We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended relaxing seaside villa”
Review of Villa Xemxija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Xemxija
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We spent 4 nights in a 1 bed apartment in the Villa in October and it exceeded our expectations. We loved sitting on the terrace looking out to the sea each morning and evening. We loved the cliffside walk to Ta Cenc. We loved the short walk to Xlendi harbour for dinner, especially at Ta Karolina. We loved the shower pressure. Its a basic apartment but spotlessly clean and with everything you need. Value for money is exceptional. Manoel is a great host and made everything easy. We had a car and also enjoyed travelling around Gozo (Azure bridge, Citadella, salt pans, Ramala beach etc). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVeitch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from our third visit to villa xemxija and are already planning a fourth visit. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and situated a short walk from xlendi bay which has a good choice of restaurants and is a perfect base for swimming, diving or just relaxing. An excellent bus service now covers the island and stops close by the villa on at least an hourly basis which means that you don't need to bother hiring a car. A weekly ticket is around £10 and offers unlimited travel. Manuel and Pauline are prefect hosts who are attentive but respectful of your space. Nothing is too much trouble for them and Manuel was happy to arrange airport transfers and a food pack for our arrival. They even very kindly hosted a wonderful trip to Malta's capital city Valetta for us to experience the Notte Bianca celebrations.
If you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings look no further than Villa Xemxija.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevDaveW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Once again we have had a fantastic holiday and our favourite hosts with the most(s) have excelled themselves.
Manoel and Pauline know exactly what their customers require and give that...and then some!!!
The apartment was spotless, anything we needed was given....with a smile. This villa is unique and there is nothing else like it in Gozo or Malta. Manoel and Pauline do a fantastic job and it must be so much hard work, but they are always there for their guests.

Xlendi has everything you need. The locals are so friendly and remember you when you return. (and you WILL return). Our favourite restaurants are Moby Dicks and Valley View. Amazing customer service and great value for money. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: I would love to recommend the apartment we stayed in, but we want it for next year. ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 week stay in the penthouse apartment at Villa Xemxija, hosted by Manoel and Pauline. The two bed apartment on two floors with a rooftop sun terrace is ideal for families with ample living space is well looked after, extremely clean and has the blessing of air conditioning in the lounge area. There is wi fi internet access. The communal pool area is a great place to meet other guests to pass the time of day and discuss holiday experiences, before making the big decision of which restaurant to frequent for the evening. I cannot compliment Manoel and Pauline highly enough as hosts. They are caring and attentive with a clear priority to ensure you have an enjoyable and relaxing stay in their accommodation. Its great see how passionate they are about the island. Manoel has a wealth of knowledge of Gozitan history and life over the decades and it was a pleasure to enter into conversation with him.
Xlendi bay is an ideal location from which to explore the attractions of Gozo. It has a plethora of excellent restaurants by the bay or overlooking the bay and it's one of the biggest decisions deciding which one to visit for dinner. On this occasion some of our favourites included Ic-Cima Rooftop restaurant overlooking the bay, Zafiro's, St Patricks and IlTerrazo. Xlendi is an ideal base for those interested in diving and a little less busy than the main tourist location of Marsalforn on the north of the island. If you want a short trip out for evening meal rather than walk down the hill to the restuarants in the bay, Marsalforn is a good option. We had an excellent meal at Ta' Pennelu.
It was our fourth visit to Gozo since 2005 and we never tire of its beauty and tranquility. It was refreshing to see that it has actually changed very little over the years. Dwerja and Xwenji Bay, Azure window and the Inland Sea remain particular favourites with great dive sites. A trip to Comino, blue lagoon and Crystal lagoon is a must for first time visitors.
A great holiday, ideal accommodation, perfect location and hosts. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bemplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have recently returned from a long holiday at Villa Xemxija and once again we have had a lovely, restful time. The apartments are consistently clean and well maintained. Manoel and Pauline were always working hard and catering to everyone's needs. They are always on hand if you have a query or want some tourist information. The pool is spotless and a perfect place to relax on a hot Summer’s day.
Xlendi has some great places to eat and drink with many next to the water which offers a perfect place to sit and watch the world go by.
There is always plenty to see and do around the island and we often enjoy getting a self-hire boat from Xlendi to Comino. The Azure Window is amazing to see and should really be the 8th wonder of the world! there are also some excellent opportunities for snorkelling in the sea around the coasts.
However long we stay in Villa Xemxija it never seems quite long enough which to us is the sign of a perfect place!
Thank you to Manoel and Pauline for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandCGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was looking for a budget friendly villa with a pool within walking distance to the sea. I was booking very very last minute and was lucky enough to stumble across villa xemxija in Gozo situated just above the stunning xlendi bay. Manoel and Pauline were extremely helpful and the villa was clean and bright with everything you could need for a holiday. The pool was wonderful too! You can see the sea from the front of the villa and its a 5 minute walk to xlendi bay which has yummy restaurants and a fantastic atmosphere with people swimming off the rocks in safe designated swimming areas. It's also easy to go off exploring and find more secluded crystal clear waters in the area. The sunsets are stunning and Gozo as an island is easy to explore with or without a car due to a great bus service. Thanks manoel and Pauline we had a fantastic time ! :)

Room Tip: We had the bottom front villa that faces the sea and the pool which was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becaboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Villa Xemxija. The place is great to stay in, we had a one bedroom area which was perfect for a couple. The place is very well kept, clean, and the facilities provided are fantastic. Located just 2 minutes away from the Xlendi hub, and 2 minutes away from a grocer, this is a fantastic quiet location.Other residents in the area were great as well and the common areas are perfectly kept. Highly recommended.

Service was great, Manoel was very helpful and very responsive, which made the experience great. It's great that the service offered is excellent because it complemented the experience. Awesome stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
0.1 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
731 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Xemxija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Xemxija

Address: Triq Il-Bizantini, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1421, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Xlendi
Price Range: £58 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Xemxija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Xemxija Hotel Xlendi
Villa Xemxija Island Of Gozo/Xlendi, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing