We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet time at Xlendi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Patrick's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Xlendi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet time at Xlendi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We were there for 4 nights in early December, and got some cool and very windy weather. As a result Xlendi was almost deserted with most of the restaurants opening only for the weekend trade. However, St Patricks still offered a full service including sun-loungers on the roof-top terrace, though the small pool was empty. It was too cold for swimming anyway. Xlendi is a very picturesque quiet place and probably the nicest place to stay in Gozo. There is an easy walk to the nearby fort where you can see unusual rock formations, great views and salt pans cut into the limestone.
If you are in an inside room, with a window onto the internal atrium you cannot see what the weather is like until you go outside. If you leave the window open, there is echo and noise from the atrium which also has the stairs. All surfaces are tiled and from the room you can hear people walking along the corridor.
We could not get the aircon to get the temp in the room below 24c even though it was only 17 outside.
Room and bathroom were clean through the bath had some rust and the shower leaked when bath was filling (minor points).
Breakfast buffet was ok and we could order hot food if required at no extra cost, which was better than picking through a hot buffet.
Bar is very small and seating in reception, atrium and tv areas is limited. If weather was better we could have sat outside as the hotel is right on the seafront.

Overall, a good hotel experience.
The reception, bar and dining room staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    277
    122
    63
    38
See reviews for
116
382
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tas-Sliema, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Great location but the quality of the room was below average (Old, Outdated, Holes in the curtains). The shower as the swimming pool on the roof of the hotel are just ridiculous.Staff was nice and breakfast decent. I can only suggest to find a better hotel in Malta and travel for the day to this beautiful bay.

Room Tip: Only rooms with sea view may be worth a booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Xlendi hotels

Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Lets begin; the hotel location is great, right on the promenade and very close to the sea. Xlendi is charming and great for a chill out.

We secured a double room at just over €31.00 per night for two persons and we were aware pre-arrival that thus would be located on the shaft. For two nights this was acceptable but in any other circumstance I would be truly disappointed, especially if I had travelled from overseas after a long journey. Clearly rooms are sold cheaply off season and you should note that reception will not accommodate any form of amendment without extra cost.

The room itself smelt of very stale air (415), our bathroom window was broken, could not be opened onto its shaft and there was a very definite smell of condensation mould continually over our stay. The AC was weak and ineffective. Our mattress was very poor although relatives in a nearby room had a far better quality one. I guess we were just unlucky. Another dynamic of the hotel lay out is the shaft rooms face each other and you can see others very clearly necessitating the need to keep the plastic black-out curtains closed. This of course adds to the stuffiness and dreariness of the accommodation.

The hotel without doubt needs significant investment as it is obvious that without so, it's downhill all the way. Rooms exhibit tired bedroom furniture, tatty past their best bathrooms, filthy grout and mouldy shower curtains.

As mentioned the location is hard to beat and paying the extra for a sea or valley view should be any guests consideration if staying for more than a day or two.

Breakfast was reasonable 2-star fare but the hotel was full of flies on the second day, being very visible on the food. Waiting staff seemed immune to the volume of customers swiping the air!

After saying all of this I would return if the price was right despite the issues mentioned above. I live locally on Malta, had lived nearby to this hotel a few years ago, so I was fully aware of its limitations. For me it was the very low price that compensated for what is really a 2-3 star establishment and travelling with family we simply sought a cheap break.
There are other nearby options that would easily match what St. Patricks offers. Search around....

Room Tip: Go for sea or valley view.........no one likes the shaft rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XaghraDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

The Hotel has stunning views out across the bay to open sea .The staff were helpful and informative . Decor could do with an upgrade as rather dated , new seating inside and out . Food , could have more choice ie vegetarian option daily menu, more variety desserts and at breakfast , otherwise ok.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

of course not 4 star!!!! yet convenient place. A warm welcome but the room had a terrible shower an old high bath tab was quite dingy but clean.Nothing to complain about the breakfast . The lift needs to be changed badly it is too small and therefore we seem to be always waiting for it when we need to use it! The room we were given was dark and only fit to sleep in so if this is what you want it is good . Checking in time is 3pm very late for someone wanting to settle in after travelling. Although they do keep your luggage . The reception leaves much to be desired since we have been to many hotels especially in Italy and were welcomed with a cold glass of water or a hot drink according to the season. Though not rude but still customers who have a lot of choice in this day and age they expect more!! and if running a business, should be given a better treatment and be less rough especially when checking out . Granted they apologise but a customer should not be kept waiting when the receptionist attends to her private business , that is plain courtesy which is lacking in this hotel except by one called Grace who was polite but attending to a hundred and one things while speaking to a customer. Nevertheless, if we need to go to Gozo we never look for another place but it is a pity that they do not improve on these little bothersome things annoying to say the least but there is no rose without a thorn but the thorn hurts it shouldn',t be in the hotel business it puts off tourists Gozo depends on them !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clepisani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

St Patrick's is comfortable and ideally located in Xlendi which allows for easy travelling and also spending an evening there walking or just enjoying the sea views. The room was quite comfortable albeit a bit small and the bathroom facilities were adequate, although the shower was a little tricky to use. The biggest disappointments were the breakfast which did not consist of any hot food whatsoever, something I've never heard of in a 4 star hotel honestly, and the pool which is essentially a tiny public bath tube really.

The staff were very nice though and were always friendly and ready to help. Also, lovely views from the roof. However, the hotel is more like a 3 star hotel than a 4 star.

Room Tip: Although the seaview rooms are more expensive I think it's worth having that lovely view to wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Level Contributor
167 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel is very welcoming and great for a weekend in Gozo. We especially liked the small pool on the roof top with fantastic views of Xlendi Bay. The room was clean and very nice for the price we paid! Having breakfast outside a few steps from the beach, is just a wonderful experience.

The Breakfast may be definitely improved. On a Sunday, the bread was dry and the buffet did not seem so fresh, otherwise, I will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: It is always best to get a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_M28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Property: Saint Patrick's Hotel
Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xlendi, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing