We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
126
32
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
32
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering great swimming and snorkelling great hosts one bedroom apartment air con beautiful island few minutes walk fantastic stay pauline gozo sea godsend rocks terrace
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 week stay in the penthouse apartment at Villa Xemxija, hosted by Manoel and Pauline. The two bed apartment on two floors with a rooftop sun terrace is ideal for families with ample living space is well looked after, extremely clean and has the blessing of air conditioning in the lounge area. There is wi fi internet access. The communal pool area is a great place to meet other guests to pass the time of day and discuss holiday experiences, before making the big decision of which restaurant to frequent for the evening. I cannot compliment Manoel and Pauline highly enough as hosts. They are caring and attentive with a clear priority to ensure you have an enjoyable and relaxing stay in their accommodation. Its great see how passionate they are about the island. Manoel has a wealth of knowledge of Gozitan history and life over the decades and it was a pleasure to enter into conversation with him.
Xlendi bay is an ideal location from which to explore the attractions of Gozo. It has a plethora of excellent restaurants by the bay or overlooking the bay and it's one of the biggest decisions deciding which one to visit for dinner. On this occasion some of our favourites included Ic-Cima Rooftop restaurant overlooking the bay, Zafiro's, St Patricks and IlTerrazo. Xlendi is an ideal base for those interested in diving and a little less busy than the main tourist location of Marsalforn on the north of the island. If you want a short trip out for evening meal rather than walk down the hill to the restuarants in the bay, Marsalforn is a good option. We had an excellent meal at Ta' Pennelu.
It was our fourth visit to Gozo since 2005 and we never tire of its beauty and tranquility. It was refreshing to see that it has actually changed very little over the years. Dwerja and Xwenji Bay, Azure window and the Inland Sea remain particular favourites with great dive sites. A trip to Comino, blue lagoon and Crystal lagoon is a must for first time visitors.
A great holiday, ideal accommodation, perfect location and hosts. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bemplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have recently returned from a long holiday at Villa Xemxija and once again we have had a lovely, restful time. The apartments are consistently clean and well maintained. Manoel and Pauline were always working hard and catering to everyone's needs. They are always on hand if you have a query or want some tourist information. The pool is spotless and a perfect place to relax on a hot Summer’s day.
Xlendi has some great places to eat and drink with many next to the water which offers a perfect place to sit and watch the world go by.
There is always plenty to see and do around the island and we often enjoy getting a self-hire boat from Xlendi to Comino. The Azure Window is amazing to see and should really be the 8th wonder of the world! there are also some excellent opportunities for snorkelling in the sea around the coasts.
However long we stay in Villa Xemxija it never seems quite long enough which to us is the sign of a perfect place!
Thank you to Manoel and Pauline for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandCGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was looking for a budget friendly villa with a pool within walking distance to the sea. I was booking very very last minute and was lucky enough to stumble across villa xemxija in Gozo situated just above the stunning xlendi bay. Manoel and Pauline were extremely helpful and the villa was clean and bright with everything you could need for a holiday. The pool was wonderful too! You can see the sea from the front of the villa and its a 5 minute walk to xlendi bay which has yummy restaurants and a fantastic atmosphere with people swimming off the rocks in safe designated swimming areas. It's also easy to go off exploring and find more secluded crystal clear waters in the area. The sunsets are stunning and Gozo as an island is easy to explore with or without a car due to a great bus service. Thanks manoel and Pauline we had a fantastic time ! :)

Room Tip: We had the bottom front villa that faces the sea and the pool which was perfect!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becaboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Villa Xemxija. The place is great to stay in, we had a one bedroom area which was perfect for a couple. The place is very well kept, clean, and the facilities provided are fantastic. Located just 2 minutes away from the Xlendi hub, and 2 minutes away from a grocer, this is a fantastic quiet location.Other residents in the area were great as well and the common areas are perfectly kept. Highly recommended.

Service was great, Manoel was very helpful and very responsive, which made the experience great. It's great that the service offered is excellent because it complemented the experience. Awesome stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Villa Xemxija is a brilliant place to stay if you are wanting to be in the heart of Gozo. I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend and we were very impressed with everything in Villa Xemxija. Manoel was so helpful, from organising the booking and the taxi transfers right up until us leaving. Nothing was too much trouble.

The first thing I noticed when stepping into our room (number 2) was how clean the room was. I have stayed at many 5* hotels and I must say that this apartment was by far the cleanest!

We chose to get around Gozo using the bus. The service is brilliant, the bus stop is down the hill from the villa (3 minute walk). The buses were always on time which was a refreshing change to the UK and other european countries. The best thing about the buses was they were air conditioned, a really pleasant way of travelling on the island.

We loved Xlendi bay and would definitely return there and to Manoel's beautiful apartments. We enjoyed the sea in Xlendi despire there not really being a beach... at least you don't get sand in your toes. I would advise taking sea shoes, this made sunbathing on rocks and getting intot the sea much more friendly on your feet.

The restaurants on Xlendi bay are brilliant. We sampled 5 of them during our time. My favourite was Terrazzo, it wasn't listed as the most popular on here but we found it to be a brilliant find that wasn't too busy. We had a beautiful sea view where we enjoyed a sunset as we ate. Most nights we headed down to the ice cream shop for dessert, nothing could beat the quality and value of the Gelateria Granola. It is actually listed number 3 in the trip advisor charts for restaurants!

The one reason why Xlendi was so attractive was the beautiful scenery it had to offer, also how tranquil it was in the day. What first drew me to booking a holiday to Gozo was that it was not overly commercialised and this was true to my relief! The Gozotians on Xlendi were very friendly and went about their business as normal, no one hassled you to go in their restaurant everyone was just polite. After going on many holidays in Greece I found this to be a real rarity as I am used to being hassled on holiday.

I will definately be looking at booking up to go back to Gozo.

Another thank you to Manoel for making the whole holiday a success making sure we had everything we needed and providing us with inside knowledge!

P.s. definately book a boat trip, Xlendi boat trips do some fab ones. We took the 25 euro one which took us all around Gozo and to the beautiful (yet crowded with tourists) blue lagoon. We had 3 snorkel stops and it was a brilliant day out!

Room Tip: We split our stay between room 2 (this has a view of the pool and sea) and room 3 (more space in the apartment - but no sea view). Air conditioning you pay extra for - 10 euros will probably be fine for most.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezzakickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews