We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very professional and friendly”

Utina Diving College Limited
Ranked #4 of 8 things to do in Xlendi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Utina is dedicated to making your diving holiday one to remember with fondness and excitement. Safety and professionalism are our watchwords and we offer everything from a Try Dive through to Instructor training and beyond.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very professional and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have booked my dives with Utina in May 2014 on short notice and was delighted with Neil's and Sally's professional help. Although the weather was not favourable with wind force between 4 and 6, a wonderful dive was planned in a calm dive site in Dwejra. Their attention to detail in setting up the equipment and individual attention made this a very safe, memorable experience, and would definitely recommend to a friend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon9991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    3
    0
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best experience ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Me and my wife did couple of dives in April/May with this centre.
I have difficulties to describe my feelings after it. To use a word "FANTASTIC" is not enough!
We did get Irenka as instructor and she was excellent too - you could see it was not a job it was a pleasure for her.
Irenka knows history, tradition, and Gozo itself very well, so we did get a tour guide too on the way to diving spots.
In regards to dives she was very professional too - all diving spots were clearly explained, all diving procedures kept and everything was done with smile and passion. You cannot get more!!
We did see another groups of 15 - 20 people guided by another centres and I was not impressed with them. Utina maximum group size is 4, so if you want a personal and save diving we are recommending Utina from bottom of our hearts.
Thank you Utina Team! All of you made our holidays unforgotten. We will be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank IB69K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strangnas, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic owner and great instructor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife are fairly new to scuba diving. The sweet owner Sally took such good care of us and our instructor Irenca was very skilled but still a sweet heart. Fantastic diving too!

Helpful?
1 Thank Stifmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great diving, great people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I went to Gozo in September for a weeks diving and enjoyed it so much we went back for another week in November! My husband choose Utina based on the reviews on this site and the time spent on that was well rewarded. We emailed Utina (check out their website) to give them an idea of what we hoped to do during our week and asked a few questions about the diving and Xlendi. Sally's reply was friendly, informative and made us feel that we would be made very welcome at Utina. When we arrived it was great to find that the positive reviews were in fact, completely justified. Sally, Neil, Irenka and Harold make a great team and before we new it we were through the admin, kitted out and off for a dive. We did most of our dives with Neil who has pretty much perfected the art of low stress diving. If anyone reading this is a bit nervous, apprehensive or worried about any aspect of diving then you will have found the perfect instructor to put you at your ease. Fun, safe diving is what most of us want and that's what you will get.

We decided to do the 'Advanced Open Water Diver Course' and really enjoyed the variety of dives this involves. By the end of the week and having completed the course (thanks Neil) we both felt we were enjoying diving so much more with the confidence that rising to that particular challenge gave us.

Xlendi is just lovely. A good selection of excellent places to eat in idyllic surroundings. The sort of place you want to return to.... So we did! Back again in November to enjoy the interesting weather at that time of year and the delights of Xlendi. We did the 'Deep Dive Course' this time and Irenka somehow managed to teach me how to follow a compass bearing while staying at the same depth. Harder than it sounds! Another great week with Utina.

In summary, I'm sure you will have a great time with most of the dive centres on Gozo, BUT, I believe Xlendi is the nicest place to be based and when you are with Utina out and about at dive sites with other centres doing their thing you will reflect quietly to yourself. 'UTINA......good decision.'

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sladers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dont look any further for Diving, Utina is the only place to go!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Utina diving college is the only place to go for all your diving needs, why? because of the people. Zoe, quietly taking care of us and taking photos in the background then Sally and Neil are rare....they are wonderful, supportive, extremely professional with oodles of knowledge and beyond anything else they are great people who want you to succeed in your diving quests. Then there is Ivenka...what to say about Ivenka?....our own 'little mermaid' - what she doesn't know about diving and the ocean isn't worth knowing and if you want an Instructor with patience for your every question and able to turn you 'right-side-up' when you flail about the ocean during your first dive - she's your girl...and all that in a 5ft zero power-pocket! If you are a complete beginner (and we were!) and a bit out of your comfort zone, or if you are indeed Jacques Cousteau then this is the place to be.....period. If you have clicked off this recommendation and gone somewhere else, I feel bad for you.....we didn't and we had the actual time of our lives!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Utina Diving College Limited also viewed

 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Utina Diving College Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing