We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time we have stayed here”
Review of Villa Xemxija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Xemxija
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Back again...We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and in Gozo. We are walkers and discovered a new book of walks on Gozo. The weather was great for walking.

The apartment is nice and quiet and Pauline and Manoel are nearby when we needed to ask them for something.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john4burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had a great trip to Gozo and our thanks go to Manoel and Pauline, they were very helpful and welcoming hosts. We were only in Gozo for 5 days but found the accomodation and location to be ideal. The apartment was very clean and had everything needed for a self catering stay. The patio is great for sitting out in the evening sun with a glass of wine whilst looking out at the sea. The pool area is good for a bracing dip or to relax and lie in the sun!

Xlendi is a great wee place with fantastic rocky views and restaurants that line the shore, we can honestly say we didnt have a bad evening meal during our visit. The fish in particular was tasty and fresh everywhere. We were going to hire a car but in the end just decided to use the bus service to get about the island and see the sights, it goes everywhere, its cheap at 2.60 Euro PP for a day ticket and all the services are regular in and out of Victoria. it is also very handy as the bus stop is about 200 yards away from the Villa.

The only tiny location negative is the lack of local shop, but its not a real problem as Victoria is so close where supermarkets can be found to stock up on food/drink supplies once you first arrive.

Also a quick thanks to Joey the taxi driver that Manoel organised. Quick, friendly service.

Thanks again.
The Jamiesons

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJam125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We spent a week here in October 2012. The accomodation is clean and comfortable with a decent shower. The pool area is excellent for relaxing or a refreshing dip. Our host Manoel was friendly and was always at hand for any information we needed. We're going back in 2013 to the same accomodation.

Xlendi is a lovely area with lots of reasonably priced restaurants and bars. The bay is good for swimming. Villa Xemxija is only a 2 minute walk from these amenities.

A bus stop is a 30 second walk away and the service is reliable in Gozo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We were made very welcome both by our host and transfer taxi driver. Appartment very clean and adequately fitted. We enjoyed the balcony area with the individual view. It was lovely to return at the end of each day to have a swim in the pool. We would recommend this accommodation although cooking facilities limited but manageable. Good location with buses every 45mins to Victoria with bus stop 5 mins down the hill. The bus service was very good enabling us to visit most parts of this special island. Good selection of restaurants in Xlend Bay which becomes magical at night time. We enjoyed watching the sunset. There is a local grocery van every day at 2pm except Sundays. Good supermarkets in Victoria but none in Xlendi. Locals very helpful. Beautiful bays to swim in with crystal clear water. The pace is slow with lots to see and find. Weather a bit hotter than expected.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahjswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Spent a wonderful 9 days at Villa Xemxija from 25 Sept 2012. The villa was in excellent condition and the pool and jacuzzi were just perfect. Pauline and Manoel are excellent hosts and are on hand to help with enquiries whenever required.The choice of restaurants in Xlendi is very good with several excellent places to eat overlooking the beach and bay. The laid back atmosphere of Xlendi along with our wonderful hosts make this a holiday we will remember. Will we return ? - a definite yes to that!

Room Tip: It was very warm at night and we used the a.c. unit for a few hours each night at a minimal cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Villa Xemxija in Xlendi.

Xlendi is a good location to explore the island from, quiet enough for a relaxing time but also has plenty to offer in terms of activities and places to eat. Unfortunately it hasn't got a food market so we went to Victoria to get our groceries - only a short journey by bus, with 2 bus stops really close by the apartment and a very efficient bus service around the island.

The apartment we rented (overlooking the pool with a balcony) was a very good size and very clean.

The kitchen is ok for making light meals only; perhaps it could be slightly improved and have new utensils to replace some old ones, especially since there is plenty of room for more shelves or cupboard - for example a frying pan to replace; one of the electric hot plate to fix; also to have a cafetiere / some kind of pot to make fresh coffee in the morning would have been great. But these are only small details and didn't matter too much as we ate out most evenings anyway.

The villa is lovely with a nice clean pool. Its only draw back would be that is it surrounded and overlooked by tall buildings that are blocking the view. Also there was a new building being erected next to the villa on our side and the noise would wake us up early some mornings in the week.

Our host Manoel was very friendly and always keen to be of help.
I would recommend this accommodation and Gozo as a whole - a beautiful island with extremely friendly people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We have recently returned from our holiday at Villa Xemxija in Xlendi and once again it has been just perfect. We are regular visitors to the apartments, sometimes visiting two or three times a year and we see it as our “Home from Home”. Manoel and Pauline never fail to cater to our every need and are always willing to help guests with anything at all from advice regarding the accommodation to tourist information or car hire. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have self-catering facilities to allow you to chill out and relax if you don’t fancy eating out. At Villa Xemxija the pool is spotless and inviting and we spent some lovely lazy hours there, as always!
Xlendi itself is a beautiful place with plenty of great places to eat and drink. Watching the sunset go down over the sea at the end of the day is a sight not to be missed! As we were there during the Feast of Santa Marija celebrations we enjoyed immersing ourselves in the Gozo culture and enjoyed greatly all it had to offer.
We have no hesitation in highly recommending Manoel and Pauline’s apartments and are sure you will have a great holiday if you choose to go.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandCGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
1.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.1 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo
1.8 mi away
The Duke Boutique Hotel
The Duke Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Victoria
178 reviews
0 mi away
Il-Girna Residence
Il-Girna Residence
#1 of 3 in Sannat
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Xemxija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Xemxija

Address: Triq Il-Bizantini, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1421, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Xlendi
Price Range: £62 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Xemxija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Xemxija Hotel Xlendi
Villa Xemxija Island Of Gozo/Xlendi, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing