bread, jams, biscuits, tea, coffee, juices etc. One can even have a soft boiled egg on request! Breakfast is served in the downstairs dining room overlooking the outside gardens. We asked for tea-making facilities in our room and this was immediately provided. There is even a large fridge'/freezer available to guests on each floor. The lady who runs this establishment is very warm and friendly and nothing is too much of a bother. This hotel is truly a little gem.
Aldo & Charlotte Schembri

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schembri_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Il-Girna II Residence is situated in a quiet location with ample parking space around. One has the possibility of going for a walk with breathtaking views of the countryside or else head towards Ta' Cenc cliffs, both of which are advisable to wear comfortable footwear.
The hosts gave us a warm welcome and kids are made to feel at home. We had two rooms, both spacious and immaculately clean but one of them needed some minor repairs. Given the fact that we were only staying for 1 night we didn't bother asking to change rooms although this option was offered.
There is a fridge on the landing for guest use, which comes in handy since Maltese summers can be quite hot.
The pool is decently sized to cater for the number of residents and is kept very clean.
Breakfast is basically made up of cereal, locally produced youghurt, toast, biscuits, fruit (dried & fresh) and a small selection of local products together with tea, coffee,orange & pineapple juice.

No TV in the room, No lift, No air conditioning (fan only) which can result in very cold rooms in winter unless gas heaters are provided. Some pillows tend to be somewhat uncomfortable as they are quite hard and take some getting used to, to sleep on. WIFI connection is only available in the lobby downstairs. Tea & Coffee making facilities are at the discretion of the host.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mars2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sannat
0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 3 in Sannat
851 reviews
0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Quaint Boutique Hotel Nadur
0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
765 reviews
0 mi away
Ellie Boo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il-Girna Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il-Girna Residence

Address: 5 Skerla Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Sannat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Sannat
Price Range: £39 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Il-Girna Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il-Girna Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il-Girna Residence Island Of Gozo, Malta - Sannat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing