We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical !”
Review of Hotel Ta' Cenc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sannat
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical !”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Have just spent a week here. If you are looking for somewhere to
chill out, this is the place to go. The staff are very helpful and
friendly. The food is very good, The hotel and its rooms are kept
very clean, though some of the rooms need updating. We had room
147 with our own private patio, which we thought was a bit special.
All in all a great holiday, we will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    224
    122
    47
    37
See reviews for
156
450
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

How I wish I could click on both Terrible and Excellent. I have taken an average.

It’s not a five star international hotel – its… quirky. If you love it, then it will be for its quirkiness. Actually it can be quite maddening.

But wonderful too.

Excellent:

- If you want peace and quiet, in beautiful surroundings, Ta Cenc is the place to go.
- Good breakfast
- Nice atmosphere in the lunch café – with lots of wealthy Maltese matriarchs holidaying their families, and presided over by George who lavishes his love and attention on them. Worth the price of the lunch.
- The private beach is lovely too – also the next beach - Mgarr Ix Xini where Angelina Jolie is preparing to film her next movie. No prizes for guessing why – it’s got deep blue-green sea which is crystal clear – and perfect for snorkelling with no perceptible current.
- Most of the rooms have something good about them. We had the view across the Comino Channel towards Malta. Others get the pool within a few yards of their room.
- The quiet of the adult pool. The freedom for young families to enjoy themselves in the children’s pool without worrying about making a noise.

Terrible:
- The towels. Oh those towels! The staff lavish more love on them than they do the guests. They need to. My pool towel had holes, and was threadbare. The bath one was frayed, and small. Ta Cenc staff, please let them die with dignity. There is nothing good about antique towels. Get new ones that have erm… towelling properties ;)
- The execrable service. It is not my fault that I forgot my towel at the poolside and need another one. Just give me another one! Don’t tell me its my fault!
- The attention to detail – it matters that you tie the umbrellas up with farmers twine, and you put the ashtrays back out without washing them.
- The gym. 120 degrees Fahrenheit with no water in the water dispenser, and doors and windows locked shut. Its not funny that the air conditioning didn’t work this year either. Oh and don’t tell me to shake the water dispenser to see if there is anything in it. And when you finally refill it, accept that you need to give people a full bottle, and not just half. It was empty again the following day. Wash the windows.
- Fix the pool table. It was the only way we could get my son to come to the hotel. Telling us that it was highly unlikely it would be fixed in our stay because it had been broken for a long while was a wind up? I couldn’t decide.

My suggestion:

- If you think it’s for you, go, but rent a car and eat out in the evening.
- Try to accept it for what it is.
- Get your own internet connection, unless you like to watch the looks on the face of those in the minute free internet area when they lose the free connection yet again only to be asked to re-login and pay…

My running machine slowed down on its own as I tried to keep exercising in the unbearable heat of the gym. If you’re the sort of person who might be happy to let it go slower, then this is probably the place for you. I am afraid I kept trying to turn up the speed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 395Edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We enjoyed this Resort immensely, especially breakfast under beautiful skies & trees. The reception Staff could have been a little bit more informative and friendly as the people in Malta & Gozo can be.
Our room was ver nice and clean. The bathroom lighting was very dim and the bathroom itself needed some attention. It looked tired. Bright lights in bathrooms please.

Room Tip: Choose whether one wants to be near a beautiful pool and what one expects to come with it or to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monmon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for three nights. Really nice hotel in a quiet area of Gozo. We had our room next to the outdoor pool which was very convenient. During the days we used the indoor and outdoor pools and also the spa facilities and the tennis court. Very helpful staff and great breakfast! Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I booked my family for a full weekend that started on the 11th July and ended on the 13th July. We had two family rooms (106 and 103) - (meaning that these family rooms are not in front of the large pool but at the back) and one room in front of the pool (105) and another a suite (16A) next to the bar and in front of the pool. The rooms were clean and what ever you requested was given. For idyllic surroundings and magnificent views I would recommend Ta Cenc any day. If you are with children ask for a room near the family pool but if you want a perfectly quiet holiday ask for a room facing the Adult pool (no children allowed) or in one of the beautiful Trulli which although not facing any pool, they have magnificent views of Malta, the mainland. Highly recommended!!! We have also been there in Winter and the Spa Pool is an experience in itself. Part of it is inside and the larger part is a heated lagoon in the gardens. Warning : Children are only allowed to use this only up to noon. This allows adults to enjoy this pool in peace and quiet.

Room Tip: If you are with children ask for a room near the family pool but if you want a perfectly quiet holid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This review is based on a 1 night stay + use of spa/pool.

Location - The location is PERFECT. Situated in a very quiet area with great views of the island of Malta,on the outskirts of a very typical Gozo town (Sannat).

Rooms - The rooms are bungalow style. Our room was the last one in line, and in front of us we had views of the sea and Malta. We also had a sizable porch with deckchairs and chairs..breathtaking. The inside of the room was very clean and modern. The ac was working fine. THe only setback is that the rooms are not with fitted carpets, but tiles. Even in the middle of Summer, the rooms were slightly cold, so I cannot imagine in Winter. Furthermore, since access to the rooms is only from the outside, it will be difficult to get to your room in a rainy,stormy day without getting soaked wet.

Service - We were disappointed with the service considering this is a 5star hotel. We ordered (a very expensive) cocktail, which should have had cranberry, but instead the barman just put cherries without telling us, assuming that we won't mind. We did mind, especially after paying a lot for it. Furthermore, all the waiters during breakfast look like straight out of school, lacking manners which should be normal in 5 star hotels.

Spa - The spa is ok, having the 'normal' rooms - Sauna, Steam Room. The spa pool is brilliant though...starting indoors and extending to the outdoors with very nice setting.

Conclusion - It's worth the stay just for the location and the rooms, but don't expect the service of a proper 5 star hotel..too many young untrained waiters. P.s. Its not cheap.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threepwood86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Ta' Cenc hotel as we were offered a complimentary night at the hotel following getting married there. We got married at Kantra Lido which is such a beautiful and romantic place to get married in. The food and service were excellent and we do not have any complaints. It is quite expensive but it was worth every cent! The room we had on our wedding night was very comfortable and spacious, it also had a particular old fashioned and charming style which we liked. We managed to relax following our wedding night and it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 445jenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italico R, General Manager at Hotel Ta' Cenc, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Madam and dear Sir, I sincerely wish to thank you very much for your comments to Trip Advisor. I must say you made my day and I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Ta'Cenc. It will be personal and professional pleasure for everybody here.
All my best and again thanks.
Italico Rota general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sannat
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.4 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
727 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
712 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ta' Cenc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ta' Cenc

Property: Hotel Ta' Cenc
Address: Cenc Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Sannat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sannat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ta' Cenc 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ta' Cenc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ta' Cenc Island Of Gozo, Malta - Sannat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing