We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Best location of the hotels in Xlendi - but to get a sea view be shure to book one - cost extra - but the rooms in the back are fine too. Nice resturant in the front of the hotel and friendly staff. They have a roof top pool but its nothing special when you have perfect clear blue oacen in front.

I would definetly take the Saint Patricks Hotel again. Its also good for day trips to other parts of Gozo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrLifeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Booked a long weekend at this hotel on recomendation of friends and was not disappointed, nice clean rooms and facilities and clear sea view. Friendly staff always willing to help with anything you may need, would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for ten days. Despite booking a few months in advance and requesting a sea view room, we were very disappointed on arrival to be only offered an internal room on the 3rd floor. Not recommended! Althouth the room in it self was totally adequate and clean, it was very dark due to only a small window facing out into the hotel. We have stayed in many hotels over the years but never stayed in a room without an outside view!! however despite this, the room was kept extremely clean, all the staff were polite and helpful or though not overly friendly. Breakfast was average, but food at dinner very good with a good choice of menu. Would I stay here again? Yes I would if I could guarantee getting a sea view room. Maybe it is better to book directly through the hotel to guarantee a good room?

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed last week for three days and were delighted with the Hotel. The apartment was very spacious and the whole place was very clean, when we had a problem working out the air conditioning a member of staff was in our room within ten mins of calling. The receptionist was very friendly and showed us to our apartment and expained the lifts as it is a large hotel.

Breakfast on the rooftop was lovely with lots of choice cooked and cold meats etc and a choice of breads.

The location is wonderful with lots of eating places along the water front and shops.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurleyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Let me be clear, we enjoyed our stay at St Patricks, but feel for the following reasons it does not merit a 4 star rating. The hotel is ideally situated on the sea front in Xlendi. Quirky and unusual layout it has a very warm cosy feel to it.
Our room 106, possibly (I would like to hope) the worst room in the hotel. An inner courtroom bedroom with very limited internal light which can be very disorientating. One small window you are encouraged to keep closed to keep the room cool so the air con works efficiently. There is the problem the air con does not work so the room is stuffy and just too hot, especially after showering. We complained about the air con and were told the maintenance man was on site trying to fix it. He never did! Reviews on this site have mentioned the air con since the day dot, the system is old and not up to spec even if it did work. Our phone in the room was not connected, two pin socket from cable, three pin sockets on wall. The adaptors we take are obviously the other way around! The usual cracked tiles, dingy shower curtain, stained ceilings etc that complete the picture. This is a shame as with a refurb despite the limits on light these could be acceptable rooms. Next to laundry room so the smell was never too great as towels are piled up and rescued plates from room service are piled outside just feet from our room.
Room directly above foyer and kitchen, so from seven am woken by the banging and crashing in the kitchen. Breakfast a greasy, confused affair huddled up in the corner with outdated serving cabinets a hilarious toaster which provides great daily entertainment as bread traps inside and either depending on the rescue efforts and skill of the waiters on the strategically placed wooden spoon come out burnt or completely ablaze. Laid our own table on some mornings, walls grubby and marked.
A dozen or so sun beds on the roof and yes the view is great (but it is not to die for as some say).Take advantage of a lie down there if you can put up with the incessant noise from the roof mounted plant room.
Now the good points, room was cleaned very well every day with all towels renewed daily. The one time we had the a la carte menu in the evening the food and service were supurb.Staff helpful in that blunt, endearing officious Maltese/gozetan way.
Xlendi is a nice resort with plenty of half decent restaurants all pretty much of a muchness along the front, we tried them all and never had a bad meal.Ic Cima, up the hill is the stand out restaurant for us, first time there and wow what a fantastic meal. (See review) The resort itself I cannot help feeling has had its heyday. Money has been spent hard landscaping, but litter and general shabbiness spoil the area.(this I feel is typical of Malta and Gozo in general).Swimming of the rocks is good although again not the great crystal clear experience some talk of. General litter, detritus and flotsam spoil the area around the steps to enter the water in the shallows. One great thing the country walks out of xlendi! To the left, sea facing you can walk for miles and miles and the scenery really is beautiful and peaceful. Buses around the island are a doddle.
In conclusion, probably would not stay in Xlendi again, Marsalform is a lot nicer. Last in Xlendi 15 or so years ago and remember it as being a bit more upmarket than it appears now. Holiday in Malta most years as I have Maltese parentage.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting Gozo for two nights. The room was very well-kept and smelt fresh and clean. The bed was comfortable, the air conditioning was very effective and, despite being an internal room overlooking the atrium, it was very quiet for a good night's sleep. The bathroom was clean and modern with toiletries.

The hotel provides towels for the beach (for a fully refundable 10 Euro deposit) and you can simply swap it for a fresh one. The breakfast is a selection of hot and cold foods, and you can either sit in the restaurant area or outside overlooking Xlendi Bay. Two internet terminals are also available by the stairs. The bus station is right outside the hotel, with services all over the island. Getting from Mgarr to Xlendi requires a bus change at Victoria, but it is all very easy with timetables clearly displayed. I preferred Gozo to the Maltese mainland - it was cleaner and less built-up!

Room Tip: Internal rooms overlooking the atrium have no balcony, but provide peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Staying for one night is ok , but considering for a longer stay will defintely choose something else.Room had no balcony and was in internal courtyard on the 3rd floor . Pool area needs special attentions as very shabby and very small.Breakfast was poor and staff very difficult to see them smile or greet you.

Room and bathroom were very clean.

Think well before you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliftonMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
725 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
748 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
835 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range: £41 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xlendi, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing