We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Holidays”
Review of Villa Xemxija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Xemxija
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have recently returned from a long holiday at Villa Xemxija and once again we have had a lovely, restful time. The apartments are consistently clean and well maintained. Manoel and Pauline were always working hard and catering to everyone's needs. They are always on hand if you have a query or want some tourist information. The pool is spotless and a perfect place to relax on a hot Summer’s day.
Xlendi has some great places to eat and drink with many next to the water which offers a perfect place to sit and watch the world go by.
There is always plenty to see and do around the island and we often enjoy getting a self-hire boat from Xlendi to Comino. The Azure Window is amazing to see and should really be the 8th wonder of the world! there are also some excellent opportunities for snorkelling in the sea around the coasts.
However long we stay in Villa Xemxija it never seems quite long enough which to us is the sign of a perfect place!
Thank you to Manoel and Pauline for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandCGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was looking for a budget friendly villa with a pool within walking distance to the sea. I was booking very very last minute and was lucky enough to stumble across villa xemxija in Gozo situated just above the stunning xlendi bay. Manoel and Pauline were extremely helpful and the villa was clean and bright with everything you could need for a holiday. The pool was wonderful too! You can see the sea from the front of the villa and its a 5 minute walk to xlendi bay which has yummy restaurants and a fantastic atmosphere with people swimming off the rocks in safe designated swimming areas. It's also easy to go off exploring and find more secluded crystal clear waters in the area. The sunsets are stunning and Gozo as an island is easy to explore with or without a car due to a great bus service. Thanks manoel and Pauline we had a fantastic time ! :)

Room Tip: We had the bottom front villa that faces the sea and the pool which was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becaboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Villa Xemxija. The place is great to stay in, we had a one bedroom area which was perfect for a couple. The place is very well kept, clean, and the facilities provided are fantastic. Located just 2 minutes away from the Xlendi hub, and 2 minutes away from a grocer, this is a fantastic quiet location.Other residents in the area were great as well and the common areas are perfectly kept. Highly recommended.

Service was great, Manoel was very helpful and very responsive, which made the experience great. It's great that the service offered is excellent because it complemented the experience. Awesome stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Villa Xemxija is a brilliant place to stay if you are wanting to be in the heart of Gozo. I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend and we were very impressed with everything in Villa Xemxija. Manoel was so helpful, from organising the booking and the taxi transfers right up until us leaving. Nothing was too much trouble.

The first thing I noticed when stepping into our room (number 2) was how clean the room was. I have stayed at many 5* hotels and I must say that this apartment was by far the cleanest!

We chose to get around Gozo using the bus. The service is brilliant, the bus stop is down the hill from the villa (3 minute walk). The buses were always on time which was a refreshing change to the UK and other european countries. The best thing about the buses was they were air conditioned, a really pleasant way of travelling on the island.

We loved Xlendi bay and would definitely return there and to Manoel's beautiful apartments. We enjoyed the sea in Xlendi despire there not really being a beach... at least you don't get sand in your toes. I would advise taking sea shoes, this made sunbathing on rocks and getting intot the sea much more friendly on your feet.

The restaurants on Xlendi bay are brilliant. We sampled 5 of them during our time. My favourite was Terrazzo, it wasn't listed as the most popular on here but we found it to be a brilliant find that wasn't too busy. We had a beautiful sea view where we enjoyed a sunset as we ate. Most nights we headed down to the ice cream shop for dessert, nothing could beat the quality and value of the Gelateria Granola. It is actually listed number 3 in the trip advisor charts for restaurants!

The one reason why Xlendi was so attractive was the beautiful scenery it had to offer, also how tranquil it was in the day. What first drew me to booking a holiday to Gozo was that it was not overly commercialised and this was true to my relief! The Gozotians on Xlendi were very friendly and went about their business as normal, no one hassled you to go in their restaurant everyone was just polite. After going on many holidays in Greece I found this to be a real rarity as I am used to being hassled on holiday.

I will definately be looking at booking up to go back to Gozo.

Another thank you to Manoel for making the whole holiday a success making sure we had everything we needed and providing us with inside knowledge!

P.s. definately book a boat trip, Xlendi boat trips do some fab ones. We took the 25 euro one which took us all around Gozo and to the beautiful (yet crowded with tourists) blue lagoon. We had 3 snorkel stops and it was a brilliant day out!

Room Tip: We split our stay between room 2 (this has a view of the pool and sea) and room 3 (more space in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezzakickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We just got back from an amazing week at Villa Xemxija in Xlendi. We are a small family of 3, and chose to book a one bedroom apartment (apartment X12) because of the large balcony overlooking the pool area and the sea. The apartment was spacious and clean, Manoel had arranged for a baby cot for our 2 year old son and the balcony was just as large and perfect as we had hoped for! We felt very welcome during our whole stay and loved the friendly and laid back atmosphere at Villa Xemxija. The pool area is great, not crowded at all, clean and a very good alternative to the small Xlendi Bay beach.
Xlendi is a really charming, small city with lots of cozy restaurants overlooking the bay. Even though there are a lot of tourists, it still feels quite authentic and not overrun at all. As there are no supermarkets in Xlendi we recommend renting a car (Manoel helped us with that as well, but notice that they drive in the left side..), so you can go to the nearest city for grocery shopping etc. If you prefer not renting a car it is also possible to take the bus, which stops quite close to the Villa.
We also used the car for a few trips around Gozo and especially Rabat (Victoria). However, we found that the most beautiful sights are reached by boat - The blue lagoon and the Azure window. Various tours are arranged from Xlendi bay, - easy and not too expensive.
We would definitely recommend a trip to Gozo, - and make sure to stay at Villa Xemxija!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrine Rafn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a very relaxing and restful time in Gozo. We enjoyed the
sunshine, the swimming the walking the food and wine and the festa. The
accommodation was excellent and Manoel's advice and assistance
most helpful. If and when we return to Gozo we shall certainly choose
to stay at Villa Xemxija. Manoel and Pauline were always available when needed. On arrival they arranged for the visiting grocery van to wait for us. We would also recommend this - it stopped outside the Villa, we bought all our groceries and wine there and it saved having to spend time going to a shop. Manoel arranged the transfers for us from and to the airport. The Villa is close (200m?) to the beach although coming back it is a short but quite steep hill. The pool at the Villa was very good and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolmsismey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just enjoyed another 2 weeks at Villa Xemxija. Spacious apartment with lovely views down to the sea. Had a really relaxing time . Manoel and Pauline as usual were very welcoming and very helpful if we required anything.

Be back again in September. Can't wait

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
1.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
734 reviews
3 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Xemxija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Xemxija

Address: Triq Il-Bizantini, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1421, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Xlendi
Price Range: £63 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Xemxija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Xemxija Hotel Xlendi
Villa Xemxija Island Of Gozo/Xlendi, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing