We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont use the water out of the fridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont use the water out of the fridge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was my third stay in the St patrick, and the first time that i upgraded to a sea view room......the view was fab and was 290 euro extra for the week, expensive yes but my choice and it was the best view of Xlendi.
the Hotel and this room was ok, the hotel is getting abit dated and tired now.......1970's decor. the balcony was small with a couple of old chairs on it.
In the fridge was small bottles of water we didnt see the small paper sign till a few days in that if you use the bottles there would be a charge.........I though this was mean spirited to charge for a bit of water especially after you have paid for the room and the expensive upgrade.

The Breakfast was ok, and the staff where very good all very busy but pleasant you could not fault the customer service at reception or around the eating and bar area..........overall ok........Dont use the water out of the fridge !

Room Tip: if you are going to get a sea view room make sure it is on level 5 the balconys are much bigger with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dccccccccccccccccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    282
    122
    63
    38
See reviews for
116
388
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just returned from xlendi after staying at the St Patricks hotel, we have never stayed in such an awful hotel. We were there for one week, not one member of staff said good morning/evening etc, we were unfortunate enough to have an inside room, there was no natural light it was like being in a cell. We had issues with the bathroom plumbing that took 3 days to get fixed. We went on a bed and breakfast basis, the food was consistently cold, there was never any cutlery, the tables didnt get cleared, we we given a wooden spoon to get the toast through the rotary toaster as it didn't work, we had no hot water on one whole day, " because it looked like someone turned something off". There is a beautiful roof terrace on the top of the hotel, but the sun loungers were disgustingly dirty as were the couple of tables that were there, the splash pool didn't appear to get covered at night as it was full of dead bugs, the jacuzzi didn't work. On one day it rained, and being on the fourth floor we walked down the stairs... Health and safety... There was a towel laid across the floor on the stairwell because the roof was leaking. We could say lots more, but suffice to say we will never stay there again and this was our third visit to xlendi in the last year.

Room Tip: Never accept an inner room, looks ok on photos, but horrible and claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Winifred47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Xlendi hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I often use the restaurant of the hotel and talk to residents who always have high praise tothe establishment. I used the roof bar in occations and saw much of the rooms of the hotel. The staff and the waiters are all professional and well prepared.

Room Tip: If you can spend the extra Euro a room facing the sea would be excellent. Those facing inside are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

after reading and hearing about how good this hotel was supposed to be i was looking forward to my weekend visit. Booked seaview room with balcony at £125 a night b&b so not cheap. Room very spartan, and plaster coming off the walls!! No facilities to make own tea and coffee. At lunch we ordered 2 meals and 2 bottles wine, 1 meal failed to turn up at all. After luch went to roof top pool, very small and jacuzzi didnt work. Views to die for though. In the morning we left to go to victoria upon our return we found maid had cleaned room and thrown away 3 bottles water and half bottle champagne from fridge!!! Manager did apologise and replace champagne, but not the point. What should have been a wonderful weekend away at a beautiful location was spoilt by lots of silly mistakes by hotel.

Room Tip: book a room and ask to see it before you sign in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaineliddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for four nights at St Patrick's from 5 to 9 September 2013 on a bed and breakfast basis before moving to Sliema for the rest of our Maltese holiday.

The location of the hotel could not be better. It is at the head of Xlendi Bay which is a sheltered inlet with good swimming in clear water from a little beach right in front of the hotel and from rocks on one side of the bay. The reception staff were helpful and welcoming.

The view from the hotel's roof was stunning. We did not make use of the little pool on the roof as we prefer the sea. The hotel provides beach towels which we thought was an unexpected bonus. Breakfast was on the terrace in front of the hotel next to the sea or inside the dining room for those who preferred or in case of bad weather. Breakfast itself was a generous buffet with a wide range of different styles of food from which to choose. Only the fruit juice which was not fresh and dispensed from a machine was disappointing, but we suspect that this is typical of Maltese hotels. We did not have any main meals in the hotel restaurant but on our arrival in the middle of the afternoon had some excellent panini, one with the fine local sausage and one with tuna. On the other side of the hotel is the village square which is essentially a car park with the bus stop for buses to Victoria (Gozo's capital).

There is some other holiday accommodation in Xlendi, several good restaurants, a few small shops, a diving centre and an excellent gelateria but not much more so it is ideal for visitors who, like us, were looking for a relaxing holiday. It is easy to get to other parts of the island as
Gozo's bus service (like that of Malta) is excellent, making car hire unnecessary. The "hop on hop off" bus tour of the island also stops behind the hotel. We found this a good way to see much of Gozo on our first full day there.

It is hard to identify precisely what made us fall in love with this little hotel. It was not perfect by any means. We made the mistake of booking a room overlooking the internal courtyard. This was a little stuffy and dark as there was only a small window to the courtyard. It was, however, a reasonable size, clean and had sufficient storage space. The bed was a little harder than we might have liked. In the bathroom the shower curtain did not quite prevent some of the water from the shower getting onto the floor. Wi Fi was free but available only in the reception area.
None of this mattered, however, as somehow the overall experience made us forget any little imperfections. Anyone expecting the slick features of a modern chain hotel might be disappointed but we would wholeheartedly recomment St Patrick's to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in a characterful hotel. We hope to go back and for a future visit we will choose a room with and external balcony, whether overlooking the sea or the car park

Room Tip: Book a room with an external balcony and not an internal courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpcheshire1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Best location of the hotels in Xlendi - but to get a sea view be shure to book one - cost extra - but the rooms in the back are fine too. Nice resturant in the front of the hotel and friendly staff. They have a roof top pool but its nothing special when you have perfect clear blue oacen in front.

I would definetly take the Saint Patricks Hotel again. Its also good for day trips to other parts of Gozo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrLifeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Booked a long weekend at this hotel on recomendation of friends and was not disappointed, nice clean rooms and facilities and clear sea view. Friendly staff always willing to help with anything you may need, would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Property: Saint Patrick's Hotel
Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xlendi, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing